Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawa’s Architect

  • Home of W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Home of W.E. Noffke
  • Home of W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Home of W.E. Noffke
  • Home of W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Home of W.E. Noffke

Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawa’s Architect

Ottawa’s cityscape is shaped by the buildings of W. E. Noffke, which include not only houses, but also splendid churches, hospitals, schools, and other service and commercial buildings. The versatile architect left behind approximately 200 buildings scattered around the city, designed and outfitted with a lot of care and attention to detail.

On June 19th, 2012, a plaque was unveiled honouring the Clemow Estate East, which has been listed as a protected building since 2011. The plaque can be found by Patterson Creek in the park near Clemow Avenue, and it commemorates W. E. Noffke, who was commissioned to build 10 houses here in the 1920s. While W. E. Noffke designed several half-timbered and ashlar hillside houses to fit in with their picturesque environment, others stand out from their quiet, natural surroundings because of their elegance and colour, the magnificent white houses designed in the neocolonial style with hipped roofs and glazed red tiles. W. E. Noffke outfitted his own house on Patterson Creek with his signature features: decorative masonry embellishing and adorning the doorways and window openings, a prominent chimney along the exterior wall, triangular gables, and red roof tiles. The dormer above the veranda helps to bring light and air into the house, while the richly decorated interior emits a comfortable warmth with its wood paneling and lead glass windows.
 
W. E. Noffke was born in Pomerania on April 9th, 1877, and he came to Ottawa with his family as a boy in 1883. He attended the German school on Wilbrod Street, which was associated with the Lutheran St. Paul Church. At 14 years old, he began an apprenticeship with the architect Adam Harvey (1845-1918) from Thuringia, who had replaced the St. Paul Church’s original wooden building with a larger, neo-gothic church in 1887. After finishing his apprenticeship, W. E. Noffke worked for the architect Moses Chamberlain Edey, where he got to know other styles in addition to gothic and romantic. In 1901, the young architect established himself independently, and his first commission was for a housing block containing six rental properties. Since Ottawa was relatively small, lots of residents knew each other and word spread quickly. That same year, Noffke got a contract to build more houses, gaining a reputation as a talented architect. During Noffke’s time, there was no formal structured training program for architects in Canada. Those who couldn’t afford to study in the US or Europe had to take courses in art studies and applied art in addition to their apprenticeship, which is what Noffke did. In Ontario, these courses were regulated by the Ministry of Education. In 1907, the local “Ontario Association of Architects” was established, and W. E. Noffke served as president of the association from 1910-1911.
 
This exceedingly productive architect’s creativity was not limited to any one particular style, and his works can be found outside of Ottawa as well. There are more than 20 Noffke churches in the rest of Ontario, while schools designed by him can be found across Canada. Shannon Ricketts’ book “Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawa’s Architect” contains a complete list of the Noffke buildings that are still standing, along with illustrations and a street directory.

Werner Ernst Noffke
Deutsche Spuren in Ottawa

  • Haus von W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Haus von W.E. Noffke
  • Haus von W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Haus von W.E. Noffke
  • Haus von W.E. Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Haus von W.E. Noffke

Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawas Architekt

W.E. Noffkes Bauten, zu denen neben Wohnhäusern auch prächtige Kirchen, Krankenhäuser, Schulen und andere Dienstleistungs- und Geschäftsgebäude gehören, prägen das Stadtbild Ottawas. Der vielseitige Architekt hinterließ etwa 200 mit viel Liebe zum Detail entworfene und ausgestattete Gebäude, die überall in der Stadt verstreut sind.

Am 19. Juni 2012 wurde eine Plakette enthüllt, um den „Clemow Estate East", der seit 2011 unter Denkmalschutz steht, feierlich zu würdigen. Die Plakette befindet sich am Patterson's Creek, im Park neben der Clemow Avenue und würdigt W.E. Noffke, der hier in den 1920er Jahren mit dem Bau von 10 Wohnhäusern beauftragt worden war. Während W.E. Noffke mehrere im Hang gelegene mit Fachwerk oder Bruchsteinen geschmückte Wohnhäuser der malerischen Umgebung anpasste, stechen einige im neokolonialistischen Stil entworfene weiße Prachtbauten mit Walmdächern und glasierten roten Dachziegeln durch ihre Eleganz und Farbe aus der schlichten, ruhigen Naturkulisse hervor. Sein eigenes Haus am Patterson Creek versah W.E. Noffke mit den für ihn typischen Merkmalen: dekorativem Mauerwerk zum Ausarbeiten und Verzieren der Tür- und Fensteröffnungen, über die Außenwand herausragendem Schornstein, Dreieckgiebeln und roten Dachziegeln. Die über der Veranda thronende Dachgaube dient dazu, Licht und Luft und somit die Natur nach innen zu holen, während das reich dekorierte Innere des Hauses mit seinen Holztäfelungen und Bleiglasfenstern eine gemütliche Wärme ausstrahlt.
 
W.E. Noffke wurde am 9. April 1877 in Pommern geboren und kam 1883 als kleiner Junge mit seiner Familie nach Ottawa. Er besuchte die deutsche Schule auf der Wilbrod Straße, die der Evangelischen St. Paul Kirche angeschlossen war. Mit 14 begann er eine Lehre bei dem aus Thüringen stammenden Architekten Adam Harvey (1845-1918), der im Jahre 1887 den ursprünglichen Holzbau der St. Paul Kirche durch ein größeres Gotteshaus im neogotischen Stil ersetzt hatte. Nach Beendigung seiner Lehre arbeitete W.E. Noffke für den Architekten Moses Chamberlain Edey, bei dem er neben dem gotischen und romanischen Stil auch andere Stile kennenlernte. 1901 machte sich der junge Architekt selbständig und wurde als erstes mit dem Bau eines Wohnblocks mit sechs Mietwohnungen beauftragt. In dem kleinen Ottawa kannte man sich untereinander und noch im gleichen Jahr erhielt Noffke, dem der Ruf eines talentierten Architekten vorauseilte, den Auftrag zum Bau weiterer Häuser. Zu Noffkes Zeit gab es in Kanada noch kein strukturiertes Ausbildungsprogramm für Architekten. Wer sich nicht leisten konnte in den USA oder in Europa zu studieren, musste wie Noffke zusätzlich zur Ausbildung Kurse in Kunstwissenschaft und angewandter Kunst belegen, die in der Provinz Ontario vom  Bildungsministerium reguliert waren. 1907 wurde der örtliche Verband der „Ontario Association of Architects“ gegründet, als dessen Präsident W.E. Noffke von 1910-1911 fungierte.
 
Das Schaffen des überaus produktiven Architekten, der sich keinem bestimmten Stil unterwarf, war nicht auf Ottawa begrenzt. Im restlichen Ontario gibt es unter anderem mehr als 20 Noffke-Kirchen, während von ihm entworfene Schulen in ganz Kanada zu finden sind. Shannon Ricketts' Buch, „Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawa's Architect“, enthält eine vollständige Liste der noch existierenden Noffke-Bauten sowie Abbildungen und Straßenverzeichnisse.