Future Perfect Investigating Environmental Racism

Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation
Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation | @ Silver David Cameron

In Nova Scotia, minority and low-income communities are disproportionately located near degraded environments. An ongoing research project raises awareness of the issue, while also mobilizing affected residents to action.    

When an activist working on the issue of environmental racism first met with Ingrid Waldron in 2012 and asked her to become involved with his efforts, Waldron was hesitant. A sociologist and assistant professor of nursing at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia, she didn’t know much about environmental racism. The term describes settings where industrial polluters and environmental hazards – such as landfills, trash incinerators, or coal plants – are disproportionately placed near low-income or minority communities.   
 
Cases of environmental racism have been documented around the world, with one of the first high-profile cases occurring in the 1980s in Warren County, North Carolina, when a hazardous waste landfill was constructed in the small, predominately African-American community. In many situations, inexpensive land combined with a community’s perceived lack of power to resist leads industry to build environmental hazards in such communities.
 
“I was hesitant to take on a project, as it wasn’t an interest of mine and I didn’t know anything about it,” Waldron says. “But I thought about it more. It seemed challenging. It would be political, and there would be an opportunity to make real change in communities. Those things excited me.” The researcher decided to say yes.  
 
Four years later, The ENRICH Project (Environmental Noxiousness, Racial Inequities, and Community Health) still consumes Waldron. As director, she leads a team of 14 community members, seven academic researchers, three research staff – including Dave Ron, the activist who got the whole project started – and 10 students, health professionals, academic researchers and students, all determined to investigate and address environmental racism in African Nova Scotian and Mi’kmaw communities. (Also known as Mi’kmaq, these Aboriginal peoples were the first inhabitants of the Atlantic provinces of Canada. Today, there are 13 Mi’kmaw communities in Nova Scotia.) and African Nova Scotian communities.
 

  • Ingrid Waldron © Ingrid Waldron/Dalhousie University
    Ingrid Waldron
  • Landfill in Lincolnville © Silver Donald Cameron
    Landfill in Lincolnville
  • Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation © Silver Donald Cameron
    Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation
  • Landfill in Lincolnville 2 © Silver Donald Cameron
    Landfill in Lincolnville 2

 
Using research to mobilize communities
 
“We’re looking at the issue from a research perspective, and using that research and data in order to mobilize communities to action,” Waldron says. The project’s activities are varied, ranging from a youth arts and education project to a series of workshops hosted in 2013 and 2014, to hear residents’ concerns and encourage action. A filmmaker documented those and created a film called In Whose Backyard? (Available online - see link to the right).
 
In these workshops, Waldron and others on the team met with people in affected communities, including Lincolnville, an African Nova Scotian cpredominantly African community settled by Black Loyalists in in 1784. Residents had many concerns about a first-generation landfill, opened less than one kilometre away in 1974, and a second one opened in 2006.
 
They reported high rates of certain illnesses, including cancer and diabetes, and voiced concerns about water contamination from leaking toxins in the soil, poor air quality, and an increase of bears, racoons, skunks and insects because of the garbage. Meanwhile, the community said its population was dwindling and its economic base faltering, as many young people were leavinge.
 
The grievances addressed by Lincolnville’s residents are not unique, as research participants in  North Preston, a primarily African community, and Membertou, a n AboriginalMi’kmaw  community, also spoke of  high rates of illness. Further research is needed, the ENRICH team concluded, such as collecting health statistics on rates of cancer and other illnesses in the community, and helping residents get independent testing of water and soil.
 
According to the 2011 National Household Survey conducted by Statistics Canada (the most recent statistical information available), there are 20,790 African Nova Scotians living in the province, which has a total population of 906,175 people. On the same survey, 33,850 people were of Aboriginal identity.
 
The next step after the initial collection of information was for Waldron to share what her research group had learned, with health agencies, high schools, churches and media. She started to meet with various government departments to see what more could be done. “It wasn’t really going anywhere,” Waldron says of her many meetings. Some people she met with said they weren’t responsible, while others said they did not have the resources to do the work Waldron was requesting. “We reached an impasse.”
 
An act to address environmental racism
 
A fellow team member suggested Waldron try a different approach, and instead of reaching out to staff with various government agencies,, reaching out to provincial politicians, who are elected officials in Canada. . That led her to meet with Lenore Zann, member of the Legislative Assembly of Nova Scotia, who seemed enthusiastic and excited about Waldron’s project.
 
When Zann suggested the possibility of creating a private member’s bill (meaning the bill was introduced by Zann, a private member, not a minister) to address environmental racism, Waldron remembers feeling shocked by Zann’s offer and the possibilities it could uncover. Waldron had not considered taking such a political approach to the issue.
 
