Dr. Arnold Theodor Spohr

  • Statue of Spohr at Assiniboine Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Statue of Spohr at Assiniboine Park
  • Assiniboine Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Assiniboine Park

Dr. Arnold Theodor Spohr - Ballet in Winnipeg

Arnold Spohr was born in December 1923 to German immigrant parents in Rhein, Saskatchewan, not far from the border with Manitoba. He was the fifth of seven children and grew up speaking both English and German. Arnold’s father, George Spohr, was a pastor, and he not only placed a lot of importance on his children’s bilingualism and literary education, but he also supported their artistic and musical abilities.

In addition to his excellent general education, Arnold stood out particularly because of his skills on piano and his athletic successes. Because of his passion for sports, he got his qualifications to become a gym teacher upon completion of his studies.

Arnold’s love for ballet was kindled when he accompanied his sister to a performance by the Ballet Russe de Monte Carlo while he was living in Winnipeg. Arnold joined the Royal Winnipeg Ballet in 1945, where he danced for many years before taking over as Artistic Director in 1958. In his thirty years at the job, he led the Royal Winnipeg Ballet through difficult economic times and helped them earn their current excellent reputation.

His intercultural upbringing and his trips to Europe inspired and motivated him to invite internationally recognized ballet companies to the prairie city, expanding Winnipeg’s cultural offerings.

As the director emeritus, Arnold Spohr remained connected to the Royal Winnipeg Ballet even after retirement, helping Bengt Jörgen to build up the Toronto-based company ‘Canada’s Ballet Jörgen’ while in this role. For his untiring work and strong commitment to the arts, Arnold Spohr was made a Companion of the Order of Canada and awarded the Order of Manitoba, the Centennial Medal, and the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award. In addition, he received three honourary doctorates, as well as many other prizes and recognitions. Arnold Spohr devoted his life to ballet, and he was recognized for his accomplishments as a dancer, choreographer, and director both in Winnipeg itself and internationally. His work shaped the ballet world of the 20th century, and it continues to influence it to this day.

Arnold Spohr died peacefully at the age of 87. For the city of Winnipeg, preserving his legacy is a point of honour - after all, it is thanks to him that the city today boasts a world-famous ballet company, which enjoys an extraordinary reputation. The statue erected in his honour fits in perfectly with the Citizens Hall of Fame, a collection of statues of prominent figures from the provincial capital.

Dr. Arnold Theodor Spohr
Deutsche Spuren in Winnipeg und Umgebung

  • Spohr-Statue im Assiniboine Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Spohr-Statue im Assiniboine Park
  • Assiniboine Park © Goethe-Institut Montreal
    Assiniboine Park

Dr. Arnold Theodor Spohr – Ballett in Winnipeg

Als Sohn deutschstämmiger Immigranten wurde Arnold Spohr im Dezember 1923 in Rhein, Saskatchewan, unweit der Grenze zu Manitoba geboren. Er war das fünfte von sieben Kindern und wuchs deutsch- und englischsprachig auf. Arnolds Vater, George Spohr, war Pfarrer und legte nicht nur großen Wert auf den Bilingualismus und die literarische Bildung seiner Kinder, sondern förderte auch künstlerische und musikalische Fähigkeiten.

Neben seiner hervorragenden Allgemeinbildung tat sich Arnold besonders durch seine Klavierkünste und sportlichen Erfolge hervor. Die Leidenschaft für den Sport machte er nach Abschluss seiner Lehrbefähigung als Sportlehrer zu seinem Beruf.

Seine Liebe für das Ballett entflammte, als der inzwischen in Winnipeg lebende Arnold seine Schwester zu einer Ballettaufführung des „Russe de Monte Carlo“ Balletts begleitete. Im Jahr 1945 trat Arnold dem Royal Winnipeg Ballett bei und tanzte dort viele Jahre, bis er 1958 als „Artistic Director“ die künstlerische Leitung übernahm. In seiner dreißigjährigen Tätigkeit führte er das Royal Winnipeg Ballett durch wirtschaftlich schwierige Zeiten und verhalf ihm zu seinem ausgezeichneten Ruf.

Sein interkultureller Hintergrund und seine Reisen nach Europa inspirierten und motivierten ihn, international berühmte Balletts in die Präriestadt zu bringen und das kulturelle Angebot zu erweitern.

Auch als emeritierter Direktor fühlte sich Arnold Spohr dem Royal Winnipeg Ballett verbunden und half zudem Bengt Jörgen beim Aufbau des Canada’s Ballet in Toronto. Für seine unermüdliche Arbeit und sein großes Engagement wurde Arnold Spohr unter anderem mit dem „Companion of the Order of Canada“, dem „Order of Manitoba“, der „Centennial Medal“ und dem „Governor General’s Performing Arts Award“ ausgezeichnet. Darüber hinaus erhielt er drei Ehrendoktoren und viele weitere Auszeichnungen und Anerkennungen. Arnold Spohr widmete sein Leben hingebungsvoll dem Ballett und wurde nicht nur in Winnipeg, sondern auch international für seine Leistungen als Tänzer, Choreograph und Direktor anerkannt. Sein Wirken prägte die Ballettwelt des 20. Jahrhunderts und beeinflusst diese auch heute noch.

Im Alter von 87 Jahren verstarb Arnold Spohr friedlich. Sein Erbe zu erhalten, versteht Winnipeg als ehrenvolle Aufgabe, schließlich rühmt sich die Stadt heute dank ihm mit einem weltweit bekannten Ballett, das sich eines außerordentlichen Rufes erfreut. Seine Statue reiht sich prunkvoll in die Sammlung anderer prominenter Persönlichkeiten der Provinzstadt ein.