Egg Money Sculpture

  • Egg Money Sculpture in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Egg Money Sculpture in Saskatoon
  • Sign of „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Sign of „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon
  • Egg Money Sculpture in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Egg Money Sculpture in Saskatoon

Egg Money Sculpture

Located at the Saskatoon Farmers Market at River Landing, along the South Saskatchewan River, the Egg Money sculpture pays tribute to pioneer women in the early history of Saskatchewan. This artwork is crafted from bronze and was created by the artists Shirley and Don Begg of the Studio West Bronze Foundry in Cochrane, Alberta. The sculpture portrays a woman with two children beside a cream can and several chickens afoot that they are all feeding.

The original intent of this project was to pay tribute to early settler women in Saskatchewan and to acknowledge that these “unsung heroes” deserve more recognition for their contributions towards building Saskatchewan. The life of these women was “life-giving and life-sustaining in the face of isolation, loneliness, hardship and unending labour”.

In 2005, Saskatchewan’s centennial year, a small group of men and women of German heritage met in Saskatoon to plan a German Days celebration to be held in fall of that year. This was to be the first such celebration since 1932. It was then that the idea was born to support a project specifically focusing on honouring the little acknowledged role of women in settling Saskatchewan and creating a province which was heavily focused and invested in agriculture.

To fund the sculpture, 24 families came forward in support of the project and provided the name of their family pioneer woman. They represent 10 different nationalities (American, British, French, German, Hungarian, Norwegian, Russian, Scottish, Swedish and Ukrainian). Ellen Remai of the Frank and Ellen Remai Foundation approached the committee, offering major sponsorship of the project. The Egg Money sculpture was unveiled on September 20, 2009.

With the sculpture in place, a group of four women now making up the “German Days Committee”, themselves immigrants from Germany and passionate about preserving the memories of these pioneer women, decided to complement the sculpture with a book also called “Egg Money”. The book is a collection of the stories of these 24 prairie women, recalled by their families. It is the hope of the group that parents and grandparents read the stories of these remarkable women to their children, perhaps while sitting on the benches by the statue and so instilling in them the memory, appreciation and gratitude of those who had gone before them. The former “German Days Committee” is now called “KulturGarten Saskatoon”.

 Additional information

Die „Egg Money Sculpture“
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

  • Die „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon
  • Schild der „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Schild der „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon
  • Die „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die „Egg Money Sculpture“ in Saskatoon

Die „Egg Money Sculpture“

Am Bauernmarkt im Stadtteil River Landing in Saskatoon, südlich des „Saskatchewan River“ gelegen, erinnert die „Egg Money Sculpture“ an die Pionierinnen der frühen Geschichte Sasketchewans. Dieses Kunstwerk besteht aus Bronze und wurde von den Künstlern Shirley und Don Begg des „West Bronze Foundry“ Studios in Cochrane (Alberta) angefertigt. Die Skulptur stellt eine mehrere Hühner fütternde Frau mit einer Milchkanne und zwei Kindern an ihrer Seite dar.

Die ursprüngliche Absicht dieses Projektes war es, den frühen Siedlerinnen Saskatchewans Tribut zu zollen und anzuerkennen, dass diese „unbesungenen Heldinnen“ mehr Anerkennung für ihren Beitrag zur Stadtbildung verdient haben. Das Leben dieser Frauen war „lebensspendend und lebenserhaltend angesichts der Isolation, Einsamkeit, des Elends und der endlosen Arbeit“.

2005, dem Jubiläumsjahr Saskatchewans, traf sich eine kleine Gruppe von Frauen und Männern deutscher Herkunft in Saskatoon, um die Feierlichkeiten der im Herbst des besagten Jahres stattfindenden Deutschland-Tage zu planen. Dies war die erste Feierlichkeit dieser Art seit 1932. So kam es zu der Idee der Unterstützung eines Projektes, das sich speziell auf die Ehrung der nur wenig beachteten Rolle der Frauen in Bezug auf die Besiedelung Saskatchewans und ihren Beitrag zur landwirtschaftlichen Entwicklung der Provinz konzentriert.

Um die Skulptur zu finanzieren, boten 24 Familien ihre Unterstützung an und stellten auch die Namen der Pionierinnen ihrer Familie bereit. Diese repräsentieren 10 verschiedene Nationalitäten (Amerika, Großbritannien, Frankreich, Ungarn, Norwegen, Russland, Schottland, Schweden und Ukraine). Ellen Remai von der „Frank and Ellen Remai Foundation“ kam auf das Komitee zu und bot dem Bürgermeister eine finanzielle Förderung an. So wurde die „Egg Money Sculpture“ am 20.September 2009 enthüllt.

Mit der Skulptur an ihrem Platz, entschloss sich eine Gruppe von vier Frauen, die heute das Komitee der Deutschland-Tage („German Days Committee“) bilden und selbst Immigranten aus Deutschland sind, dazu, die Skulptur mit einem Buch, das ebenfalls den Titel „Egg Money“ trägt, zu ergänzen. Das Buch beinhaltet eine Sammlung an Geschichten zu 24 Pionierfrauen, erzählt von ihren Familien. Die Gruppe hofft, dass Eltern und Großeltern ihren Kindern und Enkeln die Geschichten dieser bemerkenswerten Frauen vorlesen, vielleicht sogar auf den Bänken neben der Statue sitzend, um ihnen ein Gefühl der Dankbarkeit und Anerkennung gegenüber ihren Vorfahren zu vermitteln. Das ehemalige Komitee der Deutschland-Tage („German Days Committee“) heißt jetzt „KulturGarten Saskatoon“.

 Mehr Informationen