Wilhelm Hespeler

The Hespeler Avenue

Wilhelm “William” Hespeler was born on December 29th, 1830 in Baden-Baden, the smallest district capital in Baden-Württemberg. His Lutheran parents placed a lot of importance on education, so Hespeler went to a polytechnic school in Karlsruhe in conjunction with his high school education. A few years after his father’s early death, his mother took the family and emigrated to Ontario, where Hespeler got into the professional world by working for his brother’s company.

The Hespeler Avenue in Winnipeg The Hespeler Avenue in Winnipeg | © Goethe-Institut Montreal During a vacation in Germany in 1872, Hespeler, a Lutheran, learned that many Mennonites were intending to emigrate to North America. Upon his return, he let the Canadian authorities know about this, and further informed them that these Mennonites had a great amount of productive, agrarian knowledge. As a result, he was named an official “Special Immigration Agent” without further ado. In this position, he was to strengthen Canada’s connections with Mennonites from Russia and coordinate their move to Manitoba. Starting in 1873, he held the office of the Commissioner of Immigration and Agriculture in Winnipeg for 10 years. He next took over the post of Honorary German Consul for Manitoba and the Northwest Territories. He was known as a faithful representative of the German Empire who regularly concerned himself with the interests of everyone of German descent. He not only supported the German community with matters regarding immigration, but he also founded the weekly publication “Northwestern / Der Nordwesten” in order to spread information within the community.

Hespeler reached the highpoint of his political career when he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba (the provincial parliament) as an independent candidate in 1899. He also became the Speaker of the Legislature, and was the first Speaker Canada-wide not born in the British Empire. However, the First World War and Germany’s poor reputation at the time had a negative influence on his standing in Winnipeg society. After the death of his third wife, William Hespeler moved to be with his son living in Vancouver, dying shortly thereafter.

Hespeler supported the waves of immigration at the end of the 19th century and helped many families (a total of over 7000 migrants) to live in peace in western Canada. As a result, he played a key role in the establishment of Western Canada. To this day, it is understood that he contributed significantly to the cultural and linguistic preservation of the German community.

Commemorative plaque in Neverville Commemorative plaque in Neverville | © Goethe-Institut Montreal William Hespeler is commemorated not only by Hespeler Avenue, named after him, but there is also a memorial plaque from 2007 dedicated to him. This plaque is found in the town of Neverville, located south of Winnipeg.

 Biography of Wilhelm Hespeler

Wilhelm Hespeler
Deutsche Spuren in Winnipeg und Umgebung

Die Hespeler Avenue

Wilhelm „William“ Hespeler wurde am 29. Dezember 1830 in Baden-Württembergs kleinster Kreisstadt, Baden-Baden, geboren. Sein lutherisches Elternhaus legte großen Wert auf Bildung, weshalb Hespeler im Anschluss an seine Schulausbildung an die Polytechnische Schule in Karlsruhe ging. Einige Jahre nach dem frühen Tod seines Vaters wanderte seine Mutter mit der Familie nach Ontario aus, wo Hespeler beruflich im Unternehmen seines Bruders heimisch wird.

Hespeler Avenue in Winnipeg Hespeler Avenue in Winnipeg | © Goethe-Institut Montreal Während eines Deutschlandurlaubes 1872 wurde der lutherische Hespeler darauf aufmerksam, dass viele Mennoniten beabsichtigten nach Nordamerika auszuwandern. Als er die kanadischen Behörden nach seiner Rückkehr darüber in Kenntnis setzte und sie darüber informierte, dass diese Mennoniten einen ausgezeichneten Sinn für ertragreiche Agrarwirtschaft hätten, wurde er zum offiziellen „Special Immigration Agent“ ernannt. In dieser Position sollte er die Verbindungen zu den Russland-Mennoniten stärken und ihre Übersiedlung nach Manitoba koordinieren. Ab dem Jahr 1873 führte er für zehn Jahre das Amt des „Comissioner of Immigration and Agriculture“ in Winnipeg aus. Anschließend übernahm er den Posten des deutschen Konsuls für Manitoba und das Nord-West Territorium. Er war als zuverlässiger Vertreter des deutschen Reiches bekannt, der sich stets für die Interessen aller Deutschstämmigen einsetzte. Er unterstützte die deutsche Community nicht nur bei der Einwanderung, sondern auch die wöchentlich erscheinende Publikation „Northwestern/ Der Nordwesten“ wurde von ihm gegründet, um Informationen innerhalb der Gemeinschaft zu verbreiten.

Den Höhepunkt seiner politischen Karriere erreichte Hespeler, als er im Jahr 1899 als parteiloser Kandidat in das Parlament von Manitoba, der „Legislative Assembly of Manitoba“, gewählt wurde und vorsitzender Sprecher wurde. Damit war er kanadaweit der erste nicht im Britischen Empire geborene Sprecher. Doch der Erste Weltkrieg und der schlechte Ruf Deutschlands hatten einen negativen Einfluss auf seinen Stand in der Gesellschaft Winnipegs. Nach dem Tod seiner dritten Frau zog William Hespeler zu seinem in Vancouver lebenden Sohn und verstarb kurz darauf.

Hespeler unterstützte die Immigrationswellen gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts und half vielen Familien (insgesamt über 7000 Migranten) in Westkanada in Frieden leben zu können. Daher spielte er eine Schlüsselrolle in der Besiedlung des Westens Kanadas. Sein unermüdliches Engagement für den kulturellen und sprachlichen Erhalt deutscher Gemeinden wird auch heute noch als wichtiger Beitrag verstanden.

Nicht nur die Hespeler Avenue wurde im Gedenken an William Hespeler nach ihm benannt, sondern südlich von Winnipeg steht seit 2007 in der Kleinstadt Neverville auch eine ihm gewidmete Gedenktafel.

Hespeler-Gedenktafel in Neverville Hespeler-Gedenktafel in Neverville | © Goethe-Institut Montreal
 Biographie von Wilhelm Hespeler