Ultimately, Zann, a member of the Nova Scotia New Democratic Party, and Waldron collaborated to develop Bill 111: An Act to Address Environmental Racism. The first private member’s bill to address this problem in Canada, the bill outlined the need for the government to establish a panel to consult with Mi’kmaw, African Nova Scotian and Acadian communities throughout the province, giving residents an opportunity to share their concerns and collaborate with government on strategies and solutions for addressing environmental racism.
 
Zann introduced the bill at the province’s legislature on April 29, 2015. It was put forward to a second reading in the fall of 2015 and debated, but despite impassioned efforts from ENRICH to save the bill, it did not pass. , a failure Waldron attributes that failure to politics – Zann is a member of the New Democratic Party, which holds just five seats in the provincial legislature, whereas the governing Liberal party holds 34 seats and the opposition Progressive Conservative party holds 10 seats. “While that was disappointing, I’m very pleased it was debated,” Ingrid Waldron says, adding that the creation of the bill attracted media attention and helped raise valuable awareness of the existence of environmental racism in Nova Scotia among both politicians and the general public.  
 
The journey continues
 
To further this cause, Waldron herself is currently writing a book about environmental racism in Nova Scotia, set to be published in the fall of 2017. Earlier this year, the ENRICH group launched an interactive map, which plots examples of degraded environments and locations of African and Aboriginal communities.
 
Waldron acknowledges that some Nova Scotian communities affected by environmental racism seem tired and frustrated, and at times,  she has certainly shared those feelings. Reflecting on the last four years, Waldron describes challenges, but she remains upbeat. “Whenever I feel that the project is maybe about to end, I meet someone who comes into my office and says, ‘what do you think about this?’” she says. “It’s taken me on a different journey and allowed me to learn things and do things that are not in my toolbox. I’m constantly challenged and constantly intrigued.”
 
While ENRICH has yet to effect change politically and with regard to the geography of pollution, it has been able to contribute to more subtle improvements: Thanks to the research project, communities have been encouraged to address their situation collectively and to achieve objective documentation. A current ENRICH project for instance, in Lincolnville, involves teaching residents in affected communities how to test their own water for contaminants. If that project is successful, Waldron says, it could be brought to other communities, too. “This is a real, tangible, community-capacity building aspect to the project that I think is important,” Ingrid Waldron says. “People can see something is actually happening.”

Future Perfect Forschungen über Umweltrassismus

Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation
Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation | @ Silver David Cameron

In Nova Scotia liegen unverhältnismäßig viele Kommunen mit Minderheiten und geringen Einkommen in der Nähe von Umweltzerstörungen und belasteten Gebieten. Gerade läuft ein Forschungsprojekt, das ein Bewusstsein für diese Problematik weckt und außerdem betroffene Anwohner zum Handeln mobilisiert.

Als sich ein Aktivist, der zum Thema Umweltrassismus arbeitet, 2012 zum ersten Mal mit Ingrid Waldron traf und sie bat, sich an seinen Anstrengungen zu beteiligen, zögerte Waldron zunächst. Die Soziologin und Lehrbeauftragte für Krankenpflege an der Dalhousie University in Halifax in Nova Scotia wusste nicht viel über Umweltrassismus. Dieser Begriff beschreibt Situationen, in denen Umweltverschmutzung und Umweltzerstörungen – zum Beispiel Deponien, Müllverbrennungsanlagen oder Kohlekraftwerke – unverhältnismäßig oft in der Nähe von Gemeinden mit geringen Einkommen oder hohem Minderheitenanteil stattfinden.
 
Fälle von Umweltrassismus sind weltweit dokumentiert, und einer der ersten Fälle, der große öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erregte, ereignete sich in den 1980er-Jahren in Warren County im US-Bundesstaat North Carolina, als eine Sondermülldeponie in einer kleinen, vorwiegend afroamerikanischen Gemeinde errichtet wurde. Häufig verleitet die Kombination preisgünstiger Grundstücke mit dem vermeintlich geringen Widerstandspotenzial einer Gemeinde die Industrie, die Umwelt gefährdende Anlagen in solchen Gemeinden zu errichten.
 
„Ich zögerte, das Projekt zu übernehmen, denn es gehörte nicht zu meinen Interessengebieten und ich hatte keine Ahnung davon“, so Waldron. „Doch ich dachte darüber nach. Es schien eine Herausforderung zu sein. Es würde politisch sein und es wäre eine Gelegenheit, in den Gemeinden wirklich etwas zu verändern. Diese Aspekte begeisterten mich.“ Die Forscherin beschloss, zuzusagen.
 
