„Holocaust Education Centre“

The Holocaust Education Centre in Vancouver

This centre for further education on Holocaust studies was founded by survivors in Vancouver as a permanent institution in 1994. The goal of the founders was to make the causes and consequences of discrimination, racism, and antisemitism accessible to visitors through education and memory of the Holocaust.

The centre aims to strengthen awareness of human rights, social justice, and genocide with the use of reminders of the Holocaust. The Holocaust Education Centre in Vancouver attracts 25,000 students and teachers annually, making it a leader in western Canada. It offers exhibitions and programs for students on specific themes and produces teaching materials. It has web-based publications, a permanent museum collection with artifacts gathered from Holocaust survivors, an archive, a library, and a continuous project documenting testimonies from the survivors.

The Holocaust Education Centre in Vancouver The Holocaust Education Centre in Vancouver | © Goethe-Institut Montreal In addition, the centre organizes numerous cultural and memorial events for the public, and it produces a newsletter named “Zachor” three times a year. It regularly puts on new events focusing on the circumstances of the time from a Canadian perspective, and it’s certainly worth visiting the Holocaust Education Centre when you’re in Vancouver.

 Website

„Holocaust Education Centre“
Deutsche Spuren in Vancouver

Das „Holocaust Education Centre“ in Vancouver

Das „Holocaust Education Centre“ in Vancouver wurde 1994 von Überlebenden als eine permanente Einrichtung in Vancouver gegründet. Das Ziel der Gründer ist es, den Besuchern die Ursachen und Konsequenzen von Diskriminierung, Rassismus und Antisemitismus durch Bildung und Erinnerung an den Holocaust näherzubringen.

Das Bewusstsein für Menschenrechte, soziale Gerechtigkeit und Genozid soll durch die Erinnerung an den Holocaust gestärkt werden. Die hohe Besucherzahl von rund 25000 Studenten und Lehrern zeugt von seiner führenden Rolle im Bildungsbereich. Dabei werden Themen bezogene Ausstellungen und Programme für Schulen angeboten und Lehrmaterialien erstellt. Es gibt webbasierende Veröffentlichungen, eine permanente Museumskollektion mit Artefakten, gesammelt von Überlebenden des Holocausts, ein Archiv, eine Bibliothek und ein fortlaufendes Zeitzeugen-Projekt.

Das „Holocaust Education Centre“ in Vancouver Das „Holocaust Education Centre“ in Vancouver | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Außerdem organisiert das Zentrum zahlreiche öffentliche Kultur- und Gedenkveranstaltungen und gibt dreimal im Jahr einen Newsletter unter dem Titel „Zachor“ heraus. Es finden auch immer wieder neue Veranstaltungen statt, die die Umstände der damaligen Zeit aus kanadischer Sicht zeigen und ein Besuch im Vancouver „Holocaust Education Centre“ lohnt sich daher sehr.

 Webseite