Beechwood Cemetery

  • Beechwood Cemetery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Beechwood Cemetery
  • Beechwood Cemetery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Beechwood Cemetery
  • Gerhard Herzberg in Beechwood Cemetery © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Gerhard Herzberg in Beechwood Cemetery

Beechwood Cemetery

The cemetery lying atop the hills is still and silent. It was founded in 1873 and has been the National Cemetery for the Canadian Forces since 1944. In 2000, it was designated as a National Historic Site of Canada. The picturesque 64.7-hectare site is mostly surrounded by woodlands. In Section 26, between the woods and the military cemetery, you can find several gravestones with German names.

The grave of family Noffke The grave of family Noffke | © Goethe-Institut Montreal When Ottawa was made the seat of the new Canadian government in 1863, it needed a network of streets befitting its new status. At the time, stone and gravel for the road surface needed to be broken down to the desired size by hand. Sizing the stones was not only exhausting work, but was also looked down upon, and many people refused to perform this lowly job. It was therefore necessary to employ immigrants, who were willing to work as stonebreakers. Many believed that immigrants from West Prussia, Pomerania, Posen, Silesia, Mecklenburg, and the eastern part of Brandenburg were particularly well suited to this job, as they were used to hard work. In addition, they earned significantly less in their home country than workers in other countries, such as England. Representatives of the Canadian government were therefore sent to the eastern regions of Germany to advertise jobs in Canada. The poem “Stone Breaking” by Duncan Campbell describes these first German immigrants at work, which was paid by the “toise” (a unit of measurement from pre-revolutionary France, equivalent to about 2 metres).
 
The number of these German families is estimated to be around 100, but there hasn’t been a systematic collection of data. In order to build their own place of worship, the German community purchased a plot of land on Wilbrod Street at the beginning of the 1870s. They built the St. Paul Lutheran Church there with the help of the city.
 
During the economic crisis of the 1870s, the stonebreakers found it difficult to earn a living. Ottawa recovered very slowly from the economic crisis, which saw half of the parishioners of St. Paul’s leave Ottawa to earn their living elsewhere. However, there was a large wave of immigration in the 1880s, which was documented in the passenger lists of various steamboats, in the church register of St. Paul Lutheran Church, and in the population census of 1901. In Section 26 of Beechwood Cemetery, many family graves belonging to these immigrants can be found, some of them with German inscriptions. They left their home country with the hope of a better life. While it’s questionable whether or not they could realise their dream, no one could wish for a more beautiful final resting palce.

Stone Breaking (Duncan Campell)

March wind rough
Clashed the trees,
Flung the snow;
Breaking stones,
In the cold,
Germans slow
Toiled and toiled;
Arrowy sun
Glanced and sprang,
One right blithe
German sang:
Songs of home,
Fatherland:
Syenite hard,
Weary lot,
Callous hand,
All forgot:
Hammers pound,
Ringing round;
Rise the heaps,
To his voice,
Bounds and leaps
Toise on toise:
Toil is long,
But dear God
Gives us song, 
At the end,
Gives us rest,
Toil is best.

(A History of the 19th Century Immigration and Settlement of Ottawa's German Community, Thomas W. Carkner, page 56)

Website

Der Beechwood Friedhof
Deutsche Spuren in Ottawa

  • Der Nationalfriedhof Beechwood in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der Nationalfriedhof Beechwood in Ottawa
  • Der Nationalfriedhof Beechwood in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der Nationalfriedhof Beechwood in Ottawa
  • Gerhard Herzberg auf dem Beechwood Friedhof © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Gerhard Herzberg auf dem Beechwood Friedhof

Der Beechwood-Friedhof

Der auf Hügeln liegende Friedhof ist ein stiller Ort. Er wurde 1873 angelegt und ist seit 1944 auch der Nationalfriedhof für die Streitkräfte Kanadas. Im Jahre 2000 wurde er zum Kulturerbe Kanadas erklärt. Die pittoreske 64,7 Hektar große Anlage wird von einem Waldstück eingegrenzt. Zwischen diesem Waldstück und dem Militärfriedhof fallen in den Feldern 25 und 26 die vielen Grabsteine mit deutschen Namen ins Auge.

Als Ottawa 1863 zum Sitz der neuen kanadischen Regierung bestimmt wurde, brauchte die Stadt ein Straßennetz, das ihrem neuen Status Ehre machte. Der Steinschotter für die Straßen musste damals noch per Hand auf die jeweils gewünschte Größe zerkleinert werden. Das Brechen der Steine war nicht nur körperlich anstrengend, sondern auch schlecht angesehen und viele weigerten sich, diese niedrige Arbeit zu verrichten. Es mussten deshalb Einwanderer angeheuert werden, die bereit waren, als Steinbrecher zu arbeiten. Man glaubte, dass die Einwohner von Westpreußen, Pommern, Posen, Schlesien, Mecklenburg und dem östlichen Teil Brandenburgs dafür besonders geeignet seien, da sie an schwere Arbeiten gewöhnt waren. Außerdem verdienten sie in ihrer Heimat bedeutend weniger als die Arbeiter in anderen Ländern wie beispielsweise in England. Stellvertreter der kanadischen Regierung wurden deshalb in die östlichen Gebiete Deutschlands entsandt, um für Kanada zu werben. Diese ersten deutschen Einwanderer sind in dem Gedicht „Stone Breaking" von Duncan Campell Scott bei ihrer Arbeit beschrieben, die nach „toise" (Klafter) bezahlt wurde.
 
Noffke Familiengrab Noffke Familiengrab | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Die Zahl der deutschen Familien wird auf ungefähr 100 geschätzt, aber eine systematische Erfassung dieser ersten Einwanderer gibt es nicht. Um sich ein eigenes Gotteshaus zu bauen, erstand die deutsche Gemeinde Anfang der 1870er-Jahre ein Grundstück auf der Wilbrod Street und baute dort mit Hilfe der Stadt die Kirche St. Paul.
 
In der Wirtschaftskrise wurde es für die Steinbrecher jedoch schwierig, ihren Lebensunterhalt zu verdienen. Ottawa erholte sich nur langsam von der Wirtschaftskrise von 1870, in der die Hälfte der Gemeindemitglieder von St. Paul Ottawa verlassen hatte, um ihren Lebensunterhalt anderswo zu verdienen. Die große Einwanderungswelle der 1880er-Jahren wurde in den Passagierlisten der verschiedenen Dampfer, im Kirchenbuch der evangelischen Kirche St. Paul und in der Volkszählung von 1901 dokumentiert. In den Feldern 25 und 26 des "Beechwood Cemetery" befinden sich viele Familiengräber dieser Einwanderer, einige davon mit deutschen Inschriften. Sie verließen ihre Heimat in der Hoffnung auf ein besseres Leben. Ob sie ihren Traum verwirklichen konnten, ist fraglich. Als ewige Ruhestätte kann man sich jedoch keinen schöneren Ort wünschen.


Stone Breaking (Duncan Campell)

March wind rough
Clashed the trees,
Flung the snow;
Breaking stones,
In the cold,
Germans slow
Toiled and toiled;
Arrowy sun
Glanced and sprang,
One right blithe
German sang:
Songs of home,
Fatherland:
Syenite hard,
Weary lot,
Callous hand,
All forgot:
Hammers pound,
Ringing round;
Rise the heaps,
To his voice,
Bounds and leaps
Toise on toise:
Toil is long,
But dear God
Gives us song, 
At the end,
Gives us rest,
Toil is best.

(aus: A History of the 19th Century Immigration and Settlement of Ottawa's German Community, Thomas W. Carkner, Seite 56)

Webseite