Armories on Idylwyld

The canon at Hugh Cairns Armoury

Located at the Hugh Cairns Armoury is a 15 cm “Kanone” 16 or 15 cm K 16 for short. The canon is missing its wheel carriage and is therefore mounted on a barrel transporter carriage. It was in service from 1917 to 1945 and could fire shells up to 22 kilometers in distance.

It was donated to the City of Saskatoon by the Canadian Government in 1919. Documentation from the Saskatoon City Archives reveals that in July 1920, the City Clerk asked the Director of War Trophies for some of these pieces to be sent to Saskatoon. Lieut. Col. A.G. Douglas replied and said that two guns were being shipped to Saskatoon. By 1927, this gun was located at the Saskatoon Exhibition grounds, and then in 1978 it was moved to the Armory on Idylwyld.

The canon K16 The canon K16 | © Goethe-Institut Montreal The 15 cm K 16 was a heavy field gun used by Germany in World War I and World War II. Guns turned over to Belgium as reparations after World War I were taken into Wehrmacht - the unified armed forces of Germany from 1935 to 1945 and served after the conquest of Belgium as the 15 cm K 429(b). It generally was used on coast-defense duties during World War II.

The designer of the canon was Friedrich Krupp AG, now known as ThyssenKrupp AG. It was one of Europe’s largest companies early in the 20th century. The company played an important role in the realm of weapon development and production during World War I and II. For 400 years Krupp flourished as the premier weapons manufacturer for Germany. From the start of the Thirty Years' War until the end of the Second World War, they manufactured everything from battleships, to U-boats, tanks, howitzers and guns, among many other things.

Das Waffenarsenal von Idylwyld
Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

Die Kanone im Waffenarsenal von Idylwyld

Im Hugh Carins Waffenarsenal befindet sich eine 15-cm-Kanone 16 (kurz K 16). Die Kanone hat keine Räder mehr und ist nun an einem Transportwagen befestigt. Sie war von 1917 bis 1945 im Einsatz und konnte Schüsse in einer Entfernung von bis zu 22 Kilometern abfeuern. 

Die Kanone wurde 1919 von der kanadischen Regierung an die Stadt Saskatoon gespendet. Aus dem Archiv der Stadt geht hervor, dass ein städtischer Beamter den Direktor für Kriegstrophäen bat, einige dieser Stücke nach Saskatoon zu senden. Oberleutnant A. G. Douglas antwortete auf diese Bitte und ließ zwei Waffen nach Saskatoon schiffen. Bis 1927 befand sich eine dieser Waffen auf dem Ausstellungsgelände von Saskatoon und wurde dann 1978 in das Waffenarsenal von Idylwyld verlegt.

Die Kanone K16 Die Kanone K16 | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Die K 16 war eine schwere Feldwaffe, die Deutschland im Ersten und Zweiten Weltkrieg einsetzte. Nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg wurden Waffen als Reparationen an Belgien übergeben und von der Wehrmacht, den nationalsozialistischen Streitkräften in Deutschland von 1935 bis 1945, nach der Eroberung Belgiens als K 429(b) Waffen in Betrieb genommen.

Entworfen wurde die Kanone von der Friedrich Krupp AG (heute ThyssenKrupp AG), die im 20. Jahrhundert eines der größten Unternehmen Europas war und eine wichtige Rolle in der Entwicklung und Produktion von Waffen im Ersten und Zweiten Weltkrieg innehatte. 400 Jahre lang machte Krupp als führender deutscher Waffenhersteller ein florierendes Geschäft. Vom Beginn des Dreißigjährigen Krieges bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges produzierte Krupp alles, angefangen von Kriegsschiffen bis zu U-Boten, Panzern, Haubitzen und Waffen.