The witch's house in Kildonan Park

One of the best-known traces of Germany in Winnipeg

“Nibble, nibble, little mouse, who’s that nibbling at my house?” That’s the most famous question in the German fairy tale “Hansel and Gretel” by the Brothers Grimm. The nibblers in question are Hansel and Gretel, who are looking to satisfy their hunger after wandering through the woods lost for days. They can hardly believe their eyes when they see a house made of bread, cake, and sugar.

You don’t have to be completely lost to reach the witch’s house in Kildonan Park in the north of Winnipeg, but just standing in front of the round, rustic hut gives the feeling of being in a fairytale forest. Surrounded by dignified elms, this round house called The Witch’s Hut is located directly on the Red River. The atmosphere is enchanting and magical, and visitors to the area come across a piece of German fairytale culture hidden in the shadows of the trees.

In 1970, the German Canadian Congress in Manitoba initiated the Witch’s Hut project for the centennial celebration of the German community in Manitoba. This present to the children of the province was ceremoniously opened in October 1970, and it has been one of the best-known traces of Germany in Winnipeg since then.

The Witch’s Hut in Kildonan Park The Witch’s Hut in Kildonan Park | © Goethe-Institut Montreal The hut was built with an eye for detail and looks so ready to eat, you would almost want to break off a piece of the house, just like Hansel and Gretel themselves. Hans-Peter Langes - a well-known German architect in the city - designed this unconventional witch’s house, which clearly breaks away from the design of traditional witches’ houses. John Nelson was responsible for the masonry, using stone to build the round foundation topped by a peaked roof. In winter, the wooden roof tiles are covered with a blanket of snow. The peaked roof is dotted with a few small windows and colourful, translucent tiles, which gives the inside an atmospheric, dreamy light.

The terracotta floors depict sequences from the fairytale of Hansel and Gretel, which were drawn by the illustrator Elfride Berger. In the Witch’s Hut, you can also find figures of Hansel, Gretel, and the witch. These figures were made by Josef Potempa.

In the summer months, tours are regularly offered and there are fairy tale readings held inside the house. In this magical atmosphere, fairy tales and fables by the Brothers Grimm, such as “Hansel and Gretel”, “Cinderella”, “Puss in Boots”, “Sleeping Beauty”, and “Little Red Riding Hood”, all come to life in the listeners’ imaginations. The German Canadian Congress of Manitoba, in cooperation with the province of Manitoba, makes sure that entering this fairytale world remains possible to this day for the children and adults of the province, as well as for all tourists.

Das Hexenhaus im Kildonan Park
Deutsche Spuren in Winnipeg und Umgebung

Eine der bekanntesten deutschen Spuren in Winnipeg

„Knusper, knusper, knäuschen, wer knuspert mir am Häuschen?” So lautet die wohl bekannteste Frage aus dem deutschen Märchen „Hänsel und Gretel” der Gebrüder Grimm. Es sind Hänsel und Gretel, die ihren Hunger zu stillen versuchen, nachdem sie Tage durch den Wald geirrt waren und ihren Augen nun kaum trauen, als sie ein Haus aus Brot, Kuchen und Zucker sehen.

Man muss sich nicht zwingend verlaufen, um zu dem Hexenhaus im Kildonan Park im Norden Winnipegs zu gelangen, aber steht man vor der urigen, runden Hütte, hat man das Gefühl in einen Märchenwald eingetaucht zu sein. Umgeben von ehrwürdigen Ulmen, liegt das runde Hexenhaus („The Witch’s Hut“) direkt am Red River. Die Stimmung ist verwunschen und märchenhaft. Im Schatten der Bäume verborgen, stoßen die Besucher auf ein Stück deutscher Märchenkultur.

1970 initiierte der Deutsch-Kanadische Kongress in Manitoba das Hexenhaus als Projekt anlässlich der Jahrhundertfeier der deutschen Gemeinde in Manitoba. Das Geschenk an die Kinder der Provinz wurde im Oktober 1970 feierlich eingeweiht und ist seither eine der bekanntesten deutschen Spuren in Winnipeg.

Das Hexenhaus im Kildonan Park Das Hexenhaus im Kildonan Park | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Fast ist man, wie damals Hänsel und Gretel, selbst versucht, ein Stückchen aus der Hütte zu brechen, die zum Anbeißen aussieht und detailgetreu erbaut wurde. Hans-Peter Langes, ein bekannter deutscher Architekt der Stadt, entwarf das unkonventionelle Hexenhaus, das sich in seinem Design deutlich von traditionellen Hexenhäusern absetzt. John Nelson fertigte das Mauerwerk und verwendete hierfür Natursteine, die das runde Fundament bilden, welches von einem spitzen Dach gekrönt wird. Im Winter liegt auf den hölzernen Dachplatten eine Schneedecke. Aufgebrochen wird das Spitzdach durch wenige winzige Fenster und bunte, licht-durchlässige Ziegel, die für einen stimmungsvollen Lichteinfall sorgen.

Auf den Terrakottaböden werden einzelne Sequenzen des Märchens von Hänsel und Gretel bildlich dargestellt. Diese Darstellungen wurden von der Bildhauerin Elfride Berger in mühevoller Arbeit entworfen. Auch Figuren von Hänsel, Gretel und der Hexe lassen sich im Hexenhaus finden. Josef Potempa hat diese Figuren angefertigt.

In den Sommermonaten werden regelmäßig Führungen angeboten und Märchenstunden abgehalten. In märchenhafter Atmosphäre werden die Märchen und Sagen der Gebrüder Grimm, wie beispielsweise „Hänsel und Gretel“, „Aschenputtel“, „Der gestiefelte Kater“, „Dornröschen“ oder „Rotkäppchen“, in der Phantasiewelt der Zuhörer zum Leben erweckt. Der Deutsch-Kanadische Kongress Manitobas achtet in Zusammenarbeit mit der Provinz Manitoba darauf, dass auch heute den Kindern und Erwachsenen der Provinz sowie allen Touristen der Zugang in die Märchenwelt gewährt bleibt.