The Ingrid Mueller Art and Concepts Gallery

  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts        © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts

The Ingrid Mueller Art and Concepts Gallery

In their red and white bungalow at the end of Lynhaven Street in one of Fredericton’s prettiest neighbourhoods, gallery owners Ingrid and Peter Mueller display their artwork collection from New Brunswick’s and the Atlantic provinces’ best artists. The couple’s spacious house functions as a gallery, which opens by appointment. Outside of vernissages, art lovers can enjoy and purchase art undisturbed.

Upon arrival at the modern house, which was built in the mid-60s, visitors are greeted by Ingrid Mueller. Then, they can choose to take a guided tour of the exhibition through the house with its interesting architectural design, or they can wander alone through the bright rooms full of paintings, drawings, sculptures, ceramics, and photographs. Depending on the exhibition, the gallery displays works by both established artists and new, young, talented ones. The pieces range from representational to abstract, from portraiture to landscape, and from the subject of color to artisan craftwork. The couple is guided by international standards and they prize having top artists from eastern Canada in their collection.
 
Together with her husband, Ingrid Mueller has been enriching Fredericton’s art scene for around 20 years. Before deciding to open up her collection to the public in her own home, Mrs. Mueller set up her gallery in various places around Fredericton, as well as exhibiting artworks in public locations like restaurants and the Fredericton Convention Centre. She also curated several bigger exhibitions, such as the Marion McCain exhibition for the Beaverbrook Gallery. Furthermore, Ingrid Mueller was a special guest at three large exhibitions in Germany involving Atlantic Art: “Transit-Atlantic Crossings” at the Galerie Schloss Mochental in Ehingen; an exhibition at Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau in Dresden; and a display in the 2006 Karlsruhe International Art Fair.
           
Together with “The Entrepreneur Academy”, Ingrid Mueller leads workshops for artists, offers artist consultations, and advises those interested in an artistic career. She considers alternative exhibition spaces, cooperation between artists, and exchange and critique to be important requirements for artistic inspiration. It is therefore no accident that the city of Fredericton chose the art expert as a board member for “Ignite Fredericton”, the city’s initiative for modernizing public and private structures. Ingrid Mueller (or the “Peggy Guggenheim of New Brunswick”, as some call her) and her husband Peter contribute even more to the area than their patronage of eastern Canadian art and professional development opportunities for the new artistic generation. For example, Peter has conceived of a construction project to create eco-friendly housing for the elderly along the idyllic Saint John River.
 
In 1997, when the couple were looking for a suitable home for themselves and their artworks, they decided on Fredericton. Not only had New Brunswick’s then premier, Frank McKenna, extended an invitation to the province through the media to investors and companies, but Fredericton also promised a fruitful creative and intellectual environment. It is the home of a number of artistic organizations, such as the Beaverbrook Gallery, along with the postsecondary institutions St. Thomas University, the University of New Brunswick, and the New Brunswick College of Craft and Design. Peter comes from the Lübeck area in Germany, while Ingrid’s parents originally came from Karlsruhe and Koblenz, and then immigrated to Canada in the 50s. The couple met in a gallery in Freiburg in southern Germany. Ingrid, who had been born in Oakville, Ontario, managed a private English school for business people there. She had a degree in German Studies, but also loved art. Peter was successfully employed as an architect, and was visiting the gallery because of his passion for art collecting. The two are still connected to this day by their shared interest in modern art, good taste, creativity, and joy in innovative thought.

„Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts“
Deutsche Spuren in New Brunswick

  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts        © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
  • Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts © Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts
    Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts

Die Galerie „Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts“

In ihrem weißen Ranch Bungalow auf einer kleinen Erhebung am Ende der „Lynnhaven Street“, in einer der schönsten Wohngegenden Frederictons, zeigen die Galeristen Ingrid und Peter Mueller aus ihrer Sammlung Bilder der besten Künstler New Brunswicks und der Atlantikprovinzen. Das großzügige Wohnhaus des Ehepaars fungiert als Galerie mit Voranmeldung, in der man außerhalb der Vernissagen ungestört Kunst genießen und auch kaufen kann.

