Berthold von Imhoff

  • Still life of Berthold von Imhoff © Berthold von Imhoff
    Still life of Berthold von Imhoff
  • Still life of Berthold von Imhoff © Berthold von Imhoff
    Still life of Berthold von Imhoff

Berthold von Imhoff

Nestled in the prairie bluffs of the rolling plains near St. Walburg in northern Saskatchewan stands one of the most unique art galleries in North America. The gallery was built in 1920 by the German-Canadian liturgical artist Berthold von Imhoff (1868-1939) who lived and painted there for 25 years.

A good number of his paintings adorn the studio walls while most are in storage, many rolled up and unseen for 65 years since the artist’s passing. Most of these works portray the life of Christ, the Holy Family, the Saints and the Apostles. They all have vibrant colours and many feature 22.5k gold leafing. Many are larger than life. Imhoff also painted more than 110 church interiors during his prolific career, mostly in Pennsylvania, but also at least 12 churches in Saskatchewan. St. Peter’s Cathedral near Muenster, Saskatchewan is one of his masterpieces. A bronze statue of the artist on horseback by Saskatchewan sculptor Susan Velder has been a tourist attraction in St. Walburg since 1998. It has been said that Imhoff paintings are able to open windows between heaven and earth. The studio and farm site was awarded a Provincial Heritage Designation in 2005.

Imhoff created “The Glory of Prince Frederick William” (King of Prussia for 90 days), at age 16, a painting that won him the Art Academy Award of Berlin in 1884.

Over 250 of his canvases are displayed on long-term lease in Lloydminster at the Barr Colony Heritage Cultural Centre. In 1937, Pope Pious XI conferred on Imhoff a knighthood (Ordo Sancti Gregorii Magni) for his outstanding illustrations of scripture and contributions to the Catholic Church.

 Website of the gallery

Berthold von Imhoff
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

  • Stillleben  von Berthold von Imhoff © Franziska Davies I German Council Saskatchewan
    Stillleben von Berthold von Imhoff
  • Stillleben  von Berthold von Imhoff © Franziska Davies I German Council Saskatchewan
    Stillleben von Berthold von Imhoff

Berthold von Imhoff

Eingebettet in die Steilhänge der Prärie nahe St. Waldburg im Norden Saskatchewans befindet sich eine der außergewöhnlichsten Kunstgalerien Nordamerikas. Sie wurde 1920 von dem deutsch-kanadischen liturgischen Künstler Berthold von Imhoff (1868 – 1939), der dort 25 Jahre lange gelebt und gemalt hat, gebaut. 

Eine stattliche Anzahl seiner Bilder schmückt die Studiowände der Galerie, wohingegen die meisten zusammengerollt und unbeachtet seit dem Tod des Künstlers vor 65 Jahren dort gelagert sind. Der Großteil dieser Werke porträtiert das Leben Christi, der Heiligen Familie, der Apostel und der Heiligen. Imhoff bemalte während seiner produktiven Karriere mehr als 110 Kirchenräume, aber auch mindestens 12 Kirchen in Saskatchewan. Die Abtei Saint Peter in der Nähe von Muenster in Saskatchewan ist eines seiner Meisterwerke. Eine Bronzestatue der Bildhauerin Susan Velder zeigt den Künstler zu Pferde und ist seit 1998 eine beliebte Touristenattraktion in St.Walburg. Man erzählt sich, dass die Werke Imhoffs ein Fenster zwischen Himmel und Erde öffnen könnten. Das Studio und Hofgelände wurden 2005 mit der Bezeichnung „Provincial Heritage“ ausgezeichnet.

Im Alter von 16 Jahren schuf Imhoff das Gemälde „Prinz Frederick Williams Herrlichkeit“ (König von Preußen für 90 Tage) mit dem er 1884 den Preis der Akademie der Künste in Berlin gewann.

Über 250 seiner Gemälde sind längerfristig in Lloydminster im „Bar Colony Heritage Cultural Centre“ ausgestellt. 1937 verlieh ihm Papst Pious XI für seine herausragenden Illustrationen von Manuskripten und seinen Beitrag innerhalb der katholischen Kirche die Ritterwürde (Ordo Sancti Gregorii Magni).

Webseite der Galerie