Traces of Gerhard Herzberg in Ottawa

  • Herzberg Road © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Herzberg Road
  • Herzberg Road © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Herzberg Road

Traces of Gerhard Herzberg in Ottawa

On March 15th, 2010, the Technical University of Darmstadt (Technische Universität Darmstadt) laid six commemorative paving stones in memory of scientists who had been expelled from the university between 1933 and 1935, among them the physicist Gerhard Herzberg and his wife Luise. In 1935, Gerhard Herzberg’s teaching licence was revoked because of his marriage to a Jewish woman. His wife Luise Oettinger, who had a PhD in physics, had already been forbidden to work as early as 1933.

With the help of John Spinks, a former Canadian colleague, Gerhard Herzberg emigrated to Canada with his wife in 1935. He was a physics professor at the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon until 1945, and the couple’s two children Agnes and Paul were born in Canada. After a three-year stay in Chicago, where Gerhard Herzberg was a professor of spectroscopy at the Yerkes Observatory, he moved to Ottawa with his family.

From 1948, he conducted research at the National Research Council (NRC) in Ottawa, which became a top research centre for academics from around the world thanks to him. In 1975, the astronomy and spectroscopy departments were combined to become the Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics, named in his honour. In addition, he was the dean of Carleton University from 1973 to 1980, and the university’s physics building - Herzberg Laboratories - carries his name. Herzberg was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1971 for his work on the electronic structure of molecules, and in 1987, an asteroid (3316) was named after him. The highest Canadian prize for research, which comes with an endowment of $1 million, was renamed the “Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering” in 2000.

When the Herzberg family moved to Ottawa in 1948, the city’s cultural offerings were still very limited. Concerts were held in the auditorium of Glebe Collegiate Institute, a high school, as there were no concert halls. The Herzbergs, who loved music, attended most of these Monday evening concerts. Gerhard Herzberg himself played violin, and he enjoyed performing Schubert songs in his warm baritone voice while his wife accompanied him on the piano. He would often give a demonstration of his abilities at the end of radio or television interviews.

Throughout his life, Gerhard Herzberg was a workaholic, and he would work daily from 8 AM to 7 PM. His wife, on the other hand, would take care of the children and the household. Once the children were old enough and after the death of Luise’s parents, who lived with the family from 1939, she started working again. The famous saying “Behind every great man is a great woman” seems to have been very relevant for Gerhard and Luise Herzberg. When Luise died suddenly and unexpectedly in 1971, her loss hit Gerhard Herzberg hard. She had worked in the Radio Physics Laboratory in Shirley Bay for the last 12 years of her life, and not far from Luise’s final workplace there is also a street named after her husband: Herzberg Road.

 Website, Carleton University
 Website, National Research Council

Auf den Spuren Gerhard Herzbergs in Ottawa
Deutsche Spuren in Halifax

  • Die Herzberg Road in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Herzberg Road in Ottawa
  • Die Herzberg Road in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Herzberg Road in Ottawa

Auf den Spuren Gerhard Herzbergs in Ottawa

Am 15. März 2010 verlegte die Technische Universität Darmstadt sechs Stolpersteine zum Gedenken an Wissenschaftler, die zwischen 1933 und 1935 entlassen worden waren, unter ihnen die Physiker Gerhard Herzberg und seine Frau Luise. Gerhard Herzberg war wegen seiner Ehe mit einer Jüdin 1935 die Lehrbefugnis entzogen worden. Seine Frau, die promovierte Physikerin Luise Oettinger, war schon 1933 mit einem Berufsverbot belegt worden.

Mit Hilfe von John Spinks, einem ehemaligen kanadischen Kollegen, emigrierte Gerhard Herzberg 1935 mit seiner Frau nach Kanada, wo er an der University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon bis 1945 eine Professur für Physik innehatte und auch die beiden Kinder Agnes und Paul geboren wurden. Nach einem dreijährigen Aufenthalt in Chicago, wohin Gerhard Herzberg als Professor für Spektroskopie am Yerkes-Observatorium berufen worden war, kam er mit seiner Familie nach Ottawa.

Ab 1948 forschte er dann am „National Research Council“ (NRC) in Ottawa, das sich dank ihm zu einem Spitzenforschungszentrum für Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt entwickelte. 1975 wurden ihm zu Ehren die Astronomie- und Spektroskopieabteilung zum „Herzberg Institute of Astrophysics" zusammengelegt. Außerdem war er von 1973 bis 1980 Dekan der Carleton University und das Physikgebäude („Herzberg Laboratories“) trägt seinen Namen. 1971 wurde Herzberg für seine Arbeiten zur elektronischen Struktur von Molekülen der Nobelpreis für Chemie verliehen und 1987 wurde ein Asteroid (3316) nach ihm benannt. Im Jahre 2000 wurde der höchste kanadische Forschungspreis, der mit einem Preisgeld von $1 Mio. dotiert ist, in „Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering“ umbenannt.
Als die Familie Herzberg 1948 nach Ottawa umzog, war das Kulturangebot der Stadt noch sehr begrenzt. Konzerte wurden im Auditorium des „Glebe Collegiate“ abgehalten, da es keine Konzerthalle gab. Die musikliebenden Herzbergs wohnten diesen Konzerten, die montags stattfanden, meist bei. Gerhard Herzberg spielte auch selbst Geige und trug in seiner schönen warmen Bariton-Stimme gerne Lieder Schuberts vor, während seine Frau ihn auf dem Klavier begleitete. Bei Radio- oder Fernsehinterviews gab er oft am Ende des Interviews noch eine Probe seines Könnens.

Gerhard Herzberg war Zeit seines Lebens ein Arbeitstier und arbeitete täglich von 8:00 bis 19:00 Uhr. Seine Frau kümmerte sich dagegen um die Kinder und den Haushalt und kochte stets für ihren Mann. Erst nach dem Tod von Luises Eltern, die seit 1939 bei ihnen wohnten, und, nachdem die Kinder groß genug waren, kehrte sie in ihren Beruf zurück. Das berühmte Sprichwort: „Hinter jedem erfolgreichen Mann steht eine starke Frau“, scheint für Gerhard und Luise Herzberg zutreffend gewesen zu sein. Als Luise 1971 plötzlich und unerwartet starb, traf ihr Verlust Gerhard Herzberg stark. Die letzten 12 Jahre ihres Lebens hatte sie im „Radio Physics Laboratory“ in Shirley Bay gearbeitet. Nicht unweit von Luises letzter Arbeitsstätte liegt auch die nach ihrem Mann benannte Straße: Herzberg Road.