Erreicht man das moderne Haus, das Mitte der Sechzigerjahre erbaut wurde, kann man nach der Begrüßung von Ingrid Mueller nach Wunsch eine Tour durch die Ausstellung in dem architektonisch interessanten Haus bekommen oder auch ungestört die Gemälde, Graphiken, Skulpturen, Keramik und Photographien in den hellen Räumen betrachten. Je nach Ausstellung kann man Werke von bereits etablierten wie auch jungen talentierten Künstlern sehen, die erst am Anfang stehen. Die Spannbreite reicht von gegenständlicher zu abstrakter Kunst, vom Portrait bis zum Landschaftsbild und vom Sujet Farbe zu kunsthandwerklichen Objekten. Das Ehepaar orientiert sich an internationalen Maßstäben und legt Wert darauf, die Topkünstler der Ostküste Kanadas in ihrer Sammlung zu haben.
 
Seit ca. 20 Jahren bereichert Ingrid Mueller gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann die Kunstszene Frederictons. Bevor sie sich entschloss, die Sammlung im eigenen Heim zugänglich zu machen, hat Frau Mueller ihre Galerie an verschiedenen Standorten in Fredericton geführt, sowie Kunstwerke auch an öffentlichen Orten, wie Restaurants und Wandflächen des Konferenzzentrums in Fredericton, ausgestellt. Zudem hat sie verschiedene große Ausstellungen, wie die Marion McCain-Ausstellung für die Beaverbrook Galerie, organisiert. Als Ehrengast war Ingrid Mueller auf vielen großen Ausstellungen mit atlantischer Kunst in Deutschland vertreten: 2006 TRANSIT-ATLANTIC CROSSINGS, Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau, Dresden; Kunstmesse Karlsruhe (art Karlruhe 2006 ) 2006 TRANSIT-ATLANTIC CROSSINGS, Galerie Schloss Mochental, Ehingen.
           
Ingrid Mueller bietet mit „The Enterpreneur Academy“ eine Künstler-Beratung an, führt Workshops für Künstler durch und berät diese auch, was deren künstlerische Laufbahn betrifft. Sie hält die Zusammenarbeit von Künstlern, alternative Ausstellungsräume sowie Austausch und Kritik für wichtige Voraussetzungen künstlerischer Inspiration. Deshalb ist es kein Zufall, dass „Ignite-Fredericton“, eine Initiative der Stadt Fredericton zur Modernisierung öffentlicher und privater Strukturen, die Kunstexpertin als Vorstandsmitglied gewinnen wollte. Über die Förderung der bildenden Kunst Ostkanadas und die Fortbildungsangebote für den künstlerischen Nachwuchs hinaus, haben Ingrid Mueller, oder die „Peggy Guggenheim“ New Brunswicks, wie manche sie nennen, sowie ihr Mann Peter noch weitere Ideen auf Lager. So konzeptioniert Peter zum Beispiel ein Bauprojekt, das Wohnraum für ältere Menschen in ökofreundlichen Häusern am idyllischen St. John Fluss schaffen soll.
 
Als das Ehepaar 1997 nach einem geeigneten Lebensort für ihre Familie und ihr Kunstwirken suchte, fiel die Wahl auf Fredericton, nicht nur, weil der damalige Premierminister New Brunswicks, Frank McKenna, in den Medien Investoren und Unternehmer in die Provinz eingeladen hatte, sondern auch, weil die Beaverbrook Galerie sowie die Hochschulen „University of New Brunswick“, „St. Thomas University“ und das „New Brunswick College of Craft und Design“ eine fruchtbare künstlerische und intellektuelle Umgebung versprachen. Während Ingrids Eltern ursprünglich aus Karlsruhe und Koblenz kamen und in den Fünfzigerjahren nach Kanada ausgewandert waren, stammt Peter aus der Lübecker Gegend. Kennengelernt hat sich das Ehepaar in einer Galerie in Freiburg, wo die in Oakville (Ontario) geborene ausgebildete Germanistin und Kunstliebhaberin Ingrid, eine Privatschule für Englischunterricht für Geschäftsleute betrieb. Peter war als Architekt erfolgreich tätig und ging ebenfalls bereits seiner Leidenschaft als Kunstsammler nach. Beide verbindet das Engagement für moderne Kunst, Geschmackssicherheit und Kreativität sowie Freude an innovativem Denken.