The sculpture of Sir Adam Beck

Adam Beck, child of German immigrants

The Adam Beck Memorial in downtown Toronto commemorates Sir Adam Beck, the founder of the Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario. Beck was born in Baden, Ontario in 1857 to German immigrant parents. 

In the earlier part of his life, he worked primarily in business – first in his father’s foundry, then running a cigar-box manufactory with his brother William in what is now Cambridge, Ontario. In 1884, they moved the business to London, Ontario, the centre of the provincial cigar industry. London became Beck’s base until his death.

Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto | © Goethe-Institut Montreal After getting married in 1898, Beck became much more involved in public life, eventually turning over management of his business to his other brother Jacob. He ran for mayor of London in 1902 and won, remaining mayor until 1904. His time as mayor was marked by reform, and he was quite a popular politician, becoming MPP of London as well. As mayor, he became aware of the possibility of Niagara Falls as a source of hydroelectric power. Feeling that no company should profit at the expense of the public from control over this power source, Beck advised the province to generate and sell power itself. This suggestion ended up being implemented and Beck was made the chairman of the new Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the world’s first publicly owned utility. To this day, hydroelectricity is a major source of power in Ontario.
 
Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Not only was Adam Beck the son of German immigrants, but the sculptor of this monument, Emmanuel Hahn, was also German. Hahn was born in Reutlingen in southwest Germany in 1881. He immigrated with his family to Toronto in 1888, where he grew up.
After studying modelling and commercial design in Toronto, he moved to Stuttgart for three years, where he further studied art and design and apprenticed with a sculptor. He moved back to Toronto in 1906, where he spent the rest of his life.

Hahn’s reputation as a sculptor grew particularly after World War I, when he established himself with his designs for war memorials. He won the 1925 competition to design Winnipeg’s cenotaph commemorating its dead after the First World War. Unfortunately, the public protested the commission going to someone of German origins, so Hahn was paid for his work and a second contest was held to find another design. This controversy served to bring Hahn to national attention, and in 1929 he won the competition for the Adam Beck Memorial, which ended up being his most important monumental project. However, even if you have never seen this memorial, you have almost certainly seen some of Hahn’s work. He was also a coin designer, and his designs for the Caribou quarter and the Bluenose dime are still being minted to this day.

Die Skulptur von Sir Adam Beck
Deutsche Spuren in Toronto und Umgebung

Adam Beck, ein Kind deutscher Immigranten

Das Adam Beck Denkmal in der Innenstadt Torontos erinnert an Sir Adam Beck, den Gründer der „Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario“. Beck wurde 1857 in Baden (Ontario) geboren und seine Eltern waren deutsche Immigranten.

In den frühen Jahren seines Lebens arbeitete er vorwiegend in Unternehmen – zuerst in der Gießerei seines Vaters und dann betrieb er gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder William eine Zigarrenschachtel-Manufaktur im heutigen Cambridge in Ontario. 1884 verlegten die beiden ihr Geschäft nach London (Ontario), das als das Zentrum der Zigarrenindustrie der Provinz galt. Bis zu seinem Tod wurde London Becks Hauptwohnsitz.

 Das Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto Das Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Nachdem er 1898 geheiratet hatte, begann er mehr am öffentlichen Leben teilzunehmen und übergab die Geschäfte schließlich an seinen anderen Bruder Jacob. 1902 kandidierte er für das Amt des Bürgermeisters von London, gewann und blieb bis 1904 in diesem Amt. Seine Zeit als Bürgermeister zeichnet sich vor allem durch Reformen aus. Zudem war er ein relativ beliebter Politiker und wurde auch Mitglied der Provinzregierung. Als Bürgermeister wurde er auf die Möglichkeit, die Niagarafälle als Wasserkraft-Quelle zu nutzen, aufmerksam. Unter dem Eindruck, dass kein Unternehmen auf Kosten der Öffentlichkeit von der Kontrolle über diese Energiequelle profitieren sollte, empfahl Beck, dass die Provinz selbst diese Quelle nutzen und Energie verkaufen solle. Dieser Vorschlag wurde letztendlich umgesetzt und Beck wurde zum Vorsitzenden des ersten öffentlichen Versorgungsbetriebs der Welt, der „Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario“. Bis heute ist Hydroelektrizität eine der Hauptenergiequellen Ontarios.
 
 Das Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto Das Adam Beck Memorial in Toronto | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Nicht nur Adam Beck war der Sohn deutscher Einwanderer, sondern auch der Bildhauer des Denkmals selbst, Emmanuel Hahn. Hahn wurde 1881 in Reutlingen im Südwesten Deutschlands geboren. Mit seiner Familie wanderte er 1888 nach Toronto aus, wo er dann auch
aufwuchs. Nachdem er in Toronto Modellbau und kommerzielles Design studiert hatte, siedelte er für 3 Jahre nach Stuttgart über, wo er weiterhin Kunst und Design studierte und zum Bildhauer ausgebildet wurde. 1906 zog er zurück nach Toronto, wo er den Rest seines Lebens verbrachte.
 

Hahns Ansehen als Bildhauer wuchs besonders nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg, als er selbst Kriegsdenkmäler entwarf. 1925 gewann er den Wettbewerb für das Design des Kenotaphs in Winnipeg, ein Mahnmal zur Ehrung der im Ersten Weltkrieg Gefallenen. Die Öffentlichkeit protestierte jedoch gegen die Entscheidung der Kommission, jemanden mit deutscher Herkunft mit diesem Projekt zu beauftragen. Daher wurde Hahn zwar für seine Arbeit bezahlt, es wurde jedoch eine zweite Ausschreibung durchgeführt, um einen anderen Entwurf zu finden. Diese Kontroverse brachte Hahn nationale Aufmerksamkeit ein und 1929 gewann er den Wettbewerb für das Adam Beck Denkmal, das zu seinem wichtigsten monumentalen Projekt wurde. Sie sind dem Werk Hahns mit ziemlich hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit bereits begegnet. Er war nämlich auch Münzdesigner und seine Designs für die kanadischen 25-Cent-Müzen („Caribou quarter“) und 10-Cent-Münzen („Bluenose dime“) werden bis heute geprägt.