The Joseph Schneider House

  • The Joseph Schneider Haus on Queen Street © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Joseph Schneider Haus on Queen Street
  • The Joseph Schneider Haus on Queen Street © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Joseph Schneider Haus on Queen Street

One of the oldest buildings in Kitchener

Right next to Victoria Park in downtown Kitchener is one of the city’s top museums, the “Schneider Haus”. Also called the “Joseph Schneider Haus”, this homestead dates from 1816 and is the oldest surviving building in Kitchener.

The property includes a farmhouse, three outbuildings, and a garden, and is a living museum dedicated to recreating life in mid-19th century Kitchener. Staff dressed in period clothing work around the house, demonstrating tasks like cooking and sewing using tools that would have been familiar to the inhabitants in 1856.

Joseph and Barbara Schneider, the original owners of the house, were some of the first non-Aboriginal settlers in the area. The Schneiders were Mennonites, a religious group originally from Germany and the Netherlands who are traditionally pacifists. Joseph Schneider was born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in 1772 to German parents, and he married Barbara Schneider, née Eby, in 1798. Lancaster County today has the largest Amish settlement in the world and still has a fairly large population of Mennonites, but in the years following the American Revolution, many of the Mennonites living in Pennsylvania wanted to remain under British rule. The current-day Waterloo region had inexpensive land and was relatively remote, so the German-speaking Mennonites could continue to practice their religion and language. In 1807, a group of Mennonites including the Schneiders moved to what is now Kitchener.

Joseph Schneider contributed a lot to the early settlement, and is seen as one of the founders of Kitchener, along with his brother-in-law Benjamin Eby. He assisted in building the first road in the area, hiring a teacher for the first local school, and constructing the town's first Mennonite meeting house, among other things. In 1816, not only did he build the “Schneider Haus”, he also built a sawmill. The creek it was located on what is still called Schneider Creek. The Schneiders were central figures in developing the community, and their son Joseph Eby Schneider continued to work at the sawmill and on their farm after their death. "Schneider Haus" is set up to represent life for this second generation in Kitchener.

Kitchener-Waterloo and the surrounding region still have a significant Mennonite population, as evidenced by Mennonite stores and churches in the cities and their farms dotting the countryside. Near Waterloo is the St. Jacob's Market, the largest farmer's market in Canada, where visitors can buy Mennonite products and produce. The “Schneider Haus” commemorates some of the first members of this founding community of Kitchener-Waterloo.

Das Schneider Haus
Deutsche Spuren in Toronto und Umgebung

  • Das Joseph Schneider Haus in der Queen Street © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Joseph Schneider Haus in der Queen Street
  • Das Joseph Schneider Haus in der Queen Street © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Joseph Schneider Haus in der Queen Street

Eines der ältesten Gebäude in Kitchener

Gleich neben dem Victoria Park in der Innenstadt von Kitchener befindet sich eines der besten Museen der Stadt: das Schneider Haus. Es wird auch Joseph Schneider Haus genannt, wurde 1816 erbaut und zählt zu den ältesten Gebäuden in Kitchener.

Zu dem Anwesen, das heute als „lebendes Museum“ das Leben in der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in Kitchener darstellt, gehören ein Bauernhaus, drei Nebengebäude und ein Garten. Die Museumsmitarbeiter tragen Arbeitskleidung aus dieser Epoche und zeigen häusliche Tätigkeiten wie Kochen und Nähen unter Verwendung authentischer Werkzeuge von 1856.

Joseph und Barbara Schneider, die eigentlichen Besitzer des Hauses, gehörten zu den ersten Siedlern der Region. Die Schneiders waren Angehörige der Mennoniten, einer religiösen Gruppe aus Deutschland und den Niederlanden, die traditionell pazifistisch ausgerichtet ist. Joseph Schneider hatte deutsche Eltern und wurde 1772 in Lancaster County in Pennsylvania geboren. 1798 heiratete er Barbara Eby. Heute befindet sich in Lancaster County die weltweit größte Ansiedlung von Amischen und auch der Anteil von Mennoniten in der Bevölkerung ist hoch. In den folgenden Jahren der Amerikanischen Revolution wollten viele der in Pennsylvania lebenden Mennoniten weiter unter britischer Herrschaft leben. Das Land der heutigen Region Waterloos war damals noch abgeschieden und preisgünstig. Dort konnten die deutschsprachigen Mennoniten ihre Sprache und Religion weiterhin ausüben. 1807 siedelte eine Gruppe von Mennoniten, unter ihnen auch die Schneiders, in das heutige Kitchener über.

Joseph Schneider leistete einen großen Beitrag zur frühen Besiedlung der Region und wird, zusammen mit seinem Schwager Benjamin Eby, als einer der Gründer Kitcheners angesehen. Unter anderem unterstütze er den Bau der ersten Straße in der Region, stellte den ersten Lehrer für die örtliche Schule an und baute das erste Versammlungszentrum für die mennonitische Gemeinde. 1816 baute er nicht nur das Schneider Haus, sondern auch ein Sägewerk an einem Bach, der heute „Schneider Creek" heißt. Die Schneiders spielten eine zentrale Rolle in der Entwicklung der Gemeinde und ihr Sohn Joseph setzte auch nach ihrem Tod die Arbeit im Sägewerk und auf ihrem Bauernhof fort. Das Schneider Haus ist auf die Darstellung des Lebens dieser zweiten Siedlergeneration in Kitchener ausgerichtet.

Die mennonitischen Geschäfte und Kirchen in den Städten und die Bauernhöfe auf dem Land verweisen darauf, dass Kitchener-Waterloo und die angrenzenden Regionen noch immer von vielen Mennoniten bewohnt werden. In der Nähe von Waterloo liegt beispielsweise der St. Jacob’s Market, einer der größten Bauernmärkte Kanadas, auf dem man von Mennoniten hergestellte Produkte kaufen kann. Das Schneider Haus erinnert an die ersten Mitglieder dieser Gemeinschaft und die Gründung Kitchener-Waterloos.