The Château Haldimand

  • Today's Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Today's Château Frontenac
  • Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Château Frontenac
  • Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Château Frontenac

The Château Haldimand (now: Château Frontenac) in Quebec City

The Château Frontenac is without a doubt one of the architectural monuments most symbolic of Quebec City. The château, whose construction started in 1893, is actually part of the city’s later history. There was another château that stood on the same spot earlier: the Château Haldimand. This building was the political and administrative centre of the province of Quebec in the 18th and 19th century, and its history is connected to the Germanic world.

At the beginning of the North American colonial war in 1754, Great Britain was ruled by King George III, who was of German descent. He was not only the British monarch, but also a prince of the House of Hanover within the Holy Roman Empire. Under his rule, Great Britain recruited numerous soldiers and workers from the Holy Roman Empire and neighbouring Germanic regions. It was in this context that a large number of soldiers of German origin received orders to support British troops in the conquest of New France. Among them was the Swiss-born Frederick Haldimand, who was recruited by the British in 1756.

At the time, he was 38 years old and had already spent 15 years in the Prussian army. As a first lieutenant in the British army, he led important military operations that contributed to the conquest of New France (today Quebec and other regions in North America). He was particularly involved in the capture of Montreal in 1760. When New France was finally surrendered to Great Britain in 1763, Frederick Haldimand held numerous important administrative posts in the territory which was to become the province of Quebec. A few years later, he was officially named governor of Quebec, meaning he occupied the highest office of the British colony. During his time in office, he supported the defence of the colony and fought against the threat of an American invasion.

At the same time, he coordinated the settlement of the province by British loyalists, while still preserving francophone language rights. Because of his diplomatic efforts, he achieved a conciliatory climate between the old French inhabitants and the new British settlers. One of Frederick Haldimand’s final official acts was to order the construction of a château on the summit of Quebec City’s foothills. It was meant to act as the political and administrative centre for the whole colony, as well as being the governor’s seat and accommodating spaces for political gatherings.

The building was erected between 1784 and 1786. At this time, Frederick Haldimand retired and returned to Europe, where he died in 1791. His political legacy has a lot of meaning in Canada, as it was based on some of those same elements that still characterize the country today: bilingualism and the mix of French and British laws. As to the Château Haldimand, it remained an important building in Quebec City during its entire existence, which lasted over a century until it was demolished in 1892 and the Château Frontenac was built in its place.

Das „Château Haldimand“
Deutsche Spuren in Québec City und Umgebung

  • Das heutige Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das heutige Château Frontenac
  • Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Château Frontenac
  • Château Frontenac © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Château Frontenac

Das „Château Haldimand“ (heute: „Château Frontenac“) in Quebec

Das „Château Frontenac“ ist zweifellos eines der symbolträchtigsten Architekturdenkmäler der Stadt Quebec. Das „Château“, mit dessen Bau 1893 begonnen wurde, zählt eher zur jüngeren Geschichte der Stadt. Zuvor befand sich ein anderes Schloss an diesem Ort: das „Château Haldimand“. Im 18. und 19.Jahrhundert war dieses Gebäude Zentrum der Politik und Verwaltung der Provinz Quebec und seine Geschichte steht im Zusammenhang mit der deutschsprachigen Welt.

Zu Beginn des nordamerikanischen Kolonialkrieges 1754 wurde Großbritannien von König Georg II regiert, der deutscher Abstammung war. Somit war er nicht nur Herrscher Großbritanniens, sondern auch Prinz des Hauses Hannover innerhalb des Heiligen Römischen Reiches. Unter seiner Herrschaft rekrutierte Großbritannien zahlreiche Soldaten und Arbeitskräfte aus dem Heiligen Römischen Reich sowie benachbarten germanischen Gebieten. In diesem Kontext erhielt eine Vielzahl deutschstämmiger Soldaten den Auftrag, die britischen Truppen im Eroberungskrieg um Neufrankreich zu unterstützen. Unter ihnen befand sich der gebürtige Schweizer Frederick Haldimand, der 1756 von den Briten rekrutiert wurde.

Zu jener Zeit war er 38 Jahre alt und hatte bereits 15 Jahre in der preußischen Armee gedient. Als Oberleutnant der britischen Armee führte er wichtige Militäroperationen durch, die zur Eroberung Neufrankreichs (heutiges Quebec und weitere Gebiete Nordamerikas) beitrugen. Er war insbesondere an der Einnahme Montreals im Jahre 1760 beteiligt und als Neufrankreich dann ab 1763 endgültig an Großbritannien abgetreten wurde, hielt Frederick Haldimand zahlreiche wichtige Verwaltungsposten in jenem Gebiet inne, das zur Provinz Quebec wurde. Einige Jahre später wurde er zum offiziellen Gouverneur der Provinz Quebec ernannt und trat damit das höchste Amt in dieser britischen Kolonie an. Im Laufe seiner Amtszeit setzte er sich für die Verteidigung der Kolonie und gegen die Bedrohung eines Einmarsches der Amerikaner ein.

Zeitgleich koordinierte er, die frankofonen Sprachenrechte bewahrend, die Besiedlung der Provinz durch britische Loyalisten. Durch seine diplomatischen Bemühungen erzielte er ein versöhnliches Klima zwischen den ehemaligen französischen und den neuen britischen Siedlern. Eine der letzten Amtshandlungen Frederick Haldimands war die Anordnung des Baus eines Schlosses am Gipfel des Vorgebirges der Stadt Quebec, das als politisches und administratives Zentrum der gesamten Kolonie dienen sollte und den Sitz des Gouverneurs ebenso wie die Räumlichkeiten für politische Versammlungen beherbergte.

Das Gebäude wurde zwischen 1784 und 1786 errichtet. Allerdings trat Frederick Haldimand zu dieser Zeit in den Ruhestand und kehrte nach Europa zurück, wo er 1791 starb. Sein politisches Erbe ist in Kanada von großer Bedeutung, da es auf jenen Elementen basiert, die das Land auch heute noch charakterisieren: Bilingualität und die Dualität französisch-britischer Gesetze. Was das „Château Haldimand“ betrifft, so bleibt es mit seinem über ein Jahrhundert langem Bestehen – bis zu seinem Abriss 1892 und der Errichtung des heutigen „Château Frontenac“ – ein wichtiges Bauwerk der Stadt Quebec.