German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon

  • German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon
  • „German Canadian Club Concordia“ from 1957 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    „German Canadian Club Concordia“ from 1957
  • German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon

German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon

The German Canadian Club Concordia was founded in 1957 by Eugen P. Boensch and a handful of immigrants who were willing to serve as directors of the Club. The members socialized at several venues all over Saskatoon until the present location was purchased. After enthusiastic volunteers had completely renovated the old “Chicken Inn” the Concordia Club opened its doors in 1968.

The large hall was built from 1986 to 1987 under the presidency of Herb Pexa in the old German Fachwerk style. In honour of the founding president, the hall addition was named “Eugen Boensch Halle”. At the end of 1987, a beautiful Gasthaus lounge and “Edelweiss“ dining room opened. The lounge sported a large “Kachelofen” (ceramic tile fireplace), a “Stammtisch” and a bar to give it more character. Sadly, the building burned down in 2009 but in 2012 the doors opened again to the current re-named German Cultural Centre. The new building has two halls in the back with a restaurant in the front.

In “Sudeten in Saskatchewan – A Way to be Free” by Rita Schilling, it is mentioned that the members of the club also welcomed Sudeten refugees to Saskatoon. The Sudeten came by way of train and had a stopover in Saskatoon while on their way to St. Walburg. “The stopover provided the refugees with a stroll around Saskatoon to enjoy the city sights. A Canadian pointed out the City Hall to one of the refugees. The Sudeten nodded as he repeated the words ‘Ja - City Hall’ in perfect English. Then he smiled and added, ‘Ve say Rathaus;’ this very much surprised the Canadian who understood, ‘Rat House’”.

“Sudeten in Saskatchewan – A Way to be Free” by Rita Schilling is available at the Saskatchewan German Council.

Website of the Cultural Centre

Das deutsche Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

  • German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon
  • „German Canadian Club Concordia“ von 1957 © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    „German Canadian Club Concordia“ von 1957
  • Das deutsche Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das deutsche Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon

Das deutsche Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon

Der „German Canadian Club Concordia“ wurde 1957 von Eugen P. Boensch und einer kleinen Gruppe von Einwanderern, die die Leitung des Clubs übernahmen, gegründet. Die Mitglieder verkehrten an verschiedenen Orten, bevor der heutige Sitz des Clubs gekauft worden ist. Nach den Renovierungsarbeiten des alten „Chicken Inn“ durch engagierte Freiwillige, öffnete der Concordia Club 1968 seine Türen.

Der große Saal wurde von 1986 bis 1987 unter der Präsidentin des Clubs, Herb Pexa, im Stil alter deutscher Fachwerkhäuser gebaut. Zu Ehren des Gründungspräsidenten wurde dieser Raum zur „Eugen Boensch Halle“ ernannt. Am Ende des Jahres 1987 wurden eine schöne Gaststube und der sogenannte „Edelweiß Speisesaal“ eröffnet und es gab auch einen großen Kachelofen, einen Stammtisch und eine Bar. Leider brannte das Gebäude 2009 ab, aber öffnete, umbenannt in „German Cultural Centre“, 2012 wieder seine Türen. Im vorderen Teil des neuen Gebäudes befindet sich das Restaurant und im hinteren Teil gibt es zwei Säle.

In „Sudeten in Saskatchewan – A Way to be Free“ von Rita Schilling wird erwähnt, dass die Mitglieder des Clubs auch sudetische Flüchtlinge in Saskatoon willkommen hießen. Die Sudeten kamen mit dem Zug und machten auf ihrem Weg nach St. Walburg einen Zwischenhalt in Saskatoon: „Der Zwischenhalt gab den Flüchtlingen die Gelegenheit einen Spaziergang durch die Stadt zu machen und sich an den Sehenswürdigkeiten zu erfreuen. Ein Kanadier machte einen der Flüchtlinge auf das Rathaus aufmerksam. Die Sudeten nickten als er die Worte ‚Ja – City Hall‘ in perfektem Englisch wiederholte. Dann lächelte er und fügte hinzu: ‚Ve say Rathaus‘; das überraschte den Kanadier sehr, der ‚Rat House‘ verstand.“

Das Buch „Sudeten in Saskatchewan – A Way to be Free“ von Rita Schilling ist beim „Saskatchewan German Council”  erhältlich.

Webseite des Kulturzentrums