David Oppenheimer

  • Statue of Oppenheimer at the entrance of Stanley Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Statue of Oppenheimer at the entrance of Stanley Park
  • Oppenheimer Park in Vancouver © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Oppenheimer Park in Vancouver

An influential businessman

The Warehouse Studio in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside doesn’t look all that spectacular at first glance. However, the history of the oldest brick building in Vancouver is as enthralling as the origin of the city itself. In 1989, the rockstar Bryan Adams bought this half burnt-out and dilapidated building and he had it refurbished for a significant amount of money. In 1887, 102 years earlier, it had been built for the German Oppenheimer brothers for their grocery wholesale business. Later, the building became the new city of Vancouver’s first Town Hall, and one of the brothers, David Oppenheimer, made it all the way to the top in 1888.

David Oppenheimer was born in 1832 in Blieskastel, then a part of Bavaria. Like many other Germans, he emigrated to America in order to escape to chaos of the German revolutions of 1848 and 1849. Together with his four brothers, he moved first to New Orleans, then to California for the gold rush. There, the brothers founded The Oppenheimer Group in 1858, outfitting the golddiggers with mining equipment. Eventually, the gold rush in the Fraser River Valley lured them further north. While three of the brothers carried on with the business in the valley, David Oppenheimer recognized the potential represented by property speculation in the area of modern-day Vancouver. In 1878, he moved to Coal Harbour in Vancouver (then called Granville) with his brother Isaac to buy land there.

Six years later, David Oppenheimer had so much influence that he successfully lobbied the government of British Columbia at the time to relocate the main railroad hub from Port Moody to Coal Harbour. Because of the move, this location, which was later to become Vancouver, would gain a lot of economic importance. By pure chance, the land near the railway terminus in Coal Harbour belonged to David Oppenheimer. Having won over the Canadian Pacific Railway, Oppenheimer was already set for life, but it was about more than money for the ambitious David Oppenheimer. His goals were even loftier.

When the city of Vancouver was founded in 1886, David and Isaac each got a seat on the new city council. Two years later, David Oppenheimer was elected the second mayor of Vancouver. During his term, he accomplished a variety of things, and the city still commemorates him to this day. There is a bust of him at the Stanley Park end of Beach Avenue, a park in Japantown in the Downtown Eastside was named after him, and in south Vancouver you can find the David Oppenheimer Elementary School. After his Canadian Pacific Railway gambit, he was significantly involved in founding Stanley Park, and he campaigned heavily for expanding Vancouver’s infrastructure, such as extending the streetcar network and building roads, canals, and an electrical system.

David Oppenheimer resigned in 1891 - officially because of health reasons. However, his rival William Templeton, who he had defeated in the election, spread another version of events. Allegedly, Oppenheimer’s private business interests had taken the upper hand and were in conflict with his official functions. David Oppenheimer died of a heart attack on New Year’s Eve in 1897 - one day before his 64th birthday. William Templeton was elected mayor that same year, and he promptly had Oppenheimer Street renamed to East Cordova. David Oppenheimer’s body lay in state at the Freemasons’ temple located at the corner of Cambie and Cordova at the time. Later, he was buried in a Jewish cemetery in Brooklyn, NY. However, his personal legacy has remained: the Oppenheimer Group still exists, and today it is lovingly referred to as ‘Oppy’.

 Website

David Oppenheimer
Deutsche Spuren in Vancouver und Umgebung

  • Statue Oppenheimers am Eingang zum Stanley Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Statue Oppenheimers am Eingang zum Stanley Park
  • Der Oppenheimer Park in Vancouver © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Der Oppenheimer Park in Vancouver

Ein einflussreicher Geschäftsmann

Das „Warehouse Studio“ in Vancouvers „Downtown Eastside“ sieht auf den ersten Blick wenig spektakulär aus. Aber die Geschichte des ältesten Backsteingebäudes Vancouvers ist so spannend wie die Entstehung der Millionen-Metropole selbst. Rockstar Bryan Adams kaufte 1989 dieses halb ausgebrannte und abbruchreife Gebäude und ließ es aufwändig sanieren. Doch 102 Jahre zuvor waren es die deutsch-stämmigen Brüder Oppenheimer, die 1887 den Bau fertig stellen ließen, um ihn für ihren Lebensmittelgroßhandel zu nutzen. Später wurde das Gebäude das erste Rathaus der neuen Stadt Vancouver und 1888 schaffte es einer der Brüder, David Oppenheimer, selbst ganz an die Spitze.

