Labatt’s Garden

  • Labatt’s Garden in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Labatt’s Garden in Saskatoon
  • Labatt’s Garden in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Labatt’s Garden in Saskatoon

Labatt’s Garden

It all started when John Hoeschen and several other businessmen formed the German-American Land Company. They bought land 70 miles east of Saskatoon in 1902 to sell as homesteads.

The Canadian National, Canadian Pacific, and the Grand Trunk railways all met in Saskatoon and at that point in time there were no breweries in the province, which meant it was a great business opportunity for a land developer such as Hoeschen. He and other investors came together and raised $100,000 to build a brewery in Canada. But the question was where to build the brewery. This is why a party of four men went on an expedition and found that Saskatoon was the perfect location for their new endeavor. On October 6, 1904 the Weekly Phoenix reported: “They liked Saskatoon, the land required was a reasonable price, and the railroads had promised a siding.”

The land for the brewery was bought for $4,500 and was located on the South Saskatchewan River. “We have plenty of land, excellent drainage, and an unlimited supply of water. Besides, we are conveniently located for a railway siding” Hoeschen said after the contact had been signed. Work on the brewery started immediately and was completed in the fall of 1907, with the official opening in March 1908 after several setbacks with the equipment. The official name of the brewery was Hoeschen-Wentzler Brewing Company Ltd.

Even though Horschen was the acting president of the brewery, his friend Fred Wentzler and Hoeschen’s son Ben took on running the Brewery. Wentzler was born in Germany in 1866 and received his education in brewing in the United States, where his family operated a brewery.

By 1912 the name had changed to the Saskatoon Brewing Company and by 1973 it had been taken over by the Labatt's Brewing Company. The brewery ceased production in May, 1993 and the building was demolished later that year. All that remains now is the “Labatt’s Garden”, where the brewery once stood.

Der „Labatt’s Garden“
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

  • Der „Labatt’s Garden“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der „Labatt’s Garden“ in Saskatoon
  • Der „Labatt’s Garden“ in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der „Labatt’s Garden“ in Saskatoon

Der „Labatt’s Garden“

Alles begann mit der Gründung der „German-American Land Company“ durch John Hoeschen und einige andere Geschäftsleute. Diese kauften 1902 Ländereien 70 Meilen östlich von Saskatoon, um diese zur Besiedelung zu verkaufen.

Die drei Eisenbahnlinien des „Canadian National“, des „Canadian Pacific“ und des „Grand Trunk“ kreuzten sich in Saskatoon und zu diesem Zeitpunkt gab es noch keine Brauereien in der Provinz, was für Grundstückseigentümer wie Hoeschen eine große Geschäftsmöglichkeit darstellte. Er und andere Investoren schlossen sich zusammen und brachten 100.000 Dollar auf, um eine Brauerei in Kanada zu errichten. Die Frage war jedoch, wo diese Brauerei gebaut werden sollte. Aus diesem Grund unternahm eine Gruppe von vier Männern eine Expedition und erkor Saskatoon als den perfekten Standort für ihre Bestrebungen. Am 6.Oktober 1904 berichtete der „Weekly Phoenix“ Folgendes: „Sie mochten Saskatoon, das erforderliche Land war von einem vernünftigen Preis und die Eisenbahn versprach ein Rangiergleis.“

Das Grundstück für die Brauerei wurde um 4.500 Dollar gekauft und befand sich südlich des „Saskatchewan River“. „Wir haben sehr viel Land, ein hervorragendes Entwässerungssystem und eine unbegrenzte Wasserversorgung. Außerdem sind wir günstig für ein Rangiergleis gelegen“, sagte Hoeschen, nachdem der Vertrag unterschrieben worden war. Sofort wurde mit den Bauarbeiten begonnen, die im Herbst 1907 abgeschlossen wurden, und die Brauerei wurde, nach einigen Rückschlägen, im März 1908 eröffnet. Der offizielle Name der Brauerei war „Hoeschen–Wentzler Brewing Company Ltd“.

Obwohl Hoeschen amtierender Präsident war, übernahmen sein Freund Wentzler und sein Sohn Ben die Führung der Brauerei. Wentzler wurde 1866 in Deutschland geboren und erhielt seine Ausbildung im Brauwesen in den USA, wo seine Familie eine Brauerei betrieb.

Bis 1912 wurde die Brauerei unter dem Namen „Saskatoon Brewing Company” geführt und 1973 wurde sie von der „Labatt’s Brewing Company“ übernommen. Die Brauerei stellte die Produktion im Mai 1993 ein und das Gebäude wurde ein Jahr später abgerissen. Der „Labatt’s Garden“, der sich dort befindet, wo einst die Brauerei stand, ist alles, was heute noch bleibt.