Cathedral of the Holy Family

  • Cathedral of the Holy Family in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Cathedral of the Holy Family in Saskatoon
  • Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon

Cathedral of the Holy Family

Established in 2011, the 28.5 million dollar project of the Cathedral of the Holy Family is unique for being both the first Roman Catholic cathedral to be built in Canada in over 50 years, while it is also the first cathedral in North America to integrate solar cells into its windows.

High on the South side of the cathedral the installation “Lux Gloria” (Light of Glory) by the Canadian artist Sarah Hall consists of three windows, 54 panels, and 1113 hand soldered silver solar cells. Saskatoon, as the sunniest city in Canada, has almost 2,400 sun hours a year, making it an ideal place to foster this technology. The solar cells in this installation, using photovoltaic technology, are able to generate 2500kw of electricity annually, or enough to power about five homes. The 65,000 sq. foot cathedral is a site of sustainability and scientific innovation. Hall’s work can also be viewed in the interior of the cathedral in the main sanctuary and the spire of the cathedral.

Sarah Hall’s artistic design for this project was fabricated at the internationally renowned “Glasmalerei Peters Studios” in the Northwest town of Paderborn, Germany. “Glasmalerei Studios” were founded more than one hundred years ago by Otto Peters.

Otto Peters was born in 1875 in the Lower Rhine, which at this time was the centre of stained glass techniques and craft in Germany. Peters trained as a glass painter and in 1912 founded his workshop in Paderborn. Despite the strife of two major world wars, Peters was able to keep his studio alive and today it is a third and fourth generation family business.

Sarah Hall fabricates her art glass projects exclusively in Germany, and has worked with solar art windows in Germany for many years. Wilhelm Peters and two artisans from the “Glasmalerei Studios” were present in Saskatoon, helping with the wiring, connections, and installation of “Lux Gloria”. Considered a culturally and architecturally significant piece, the American Institute of Architects awarded Hall recognition in 2014 for ”Lux Gloria” as a landmark design through its use of photovoltaic cells as part of its artistic expression. “Lux Gloria” pays tribute to prairie skies through its use of red, orange, blues, and white, while the fabrication and technique of the piece allude to the history of glass painting and the German studio`s technical, scientific, and artistic merit.

Cathedral Virtual Tour
Cathedral of the Holy Family
“Lux Gloria” Project
Sarah Hall Portfolio

Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

  • Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon
  • Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie in Saskatoon

Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie

Das 28,5-Millionen-Dollar-Projekt der 2011 errichteten Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie ist einzigartig, denn es ist der erste Bau einer römisch-katholischen Kathedrale in Kanada seit über 50 Jahren. Außerdem ist es die erste Kathedrale Nordamerikas mit Solarzellen, die in die Fenster integriert sind.

Im südlichen Teil der Kathedrale befindet sich hoch oben die Installation der kanadischen Künstlerin Sarah Hall. Sie besteht aus drei Fenstern, 54 Paneelen und 11.113 von Hand gelöteten silbernen Solarzellen. Als die sonnigste Stadt Kanadas hat Saskatoon fast 2400 Sonnenstunden pro Jahr und ist somit der ideale Ort, um Solar-Technologie zu fördern. Unter Verwendung von Fotovoltaik können die Solarzellen der Installation jährlich 2500kw generieren, was genug Energie wäre, um 5 Haushalte zu versorgen. Die 65.000 Quadratmeter große Kathedrale ist ein Ort der Nachhaltigkeit und wissenschaftlichen Innovation. Halls Werk kann im Altarraum im Inneren der Kathedrale und in der Turmspitze besichtigt werden. 

Sarah Halls Design für dieses Projekt wurde von den international renommierten „Glasmalerei Peters Studios“ in der nordwestlichen Stadt Paderborn in Deutschland angefertigt. Die „Glasmalerei Studios“ wurden vor über 100 Jahren von Otto Peters gegründet.

Otto Peters kam 1875 im Niederrhein, einer Region, die zu dieser Zeit ein Zentrum der Glasmalerei und des Glashandwerks in Deutschland war, zur Welt. Er wurde zum Glasmaler ausgebildet und gründete 1912 seine Werkstatt in Paderborn. Trotz des Unfriedens zweier Weltkriege konnte er sein Studio erhalten, das heute von der dritten und vierten Familiengeneration weitergeführt wird.

Sarah Hall hat ihre Glaskunst ausschließlich in Deutschland angefertigt und dort jahrelang mit Solarenergie-Fenstern gearbeitet. Wilhelm Peters und zwei Künstler der „Glasmalerei Studios“ waren in Saskatoon vor Ort, um bei dem Aufbau der Installation „Lux Gloria“ zu helfen. Aufgrund der Verwendung von Fotovoltaikzellen als Teil künstlerischen Ausdrucks bezeichnete das „American Institute of Architects“ dieses als kulturell und archietektonisch bedeutend geltende Werk 2014 als Meilenstein des Designs. „Lux Gloria“ spielt durch die Verwendung der Farben Rot, Orange, Blau und Weiß auf die Färbung des Himmels der Prärie an und die Technik erinnert an die Geschichte der Glasmalerei sowie den Beitrag des deutschen Studios.

 Virtuelle Tour der Kathedrale
 Die Solarfenster der Kathedrale
 “Lux Gloria” Project
 Sarah Halls Portfolio