Dr. Gerhard Herzberg

Nobel Prize Winner for Chemistry

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg was a celebrated German-Canadian physicist, physical chemist, and the founder of the field of molecular spectroscopy. Mostly famously, Herzberg won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1971, “for his contributions to the knowledge of electronic structure and geometry of molecules, particularly free radicals.”

Dr. Herzberg was born in Hamburg Germany on December 25th, 1904. Herzberg studied engineering, received his degree in 1927 and obtained his doctorate in 1928 from the Darmstadt Institute of Technology in Germany. Herzberg and his wife, Luise, an astrophysicist in her own right, left Germany in 1935, after it became illegal for Herzberg to teach in German universities since his wife was Jewish. The Herzbergs learned about Saskatoon after Dr. John W. T. Spinks, a visiting scientist from the University of Saskatchewan, traveled to Germany in 1934. Dr. Spinks worked at Dr. Herzberg’s laboratory in Darmstadt, Germany. Due to the severity of the Depression, there was a lack of funding at many Canadian universities, despite this issue, the President of the University of Saskatchewan at the time, Dr. Walter C. Murray, wrote to the National Research Council of Canada and the University of Toronto to look for positions for Dr. Herzberg. Dr. Murray was able to secure funding from the Carnegie Foundation and Dr. Herzberg became a guest professor at the University of Saskatchewan in 1935. Dr. Herzberg became a research professor in the Department of Physics and lived with his family in Saskatoon for ten years.

Commemorative plaque at University of Saskatchewan Commemorative plaque at University of Saskatchewan | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Dr. Herzberg then left Canada in 1945 to become a professor of spectroscopy and further pursue his interest in astronomy at the Yerkes Observatory of the University of Chicago, but in 1948 he returned to Canada and would eventually become the Director of Physics at the National Research Council. Dr. Herzberg’s laboratory in Ottawa was a site for innovation and training new generations of young scientists. Herzberg went on to give a number of lectures in the U.S. and Europe and was awarded many medals and awards, such as the Honour of Canada, while also receiving honorary degrees from a number of Canadian and international universities.

Herzberg was the first Canadian to win a Nobel Prize in either of the increasing related fields of chemistry and physics. Both the Herzberg plaque and Nobel Plaza at the University of Saskatchewan commemorate and celebrate the achievements of the scientist. In the Physics building on campus there is a permanent collection documenting Dr. Herzberg’s time in the department. While the city of Saskatoon also paid tribute to the scientist with the naming of Dr. Gerhard Herzberg Park. Both the city and the University commemorate this Nobel Prize winning German-Canadian scientist who lived in Saskatoon with his family for over ten years and contributed immensely to its scientific community.

 Website of the NSERC
 Website of the University of Saskatchewan

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

Der Nobelpreisträger für Chemie

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg war ein gefeierter deutsch-kanadischer Chemiker und Begründer des Forschungsfeldes der Molekülspektroskopie. Berühmt geworden ist Herzberg aufgrund des Nobelpreises für Chemie, der ihm „für seinen Beitrag zum Wissen über elektronische Struktur und Geometrie“ 1971 verliehen wurde.

Dr. Herzberg wurde am 25.Dezember 1904 in Hamburg in Deutschland geboren. Er studierte Ingenieurwesen an der Technischen Universität Darmstadt. 1927 erhielt er seinen Hochschulabschluss und promovierte ein Jahr später. Er und seine Frau Luise, selbst eine Astrophysikerin, verließen Deutschland 1935, nachdem es Herzberg verboten worden war, an deutschen Hochschulen zu unterrichten, da seine Frau Jüdin war. Die Herzbergs erfuhren von Saskatoon durch Dr. John W. T. Spinks, ein Gastforscher der Universität Saskatchewan, der 1934 nach Deutschland gereist war und in Dr. Herzbergs Labor in Darmstadt gearbeitet hatte. Aufgrund der schweren Wirtschaftskrise standen kanadischen Universitäten finanzielle Förderungsmittel zwar nur beschränkt zur Verfügung, aber der damalige Präsident der Universität Saskatchewan, Dr. Walter C. Murray, schrieb dem „National Research Council of Canada“ (NRC) und der Universität Toronto mit der Bitte, nach einer Stellung für Dr. Herzog zu suchen. Dr. Murray gelang es dann, eine Förderung der Carnegie Stiftung zu sichern und Dr. Herzberg wurde 1935 Gastprofessor an der Universität Saskatchewan. Dort erhielt er infolgedessen 10 Jahre lang eine Forschungsprofessur und lebte mit seiner Familie in Saskatoon.

Gedenktafel an der Universität Saskatchewan Gedenktafel an der Universität Saskatchewan | © Goethe-Institut Montreal 1945 verließ Dr. Herzberg Kanada, um Professor für Spektroskopie zu werden und sein Interesse an Astronomie am Yerkes Observatorium der Universität Chicago zu vertiefen, aber 1948 kehrte er wieder nach Kanada zurück, wo er schließlich Direktor für Physik des NRC wurde. Sein Labor in Ottawa war ein Innovationsstandort, an dem Generationen junger Wissenschaftler ausgebildet wurden. Zudem hielt Herzberg eine Reihe an Vorlesungen in den USA und Europa und bekam viele Orden und Preise verliehen, zum Beispiel die Ehrenwürde Kanadas oder auch Ehrendoktorwürden zahlreicher kanadischer und internationaler Universitäten. Herzberg war außerdem der erste Kanadier, der einen Nobelpreis in Chemie und Physik verliehen bekam.

Die Herzberg Gedenktafel sowie die Einrichtungen der Universität Saskatchewan erinnern an den Wissenschaftler und feiern seine Erfolge. Das Physik-Gebäude auf dem Universitätscampus beherbergt beispielsweise eine Dauerausstellung, die Herzbergs Zeit an der Fakultät dokumentiert. Auch die Stadt Saskatoon zollt dem Wissenschaftler Anerkennung und hat einen Park nach diesem benannt. Sowohl die Stadt als auch die Universität gedenken diesem deutsch-kanadischen Nobelpreisträger, der über ein Jahrzehnt in Saskatoon verbrachte und einen enormen Beitrag innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft geleistet hat.
     
 Webseite des NSERC
 Webseite der Universität Saskatchewan