German Mercenaries in Quebec

  • Commemorative plaque on the Plains of Abraham © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Commemorative plaque on the Plains of Abraham
  • Commemorative plaque on the Plains of Abraham © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Commemorative plaque on the Plains of Abraham
  • Cemetery of St. Matthew's Church © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Cemetery of St. Matthew's Church

German Mercenaries in Quebec

At the end of the 18th century, the province of Quebec was a colony of Great Britain, which also controlled a number of other regions in New England at the time. Britain’s dominant position across the continent lasted until 1775, the beginning of the American War of Independence. While the American revolutionaries were fighting for New England’s secession from Great Britain, they also tried to invade the province of Quebec. There were several conflicts between American revolutionaries and the British army, first in Montreal and then in Quebec City. When their military resources were exhausted, the British authorities had to hire German mercenaries to bolster their forces.

Approximately 100 German mercenaries arrived in Quebec in the last decades of the 18th century for this purpose. Their arrival was an advantage for the British, who were then able to force back the American revolutionaries. The German mercenaries’ involvement contributed significantly to ensuring that Canada remained politically separate from the United States. Although the presence of the mercenaries was connected to the American Revolution, many of them stayed in Quebec longer-term and, with time, integrated into the Quebecois society. Some places in Quebec have memorials commemorating the historical legacy of the German mercenaries.

The commemorative plaque on the Plains of Abraham

In 2009, the Canadian government erected a plaque on the Plains of Abraham, the site of the Battle of the Plains of Abraham, in order to officially commemorate the involvement of German mercenaries in defending Canada during the American Revolutionary War. This plaque was installed following a joint request from German institutions in the province of Quebec and the Société historique de Québec. Today, the Plains of Abraham make up an important part of Quebec City, where the wide area associated with military operations is steeped in history.

St. Matthew's Church

This church is located in the Saint-Jean Baptiste neighbourhood in the centre of Quebec City. The walled parish estate is particularly noteworthy because it houses Quebec City’s first Protestant cemetery, which was opened in 1772. Since it was based in a majority-Catholic and -francophone city, the use of this cemetery was originally reserved for the Protestant minority and the local anglophone population. In time, German-speaking Protestants were also buried there, and included among them were some German mercenaries. Interested visitors can learn more about them from the cemetery’s gravestones.

The "Hôtel-Dieu de Québec"

In addition to the mercenaries, Great Britain also recruited doctors from Germany who were responsible for caring for the military. Some of the German doctors decided to stay in Quebec, and many of them played an important role in local history. Among them was Frederick William Olivia, who was born in Germany in 1749 and died in Quebec in 1796. He had particular influence over the quarantines introduced to control epidemics brought over by European immigrants. Another high-profile figure in the city’s medical history was Anthony von Iffland. His parents were German doctors, and he was born in Quebec in 1798 and died there in 1876. His career was heavily shaped by the development of surgical technology and anatomy courses in Quebec City. These two doctors, like many others, have a connection to the historical site "Hôtel-Dieu de Québec", which was one of the city’s largest hospitals during their time.

 Website of the Plaines of Abraham
 Enclos paroissial Saint-Matthew

Deutsche Söldner in Quebec
Deutsche Spuren in Québec City und Umgebung

  • Die Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“
  • Die Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“
  • Friedhof der Saint-Matthews Kirche © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Friedhof der Saint-Matthews Kirche

Deutsche Söldner in Quebec

Am Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war die Provinz Quebec eine Kolonie Großbritanniens, das damals auch viele andere Regionen Neuenglands kontrollierte. Diese Situation blieb bis 1775, dem Beginn des Amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges, vorherrschend. Während die revolutionären Amerikaner Neuenglands für die Abspaltung Großbritanniens kämpften, versuchten sie auch in die Provinz Quebec einzudringen. Kämpfe zwischen amerikanischen Revolutionären und der britischen Armee fanden auch in Montreal und dann in der Stadt Quebec statt. Als die militärischen Ressourcen erschöpft waren, musste die britische Obrigkeit deutsche Söldner engagieren, um sich zu verteidigen.

In diesem Kontext kamen circa 100 deutsche Söldner im Laufe der letzten Jahrzehnte des 18. Jahrhunderts in Quebec an. Ihr Kommen war für die Briten, die dann die amerikanischen Revolutionäre zurückdrängen konnten, von Vorteil. Die Beteiligung der deutschen Söldner hat erheblich dazu beigetragen, dass Kanada von Amerika getrennt als politisches Ganzes bestehen blieb. Daher ist die Ankunft der Söldner mit dem Kontext der Amerikanischen Revolution verknüpft, denn viele von ihnen ließen sich längerfristig in Quebec nieder und integrierten sich mit der Zeit in die Gesellschaft Quebecs. Einige Orte in Quebec erinnern sinnbildlich an dieses geschichtliche Erbe der aus Deutschland stammenden Söldner.

Die Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“

2009 hat die kanadische Regierung eine Gedenktafel auf den „Plaines d’Abraham“, den Schlachtschauplätzen der Abraham-Ebene, errichtet, um die Beteiligung deutscher Söldner an der Verteidigung Kanadas während des Amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges offiziell zu würdigen. Diese Tafel wurde aufgrund einer gemeinsamen Anfrage deutscher Institutionen in der Provinz Quebec und den Vertretern der „Société historique de Québec“ angebracht. Die „Plaines d’Abraham“ stellen heute einen wichtigen Ort der Stadt Quebec dar, weil es sich um einen weiten geschichtsträchtigen Raum handelt, der mit Militäroperationen assoziiert wird.

Die Saint-Matthews Kirche

Diese Kirche befindet sich im Stadtviertel Saint Jean-Baptiste im Zentrum Quebecs und der umfriedete Pfarrbesitz beherbergt als Besonderheit den ersten protestantischen Friedhof der Stadt Quebec, der 1772 öffnete. Die Nutzung dieses Friedhofs – in einer größtenteils katholischen und französischsprachigen Stadt – war zunächst der protestantischen Minderheit und der lokalen anglophonen Bevölkerung vorbehalten. Im Laufe der Jahre wurden dort auch deutschsprachige Protestanten begraben, unter denen sich deutsche Söldner befanden. Interessierte Besucher können auf den Gedenksteinen des Friedhofs mehr dazu erfahren.

Das „Hôtel-Dieu de Québec“

Zusätzlich zu den Söldnern rekrutierte Großbritannien auch Ärzte aus Deutschland, die für die Verpflegung des Militärs zuständig waren. Dies führte zur Niederlassung von deutschen Ärzten in Quebec, die bekanntermaßen eine wichtige Rolle in der örtlichen Geschichte spielten. Unter ihnen war auch Frederick William Olivia, der 1749 in Deutschland geboren wurde und 1796 in Quebec verstarb. Dieser Arzt wirkte im Besonderen im Zuge der Quarantäne-Maßnahmen, um die durch die europäischen Immigranten mitgebrachten Epidemien einzudämmen. Unter den bedeutenden Figuren der Medizingeschichte der Stadt findet sich ebenfalls Anthony Von Iffland, der 1798 in Quebec als Sohn eines deutschen Arztes geboren wurde und dort 1798 verstarb. Seine Karriere in Quebec war besonders von der Entwicklung chirurgischer Techniken und Anatomiekursen geprägt. Diese beiden Ärzte können, wie viele andere, mit dem historischen Ort des „Hôtel-Dieu de Québec“ in Verbindung gebracht werden, das zu deren Lebzeiten eines der größten Krankenhäuser der Stadt war.

 Webseite der "Pleines d'Abraham"
 Enclos paroissial Saint-Matthew