Berczy Park

  • Berczy Park in Toronto © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Berczy Park in Toronto
  • Fountain in Berczy Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Fountain in Berczy Park

Berczy Park

Wedged between two converging streets and tucked away behind the Gooderham Building, Toronto’s famous flatiron building, is the small, almost triangular Berczy Park. This little neighbourhood green space is named after William Berczy, one of the founders of Toronto.

Berczy was born Johann Albrecht Ulrich Moll in Bavaria, located in current-day southern Germany, in 1744. He grew up in Vienna and spent time in Italy and England, where he worked as a painter. While in England, he heard about the opportunity to settle and develop land in America. After recruiting peasants from northern Germany to assist in colonisation, Berczy moved with his colonists to Pennsylvania in 1792. Unfortunately, upon arrival, the land owners refused to provide Berczy and his settlers with the land and supplies they were promised, so they decided to try again in Upper Canada. John Graves Simcoe, often credited as the founder of Toronto, was Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada at the time. He felt the then-capital of Upper Canada, Niagara-on-the-Lake, was too close to the US-Canadian border considering possible hostility between the United States and Britain. Simcoe temporarily moved the capital to the north shore of Lake Ontario to a site he named ‘York’. This would eventually become Toronto, but was undeveloped wilderness when selected for its strategic location.

In 1794, Simcoe offered Berczy and his colonists a large land grant north of Toronto in what is now Markham. In exchange, they would do the work to establish the new town of York. As part of their agreement, Berczy and his group were given a year to build Yonge Street from the York area north to Lake Simcoe. In addition to clearing a large stretch of Yonge, the settlers built several of Toronto’s earliest houses, mills, and stores, as well as a bridge across the Don River. However, because of the number of projects and a shortage of supplies, they were unable to complete the agreed length of Yonge Street within the year. Simcoe demanded that the land in Markham be returned to the government because of their failure to finish the job on time.

After arguing his case to no avail, Berczy ended up moving to Montreal, where he restarted his painting career. He lost a lot of money in his colonisation efforts, so the last years of his life were difficult, but artistically he flourished. His portrait of the Mohawk leader Joseph Brant (c. 1807) hangs today in the National Gallery of Canada. In fact, he is often remembered more for his work in the arts than for his role in Toronto’s settlement. Berczy Park ensures his contributions to early Toronto are not forgotten.

 Painting of the Berczy family

Der Berczy Park
Deutsche Spuren in Toronto und Umgebung

  • Der Berczy Park in Toronto © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der Berczy Park in Toronto
  • Brunnen im Berczy Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Brunnen im Berczy Park

Der Berczy Park

Zwischen zwei zusammenlaufenden Straßen, versteckt hinter dem „Gooderham Building“, Torontos bekanntestem „flatiron building“, liegt der kleine, fast dreieckige Berczy Park. Diese kleine Grünfläche in der Innenstadt ist nach William Berczy, einem der Gründer Torontos, benannt.

Beczy wurde 1744 als Johann Albrecht Ulrich Moll in Bayern, im Süden Deutschlands geboren. Er wuchs in Wien auf und verbrachte auch Zeit in Italien und England, wo er als Maler arbeitete. In England hörte er von der Möglichkeit, sich in Amerika niederzulassen und dort Land zu erschließen. Nachdem Bauern aus Norddeutschland rekrutiert worden waren, um die Kolonialisierung voranzutreiben, zog Berczy mit einer Gruppe von Siedlern 1792 nach Pennsylvania. Unglücklicherweise verwehrten die Landbesitzer der Gruppe das Land und die Vorräte, die ihnen versprochen worden waren, und so entschieden sie, es im oberen Teil Kanadas erneut zu versuchen. Zu dieser Zeit war John Graves Simcoe, der oft als der Gründer Torontos bezeichnet wird, Leutnant dieses Teils des Landes. Er empfand, dass die damalige Hauptstadt Oberkanadas, Niagara-on-the-Lake, angesichts einer möglichen Feindschaft zwischen den USA und Großbritannien zu nahe an der amerikanisch-kanadischen Grenze lag. Simcoe verlegte die Hauptstadt zeitweilig an die Nordküste des Ontario Sees nach York. Aus diesem Ort wurde schließlich Toronto. Allerdings war York, als es zu einem strategischen Ort auserkoren wurde, noch ein Stück unbebaute Wildnis.

1794 bot Simcoe Beczy und seinen Siedlern ein großes Stück Land im Norden Torontos (im Gebiet des heutigen Markham) an. Im Gegenzug beteiligten sie sich am Aufbau der neuen Stadt York. Als Teil dieser Abmachung hatten Berczy und seine Gruppe ein Jahr Zeit, die „Younge Street“, die vom Norden Yorks bis zum Simcoe See führen sollte, zu bauen. Zusätzlich zu dieser Arbeit bauten die Siedler einige der ersten Häuser, Mühlen und Geschäfte Torontos sowie die Brücke über den Don River. Allerdings konnten sie die vereinbarte Frist zur Fertigstellung der Yonge Street aufgrund der hohen Anzahl an Projekten und des Mangels an Versorgungsgütern nicht einhalten. Wegen dieses Versagens seitens der Siedler forderte Simcoe die Rückgabe des Landes in Markham an die Regierung.

Nachdem er vergeblich seine Argumente hervorgebracht hatte, zog Berczy schließlich nach Montreal, wo er als Maler neu anfing. Durch seine Bestrebungen im Rahmen der Kolonialisierung hatte er viel Geld verloren und daher waren seine letzten Lebensjahre schwierig, aber er blühte künstlerisch auf. Sein Porträt des Anführers der Mohawk, Joseph Brant (circa 1807), hängt heute in der Nationalgalerie Kanadas. Tatsächlich erinnert man sich heute eher an seine künstlerische Arbeit als an seine Rolle innerhalb der Besiedelung Torontos. Mit dem Berczy Park wird sichergestellt, dass sein Beitrag zur frühen Geschichte Torontos nicht vergessen wird.

 Bild der Berczy Familie