The Kitchener City Hall

The second-biggest Oktoberfest in the world

The twin cities of Kitchener and Waterloo have had significant German presence since their founding. Visitors to the area can see signs of this heritage throughout, such as German clubs and restaurants, but the time of year when this history shines through the most is October. Every year, Kitchener-Waterloo puts on a nine-day Oktoberfest celebration. The Kitchener-Waterloo festival sees over 700,000 visitors annually and is the second-biggest Oktoberfest in the world, after the one in Munich, the original home of the fall festival.

Oktoberfest was started in 1810, when Crown Prince Ludwig of Bavaria married Princess Therese of Saxe-Hildburghausen. The citizens of Munich were invited to join in the festivities celebrating the royal marriage, which lasted five days and included horse races. These races were made into an annual event, which was combined with an agricultural show the following year. This grew into the Oktoberfest of today, which is celebrated around the world. 

The Kitchener City Hall The Kitchener City Hall | © Goethe-Institut Montreal The Kitchener City Hall The Kitchener City Hall | © Goethe-Institut Montreal The Kitchener-Waterloo Oktoberfest had somewhat smaller beginnings, but has also grown in prominence. The Concordia Club, Kitchener-Waterloo’s oldest German club, put on an Oktoberfest event for its members in 1967 to mark Canada’s centennial. The first event attracted 2,500 visitors, and when the club organized celebrations for a second year, that number grew to 4,000. This showed the potential for a city-wide festival, so in 1969 organizers worked with the area’s German clubs to hold the first Kitchener-Waterloo Oktoberfest. It was an immediate success with 70,000 participants, and it continues to be one of the region’s biggest events. The German clubs continue to join in by hosting “Festhallen”, where attendees can eat, drink, and mingle. There are also sporting events, concerts, a parade, and more.

Every year, the opening ceremonies for the Kitchener-Waterloo Oktoberfest take place at Carl-Zehr-Square in front of Kitchener City Hall. The ceremonies include a keg-tapping to officially start the festival. In past years, this job has been done by the Ontario premier and the Canadian prime minister, among others. Even when it’s not the season of Oktoberfest, you can still see evidence of the area’s German heritage around City Hall. Near its front entrance, there is a 44 foot long art piece by Kitchener artist Marshall Ward. This piece consists of bronze casts of 2,000 thumbprints, 1,000 taken from Kitchener residents and 1,000 from Berlin residents. This installation represents the history and friendship shared between the two cities.

 Website of the Oktoberfest in Kitchener-Waterloo

Das Rathaus in Kitchener
Deutsche Spuren in Toronto und Umgebung

Das zweitgrößte Oktoberfest der Welt

Die als „twin cities“ bezeichneten Städte Kitchener und Waterloo weisen eine hohe Präsenz des Deutschen auf. Die Besucher können überall Zeichen dieses deutschen Erbes sehen, wobei besonders im Oktober die deutsche Geschichte der beiden Städte sichtbar ist. Jedes Jahr veranstaltet Kitchener-Waterloo ein neuntägiges Oktoberfest, das mit über 700.000 jährlichen Besuchern nach dem berühmten Münchner Oktoberfest das zweitgrößte Oktoberfest der Welt ist.

Das Oktoberfest wurde 1810 initiiert, als der bayrische Kronprinz Ludwig die Prinzessin Therese von Sachsen-Hildburghausen heiratete. Die Bürger Münchens wurden im Rahmen der königlichen Hochzeit zu einem Fest eingeladen. Diese Feierlichkeiten dauerten 5 Tage und es wurden sogar Pferderennen veranstaltet. Diese Rennen wurden zu einem jährlich stattfindenden Ereignis, zu dem im darauffolgenden Jahr auch eine Landwirtschaftsmesse hinzukam. Dies sind die Ursprünge des Oktoberfestes, das heute weltweit gefeiert wird.

Das Rathaus in Kitchener Das Rathaus in Kitchener | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Die Anfänge des Oktoberfests in Kitchener-Waterloo waren zwar kleiner, aber es hat an Bedeutung gewonnen. Der älteste deutsche Verein in Kitchener-Waterloo, der Concordia Club, veranstaltete 1967 ein Oktoberfest, um mit seinen Mitgliedern das 100-jährige Bestehen Kanadas zu feiern. Die erste Veranstaltung hatte 2500 Besucher und im Folgejahr besuchten sogar 4000 Menschen das Oktoberfest des Concordia Clubs. Diese Zahlen gaben Anlass, das Fest auszuweiten und so kam es 1969 zur Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Veranstaltern und lokalen Deutschverbänden, um gemeinsam das erste Kitchener-Waterloo Oktoberfest zu organisieren. Das Fest wurde mit 70.000 Besuchern ein Erfolg und ist auch heute nach wie vor eine der größten Veranstaltungen in der Region. Die Deutschverbände sind weiterhin als Gastgeber der sogenannten „Festhallen“, in denen die Besucher essen, trinken und sich unter die Leute mischen, vertreten. Außerdem gibt es im Rahmen des Oktoberfests auch Sportveranstaltungen, Konzerte, eine Parade und vieles mehr.

Jedes Jahr finden die Eröffnungsfeierlichkeiten auf dem Carl-Zehr-Platz vor dem Rathaus in Kitchener statt, wo zum Beispiel traditionell das erste Bier angezapft wird. Die Spuren des deutschen Erbes um das Rathaus herum kann man auch zu anderen Anlässen entdecken. In der Nähe des Haupteingangs gibt es beispielsweiße ein circa 13 Meter langes Kunstwerk des örtlichen Künstlers Marshall Ward. Es besteht aus Bronzegüssen von 2000 Daumenabdrücken, die von 1000 Bewohnern Kitcheners und 1000 Berlinern stammen. Diese Kunstinstallation repräsentiert die Geschichte und Freundschaft, die diese zwei Städte miteinander verbindet.

 Website des Oktoberfests in Kitchener-Waterloo