Baron Mackensen

Baron von Mackensen - (Not) One of the Kaiser’s Spies

In Port Kells (now a neighbourhood in Surrey, British Columbia), there is a house on the corner of 96 Ave. and 192 St. that is truly steeped in history. It was turned into a pub in 2005, and whoever stops here for a beer should take a look at the pictures on the walls. They show some of the history of the bar, which was originally the estate of a German baron.

Karl Mackensen von Astfeld, also called Carl von Mackensen, was born in 1878 in Strasbourg, which was part of Germany at the time. Carl was the nephew of the prominent Prussian Field Marshall General August von Mackensen. However, in his military career Carl only reached the rank of Second Lieutenant in the Landwehr cavalry. He left the army in 1904 and set off for Canada.

He settled in the community of Port Kells, where he gained a bit of wealth as a poultry farmer with his ‘Black, White and Red Poultry Farm’. In 1910, Carl bought a farmhouse and transformed it into a small “castle”, as his neighbours soon took to calling it. He even had a medieval tower built for his 16-room palace. The tower windows were decorated with his family crest, and old European paintings, swords, pistols, and muskets were hung on the walls. Carl was well-regarded in Port Kells because of his generosity. He invited the whole community over for presents on Christmas Eve, even providing everyone with food and drinks.

However, Carl travelled a lot between North America and Germany from 1910 to 1914, which raised suspicion among the residents of Port Kells. It seemed strange to them that the nephew of a field marshall general would raise poultry, give presents to the whole town, and regularly travel to his old homeland via the USA. He was suspected of being a spy and of smuggling his compatriots into the USA in order to save them from being interned in Canada. In 1915, when Carl flew the Kaiser’s flag from his tower after the outbreak of the First World War, the Canadian authorities arrested and imprisoned him.

„Baron’s Manor Pub” „Baron’s Manor Pub” | © Goethe-Institut Montreal All of his assets in Surrey were seized by the Office of the Custodian of Enemy Property, and from that point on, his house in Port Kells was considered a “spy house”. People came up with all sorts of wild stories: that there was a tunnel from his house to the Fraser river, that he used the tower as a radio transmitter, and that there were secret passages in the closets to hidden rooms. In 1918, after the end of the First World War, Carl von Mackensen was immediately deported to Germany without an explanation of the grounds. He tried several times to get his property back, but was unsuccessful. The baron, one of the Port Kells’ most colourful figures, finally died alone in Germany in 1967.

 Website

Baron Mackensen
Deutsche Spuren in Vancouver und Umgebung

Baron von Mackensen – (k)ein Spion des Kaisers

In Port Kells (Surrey, Britisch Kolumbien/BC) steht an der Ecke der 96. Avenue und der 192. Straße ein wahrhaft geschichtsträchtiges Haus. 2005 wurde es in ein Pub umgewandelt. Wer heute dort sein Bierchen schlürft, sollte einen Blick auf die Bilder an den Wänden werfen, denn diese Kneipe war einst das Anwesen eines deutschen Barons.

Karl Mackensen von Astfeld, auch Carl von Mackensen genannt, wurde 1878 in Straßburg geboren, das damals zu Deutschland gehörte. Carl war der Neffe des prominenten preußischen Generalfeldmarschalls August von Mackensen. Die militärische Karriere Carls reichte allerdings nur bis zum zweiten Leutnant in der Landwehr-Kavallerie. 1904 schied er aus der Armee aus und machte sich auf nach Kanada.

Er ließ sich in der Gemeinde Port Kells nieder und brachte es als Geflügelzüchter mit seiner „Black, White and Red Poultry Farm“ zu einigem Wohlstand. 1910 kaufte Carl sich ein Farmhaus und verwandelte es in ein kleines „Castle“, wie es die Nachbarn bald nannten. Er hatte an seinen „Palast“, in dem es 16 Zimmer gab, einen mittelalterlichen Turm anbauen lassen. Das Familienwappen schmückte das Fensterglas des Turms und an den Wänden hingen alte Gemälde, Schwerter, Pistolen und Musketen aus Europa. In Port Kells wurde Carl für seine Großzügigkeit geschätzt. Zu Weihnachten lud er die gesamte Gemeinde zur Bescherung am Heiligabend ein und bewirtete sie mit Speisen und Getränken.

Doch in den Jahren 1910 bis 1914 reiste Carl viel zwischen Nordamerika und Deutschland und sorgte damit in der Gemeinde von Port Kells für Misstrauen. Seltsam schien es, dass der Neffe eines Generalfeldmarschalls nun Geflügel züchtete, seine Gemeinde zur Weihnachtszeit beschenkte und häufig über die USA in seine alte Heimat reiste. Er wurde verdächtigt, ein Spion zu sein und Landsleute in die USA zu schleusen, um ihnen die Internierung in Kanada zu ersparen. Als Carl dann nach Ausbruch des ersten Weltkrieges auch noch die Flagge des Kaisers an seinem Turm hisste, ließen die kanadischen Behörden ihn 1915 verhaften und internieren.

„Baron’s Manor Pub” „Baron’s Manor Pub” | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Sein gesamtes Vermögen in Surrey wurde mit der Begründung „Canadian Custodian of Enemy Property“ beschlagnahmt und sein Haus in Port Kells galt nunmehr als das „Spy House“. Man erfand wilde Geschichten: von der Existenz eines Tunnels zwischen Haus und Fraser Fluss, von der Nutzung des Turms als Richtfunkanlage und von geheimen Gängen durch Wandschränke hindurch zu unbekannten Räumen. Nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges 1918 wurde Carl von Mackensen sofort und ohne Angabe von Gründen nach Deutschland deportiert. Mehrfach versuchte er, sein Eigentum zurückzuerlangen – ohne Erfolg. Der Baron, einst die schillerndste Persönlichkeit in der Gemeinde Port Kells, starb schließlich vereinsamt 1967 in Deutschland.

 Webseite