The Toronto Dominion Centre

  • The Toronto Dominion Centre © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Toronto Dominion Centre
  • The Dominion Centre in Toronto’s downtown © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Dominion Centre in Toronto’s downtown
  • The Dominion Centre in Toronto’s downtown © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The Dominion Centre in Toronto’s downtown

The Toronto Dominion Centre

In Toronto’s downtown banking district is a group of six office towers and a pavilion, together characterized by their straight lines and dark steel, which make up the Toronto Dominion Centre. The TD Centre is the global headquarters of the Toronto-Dominion Bank and rents out space to other businesses, but the buildings themselves can be just as interesting as what is inside them. Started in 1967, the TD Centre dramatically changed Toronto’s approach to both office buildings and the downtown core.

In the 60s, most of Toronto’s downtown buildings were grey stone and featured more classical elements, such as arched windows, columns, and gargoyles. The tallest of these old buildings was the Bank of Commerce at 36 stories. The TD Centre was a complete shock. Originally just two towers and the pavilion, the taller of the towers was 56 stories high. Instead of the design themes characteristic of its surrounding buildings, this new complex was the epitome of simplicity. Their facades were rigid lines of bronze-tinted glass and steel painted matte black. At first, some local politicians were skeptical of the buildings and felt they didn’t belong in Toronto, but they marked the beginning of the office tower boom in the downtown and it is now hard to imagine the area without them.

The designer of these influential structures, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, was born in Aachen in western Germany in 1886. Often referred to simply as Mies, he was one of the best-known architects of the 20th century and a pioneer of modernist architecture. His father was a mason and he grew up sometimes working on construction sites, but he never received any formal education in architecture. Instead, he started apprenticing with architects from the age of 15. By 21, he was awarded his first commission, a private house, which caught the eye of Peter Behrens, who was one of Germany’s most prominent architects at the time. Mies went to work for Behrens, where he started to develop his architectural style. He earned a reputation as a member of the modernist school and was appointed director of the Bauhaus school in 1930.

Mies moved to America in 1937, finding it difficult to work in the Germany of the 30s. It was in the U.S. that he started getting regular commissions for large-scale works, such as the Seagram Building in New York City. He became one of the undisputed leaders of minimalist architecture. When Mies was commissioned for the TD Centre, he was given almost complete free reign. He actually only designed the first two towers and the pavilion, as the remaining four towers were added later, but they were built to respect Mies’ original plan. His vision is still maintained today - visitors to the TD Centre can find bowls of yellow daisies in the lobbies, which was one of Mies’ design details.

 Video about the architecture of the TD Centre

Das Toronto Dominion Centre
Deutsche Spuren in Toronto und Umgebung

  • Das Toronto Dominion Centre © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Toronto Dominion Centre
  • Das Dominion Centre in der Innenstadt Torontos © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Dominion Centre in der Innenstadt Torontos
  • Das Dominion Centre in der Innenstadt Torontos © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Dominion Centre in der Innenstadt Torontos

Das Toronto Dominion Centre

In Torontos Bankenviertel gibt es sechs Bürogebäude, die mit ihren dunklen Stahltürmen und dem dazugehörigen Pavillon das Toronto Dominion Centre bilden. Das TD Centre ist die weltweite Konzernzentrale der Toronto-Dominion Bank, die diese Räume auch an andere Firmen vermietet. Die Gebäude sind architektonisch sehr interessant. Als das TD Centre 1967 erbaut wurde, veränderte es die gesamte Gestaltung von Bürogebäuden und der Innenstadt in Toronto.

In den 60er Jahren waren die meisten Gebäude der Innenstadt Torontos aus grauem Stein und mit eher klassischen Elementen, wie Rundbogenfenstern, Säulen und Wasserspeiern, versehen. Der Bau des TD Centre stellte für viele Anwohner einen Schock dar. Zunächst wurden lediglich der Pavillon und zwei Türme gebaut, von denen der höhere 56 Stockwerke umfasste. Im Gegensatz zur Architektur der anderen Gebäude stellte dieser neue Komplex den Innbegriff an Schlichtheit dar. Die Fassaden dieser Bauwerke bildeten starre Linien aus bronzefarbenem Glas und schwarzem, matt lackiertem Stahl. Anfänglich zeigten sich lokale Politiker noch skeptisch und hielten diese Bauten in Toronto für fehl am Platz. Heute ist die Innenstadt jedoch nur schwer ohne das TD Centre zu denken, da seine Gebäude den Beginn des Baubooms von Bürogebäuden und Türmen in Toronto markieren.

Der Designer dieser einflussreichen Bauwerke, Mies van der Rohe, wurde 1886 in Aachen geboren. Oft nur „Mies“ genannt, ist er einer der bekanntesten Architekten des 20. Jahrhunderts und ein Pionier moderner Architektur. Sein Vater war Steinmetz und so verbrachte er als Kind viel Zeit auf Baustellen. Eine formale Ausbildung in Architektur erhielt er jedoch nie. Stattdessen begann er im Alter von 15 Jahren bei verschiedenen Architekten in die Lehre zu gehen. Mit 21 erhielt er seinen ersten Auftrag. Er konzipierte ein Privathaus, das die Aufmerksamkeit des damals bekanntesten Architekten Deutschlands, Peter Behrens, erregte. Mies arbeitete daraufhin für Behrens und begann seinen eigenen architektonischen Stil zu entwickeln. Als Mitglied der Modernen Schule erwarb er einen guten Ruf und wurde 1930 zum Direktor der Bauhaus Schule ernannt.

1937 zog Mies nach Amerika, da er Schwierigkeiten hatte, im Deutschland der 30er Jahre Arbeit zu finden. In den USA erhielt er regelmäßig größere Aufträge, wie das Seagram Building in New York City. Er wurde zu einem der unbestrittensten Anführer minimalistischer Architektur. Als Mies mit dem Bau des TD Centre beauftragt wurde, ließ man ihm freie Hand. In Wirklichkeit entwarf er allerdings nur die ersten beiden Türme und den Pavillon, denn die vier weiteren Türme wurden später unter Berücksichtigung von Mies Originalplanes hinzugefügt. Bis heute wird seine Vision aufrechterhalten und die Besucher des „TD Centre“ können in der Eingangshalle Becken mit gelben Margeriten, eines der Details des für Mies typischen Designs, entdecken.

 Video zur Architektur des TD Centers