Gustav Roedde

  • The estate of Gustav Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The estate of Gustav Roedde
  • The inside of Roedde's former house © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The inside of Roedde's former house
  • The inside of Roedde's former house © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    The inside of Roedde's former house

A Bookbinder from Germany

Over 120 years ago, Gustav Roedde had this house in Barclay Street built for his family in Vancouver’s modern-day West End. This magnificent building from Victorian times can be found right next to the beautiful Barclay Heritage Square Park. In 1893, the city of Vancouver was only 7 years old, and there were no bookbinders in the entire city. At that time, bookbinding was as important as tablets and computers are today, so Gustav Roedde made his way to North America to take advantage of the market.

In 1881, Gustav emigrated from Germany, coming to Canada via the United States. After arriving in Ohio, he met his future wife Matilda, who came from Heligoland, a German archipelago in the North Sea. Together with her, he travelled to the Pacific Northwest - first to Victoria, the capital of British Columbia, and then to Vancouver, which had just been founded in 1886. Two years later, he opened the first bookbindery there.

Gustav was born in 1860 in Großbodungen, a village in Thuringia, Germany, and he learned his bookbinding craft in Leipzig. Luckily for him, he happened to be in the right place at the right time twenty years later in British Columbia. The years following his arrival were during a time of prosperity for Vancouver, which Gustav profited from, as he could therefore afford to build this impressive Victorian-style house. He had six children, and some of this pioneer family’s descendents still live and work in Vancouver, where they continue to show an active interest in the house. The bookbindery, which later merged with a printer’s, still exists to this day. It is now called G.A. Roedde Printers and operates under new ownership.

A tour through the Roedde House Museum offers visitors a window into the past. Specifically, they can see what life was like for an upper-middle-class immigrant family over 120 years ago. The museum shows what objects were used day-to-day and what everyday life would have looked like at the time. For younger, school-age visitors, it’s worth taking a look at a video clip of the two Roedde granddaughters in advance of a visit. The women, Gwen and Kay, were little girls at the beginning of the 20th century, and their recollections give wonderful insight into these bygone days.

Website of the museum

Gustav Roedde
Deutsche Spuren in Vancouver und Umgebung

  • Das Anwesen von Gustav Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Anwesen von Gustav Roedde
  • Das Innere des ehemligen Hauses von Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Innere des ehemligen Hauses von Roedde
  • Das Innere des ehemligen Hauses von Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Das Innere des ehemligen Hauses von Roedde

Ein Buchbinder aus Deutschland

Mehr als 120 Jahre ist es her, dass Gustav Roedde das Haus in Vancouver an der Barclay Street im heutigen Stadtteil Westend für seine Familie bauen ließ. Der Prachtbau aus viktorianischer Zeit liegt gleich neben dem schönen „Barclay Heritage Square Park“. 1893 war die Stadt Vancouver erst 7 Jahre alt und in der ganzen Stadt gab es keine Buchbinderei. Da Buchbinden damals so wichtig war wie heute ein Tablet-PC, machte sich Gustav Roedde auf den Weg nach Nordamerika.

Roedde kam über die Vereinigten Staaten nach Kanada. Er wanderte 1881 aus Deutschland aus und lernte in Ohio seine aus Helgoland stammende Frau Matilda kennen. Mit ihr reiste er in den Nordwesten, erst nach Victoria, der Hauptstadt von Britisch Kolumbien, und dann in die 1886 neu gegründete Stadt Vancouver. Nur zwei Jahre später eröffnete er dort die erste Buchbinderei.

Roedde wurde 1860 in Großbodungen, einem Ortsteil von Thüringen, geboren und lernte das Buchbinden in Leipzig. 20 Jahre später war er zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort, denn die kommenden Jahre waren für Vancouver eine Blütezeit, wovon auch Roedde profitierte und sich ein Haus im viktorianischen Stil leisten konnte. Seine Familie vergrößerte sich um sechs Kinder. Einige der Urenkel dieser Pionierfamilie leben und arbeiten noch heute in Vancouver und zeigen Interesse an diesem Haus. Die Buchbinderei, später verbunden mit einer Druckerei, existiert heute weiterhin als „G.A. Roedde" Druckerei und befindet sich in neuem Besitz.
 
Eine Tour im „Roedde House Museum“ ermöglicht dem Besucher einen Blick in die Vergangenheit vor über 120 Jahren und in das Leben einer mittelgroßen Immigranten-Familie. Man erfährt, wie Familien zu dieser Zeit lebten, welche Gegenstände sie verwendeten und bekommt so eine Vorstellung von ihrem Alltag. Für die kleinen Besucher im Schulalter lohnt es sich im Vorfeld eines Besuchs einen Clip über die zwei Roedde Enkelinnen Gwen und Kay anzuschauen, die Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts kleine Mädchen waren, da ihre Erinnerungen einen wunderbaren Einblick in diese vergangene Zeit geben.

 Webseite des Museums