The Church in Saint-Romuald

  • The Church in Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Church in Saint-Romuald
  • Inside of the church in Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Inside of the church in Saint-Romuald
  • Sanctuary of the church in Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Sanctuary of the church in Saint-Romuald

The Church in Saint-Romuald

Saint-Romuald (population ca. 11,700) lies on the south bank of the Saint Lawrence River, opposite Quebec City and not far from the two bridges “Pont de Québec” and “Pont Pierre-Laporte”. Saint-Romuald has been one of Lévis’ 10 boroughs since 2002. The village has existed since the mid-19th century, and used to be called “Saint-Romuald d’Etchemin”.

At the beginning of the 19th century, workers in the lumber industry started to settle there with their families. In 1852, the residents of this settlement called upon the Archbishop of Quebec in order to ask him to allow them to establish their own church. They were granted permission, and in 1854, Pierre-Téléphore Sax became the first vicar (or curé) of the new congregation. He was bilingual, and therefore the ideal priest for this particular Catholic congregation, which was made up of worshipers of both French and Irish descent.

The church was built between 1855 and 1856, and it was based on plans by the architect Charles Baillargé. The work was performed by stonemasons Joseph and Louis Larose, carpenters Paul and Joseph Breton, and the joiner Édouard Gaboury. In 1901, the old vestry was replaced by a new one designed by architect David Ouellet.

But what does this church on the south bank of the Saint Lawrence have to do with Germany? After taking on the job, the minister Sax visited the Benedictine monks in New York state, most likely in the 1860s. The monks recommended a few artists to him: the painters Wilhelm Lamprecht and Josef Lang, both from Bavaria, as well as painter Wenceslaus Thien, who was of German origin. These artists, who normally worked in the US, painted the elaborate interior decorations of the Saint-Romuald church from 1867 to 1868. At the time, murals were not well-known in Canada because of the harsh climate.The Munich native Wilhelm Lamprecht was responsible for the paintings along the walls of the side aisles and in the choir, as well as the high altar painting. He also oversaw the whole project. His former classmate Josef Lang painted the large mural in the vaulting of the apse and scenes from the life of Saint Romuald. The altars, which were designed by Munich sculptor Georg Schneider, were manufactured at the local “École de Sculpture”, and the polychrome figures of the saints were directly imported from the atelier of a Munich sculptor named Johann Evangelist Riedmiller. The well-preserved religious murals in the interior of this church in Saint-Romuald - a rarity today in North America - are thanks to both the first priest of this small congregation, Pierre-Téléphore Sax, and the Bavarian artists. The church has been classified as a historical monument since 2004.

 St-Romuald de Lévis: A Québec church decorat
 Église de Saint-Romuald - Répertoire du patrimoine culturel du Québec

Die Kirche Saint-Romuald
Deutsche Spuren in Québec City und Umgebung

  • Die Kirche Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Kirche Saint-Romuald
  • Das Innere der Kirche in Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Innere der Kirche in Saint-Romuald
  • Altarraum der Kirche Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Altarraum der Kirche Saint-Romuald

Die Kirche in Saint-Romuald

Saint-Romuald (ca. 11.700 Einwohner) liegt gegenüber der Stadt Quebec am Südufer des Sankt-Lorenz Stroms, unweit der beiden Brücken „Pont de Québec“ und „Pont Pierre-Laporte“. Seit 2002 ist Saint-Romuald einer der 10 Stadtbezirke von Lévis. Die Ortschaft existiert seit Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts und hieß früher „Saint-Romuald d’Etchemin“.

Zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts hatten sich hier in der Holzindustrie tätige Arbeiter mit ihren Familien angesiedelt und 1852 sprachen die Bewohner dieser Ansiedlung zum ersten Mal beim Erzbischof von Quebec vor, um ihn darum zu bitten, ihre eigene Kirche errichten zu dürfen. Dies wurde ihnen gewährt und im Jahr 1854 wurde Pierre-Télésphore Sax der erste Pfarrer beziehungsweise „Curé“ der neuen Pfarrgemeinde. Er war zweisprachig und damit der ideale Priester für diese katholische Gemeinde von Gläubigen französischer und irischer Herkunft.

Die Kirche wurde in den Jahren 1855/56 nach den Plänen des Architekten Charles Baillargé erbaut. Die Maurer Joseph und Louis Larose, die Zimmerleute Paul und Joseph Breton und der Schreiner Édouard Gaboury führten die Arbeiten aus. Die alte Sakristei wurde 1901 nach den Entwürfen des Architekten David Ouellet durch eine neue ersetzt.

Was hat nun Bayern mit dieser Kirche am Südufer des Sankt-Lorenz Stroms zu tun? Pfarrer Sax reiste wahrscheinlich in den 1860er Jahren zu Benediktinern im Bundesstaat New York. Die Mönche empfahlen ihm die Maler Wilhelm Lamprecht und Josef Lang, beide aus Bayern, sowie den Maler Wenceslaus Thien, der den Quellen zufolge deutscher Herkunft war. Diese in den USA tätigen Künstler malten in den Jahren 1867/68 die aufwendigen Innendekorationen der Kirche in Saint-Romuald. Wandmalereien waren zu dieser Zeit angesichts des rauen Klimas in Kanada kaum bekannt. Der Münchner Wilhelm Lamprecht realisierte die Malereien an den Wänden der Seitenschiffe und im Chor sowie das Hochaltargemälde. Er leitete auch das ganze Projekt. Sein Studienkollege Josef Lang schuf den Zyklus aus dem Leben des Heiligen Romuald und das große Wandgemälde in der Wölbung der Apsis. Die Altäre wurden im lokalen „École de Sculpture“ nach den Plänen des Münchner Bildhauers Georg Schneider angefertigt und die polychromen Heiligenfiguren im Chor wurden direkt aus dem Atelier eines Münchner Bildhauers namens Johann Evangelist Riedmiller importiert. Dem ersten Pfarrer dieser kleinen Gemeinde in Saint-Romuald, Pierre-Télésphore Sax, und den bayrischen Künstlern ist es also zu verdanken, dass wir im Innenraum dieser Kirche gut erhaltene religiöse Wandmalereien bestaunen können; heutzutage eine Seltenheit in Nordamerika. Die Kirche ist seit 2004 als „Monument historique“ klassifiziert.

 St-Romuald in Lévis: Eine Kirche in Quebec von bayerischen Künstlern dekoriert
 Église de Saint-Romuald - Répertoire du patrimoine culturel du Québec