David Oppenheimer wurde 1832 im damals bayerischen Blieskastel geboren. Wie viele Deutsche wanderte er nach Amerika aus, um den Unruhen der deutschen Revolution von 1848/1849 zu entkommen. Gemeinsam mit seinen vier Brüdern zog es ihn zunächst nach New Orleans und dann, vom Goldfieber gepackt, nach Kalifornien. Dort gründeten die Brüder 1858 die Firma „The Oppenheimer Group“ und versorgten Goldgräber mit Minen-Ausrüstungen. Schließlich lockte sie der Goldrausch im „Fraser River Valley“ weiter in den Norden. Während drei der Brüder das Geschäft im Valley vorantrieben, erkannte David Oppenheimer das Potential für Spekulationen mit Grund und Boden im heutigen Stadtgebiet von Vancouver. 1878 zog er mit seinem Bruder Isaac nach Coal Harbour und Granville, um dort Land zu kaufen.

Sechs Jahre später hatte David Oppenheimer so viel Einfluss, dass er die damalige Regierung Britisch Kolumbiens davon überzeugte, den Hauptumschlagplatz der Eisenbahn von Port Moody nach Coal Harbour zu verlegen. Durch diesen Umzug gewann der Ort, der später Vancouver heißen sollte, stark an wirtschaftlicher Bedeutung. Zufällig gehörte das Land in Coal Harbour David Oppenheimer. Wer die „Canadian Pacific Railway“ für sich gewann, hatte eigentlich schon ausgesorgt. Aber dem ehrgeizigen David Oppenheimer ging es um mehr, denn er wollte nach ganz oben.

Bei der Stadtgründung Vancouvers im Jahre 1886 erhielten David und Isaac jeweils einen Sitz im neuen Stadtrat. Zwei Jahre später wurde David Oppenheimer zum zweiten Bürgermeister der neu gegründeten Stadt Vancouver gewählt. Während seiner Amtszeit errang er große Erfolge, für die ihn die Stadt bis heute in Erinnerung behält. Am Ende der Beach Avenue zum Stanley Park steht seine Büste, in Japantown hinter der Downtown Eastside wurde ein Park nach ihm benannt und im Süden Vancouvers findet man die David Oppenheimer Grundschule. Oppenheim war maßgeblich an der Gründung des Stanley Parks beteiligt und machte sich auch für den Ausbau der Infrastruktur in Vancouver stark, zum Beispiel für den Bau von Straßen, der Kanalisierung, der Stromversorgung und der Erweiterung des Straßenbahnnetzes.

David Oppenheimer trat 1891 zurück – offiziell aus gesundheitlichen Gründen. Doch sein Rivale William Templeton, der im Wahlkampf eine Niederlage gegen ihn erlitten hatte, verbreitete eine andere Version. Angeblich hätten Oppenheimers privatwirtschaftliche Interessen überhandgenommen und er sei deswegen in einem öffentlichen Amt nicht mehr tragbar gewesen. 1897 starb David Oppenheimer an einem Herzinfarkt, den er am Neujahrsabend erlitt – einen Tag vor seinem 64. Geburtstag. William Templeton wurde noch im selben Jahr zum Bürgermeister gewählt und ließ die Oppenheimer Straße sofort in East Cordova umbenennen. David Oppenheimers Leichnam wurde im damaligen Freimaurer-Tempel Ecke Cambie und Cordova aufgebahrt und später nach Brooklyn, NY überführt, wo er auf dem jüdischen Friedhof beigesetzt wurde. Sein privates Vermächtnis jedoch bleibt: Die „Oppenheimer Group“ gibt es immer noch und sie wird liebevoll „Oppy“ genannt.

 Webseite