Vier Jahre später nimmt das Projekt ENRICH (Environmental Noxiousness, Racial Inequities, and Community Health = Umweltschädlichkeit, Rassenungleichheit und Gesundheit in Gemeinden) Waldron immer noch voll in Anspruch. Als Direktorin leitet sie ein Team aus 14 Gemeindemitgliedern, sieben Wissenschaftlern, drei wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitern – darunter Dave Ron, der Aktivist, der das Projekt ins Leben gerufen hat – und zehn Studenten. Alle sind entschlossen, den Umweltrassismus in afrikanischen Gemeinden und Mi’kmaq-Gemeinden (die Mi’kmaq waren die Ureinwohner der kanadischen Atlantikprovinzen, heute gibt es in Nova Scotia 13 Mi’kmaq-Gemeinden) zu erforschen und dagegen anzugehen.
 

  • Ingrid Waldron © Ingrid Waldron/Dalhousie University
    Ingrid Waldron
  • Landfill in Lincolnville © Silver Donald Cameron
    Landfill in Lincolnville
  • Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation © Silver Donald Cameron
    Boat Harbour, a contaminated site in Pictou Landing First Nation
  • Landfill in Lincolnville 2 © Silver Donald Cameron
    Landfill in Lincolnville 2

Forschung für die Mobilisierung von Gemeinden nutzen
 
„Wir betrachten die Problematik aus einer Forschungsperspektive und wir nutzen die entsprechenden Forschungen und Daten, um Gemeinden zum Handeln zu mobilisieren“, sagt Waldron. Das Projekt betreibt vielfältige Aktivitäten, die von einem Kunst- und Bildungsprojekt für Jugendliche über eine Reihe von Workshops, die 2013 und 2014 veranstaltet wurde, bis dahin reicht, dass die Betreiber sich die Bedenken der Anwohner anhören und sie dazu ermuntern, aktiv zu werden. Diese Aktivitäten hat ein Dokumentarfilmer in dem online verfügbaren Film In Whose Backyard? dokumentiert (Link: siehe rechts).
 
Bei den erwähnten Workshops trafen sich Waldron und andere Teammitglieder mit Menschen in betroffenen Gemeinden, zum Beispiel in Lincolnville, einer afrikanischen Gemeinde in Nova Scotia, die 1784 von sogenannten Black Loyalists besiedelt wurde, schwarzen Gegnern der Unabhängigkeit. Die Einwohner hatten viele Befürchtungen wegen einer Deponie, die 1974 in weniger als einem Kilometer Entfernung angelegt wurde, und wegen einer zweiten, die 2006 eröffnet wurde.
 
Sie berichteten über häufiges Auftreten bestimmter Krankheiten, darunter Krebs und Diabetes, sie äußerten Bedenken, dass in den Boden sickernde Giftstoffe das Wasser kontaminieren, beschwerten sich über die schlechte Luftqualität sowie die Zunahme von Bären, Waschbären, Stinktieren und Insekten wegen des Mülls. Indes sagte die Gemeindeverwaltung, die Bevölkerung schrumpfe und die ökonomische Basis gerate ins Wanken, weil viele junge Menschen wegziehen.
 
Die von den Bürgern von Lincolnville geäußerten Klagen sind kein Einzelfall, denn auch Forschungsteilnehmer in der vorwiegend afrikanischen Gemeinde North Preston und in der Mi’kmaq-Gemeinde Membertou sprachen von hohen Krankheitsraten. Das ENRICH-Team kam zu dem Schluss, dass mehr Forschungen nötig sind, zum Beispiel sollen Zahlen zur Häufigkeit von Krebs und anderen Erkrankungen in den Gemeinden erfasst werden und den Einwohnern soll zu unabhängigen Tests von Wasser- und Bodenproben verholfen werden.
 
Laut der 2011 von Statistics Canada durchgeführten Erhebung National Household Survey (das sind die jüngsten verfügbaren statistischen Angaben) lebten in der Provinz Nova Scotia 20.790 „Afrikaner“, bei einer Gesamtbevölkerung von 906.175 Menschen. Laut der gleichen Erhebung bezeichneten sich 33.850 Menschen als Ureinwohner.
 
Der nächste Schritt nach der anfänglichen Informationsbeschaffung bestand für Waldron darin, die Erkenntnisse ihrer Forschungsgruppe mit Gesundheitsbehörden, Schulen, Kirchen und Medien zu teilen. Sie traf sich mit diversen staatlichen Stellen, um herauszufinden, was man darüber hinaus noch tun könnte. Über ihre vielen entsprechenden Termine sagt Waldron: „Eigentlich hat das überhaupt nichts gebracht.“ Manche Menschen, mit denen sie sich traf, sagten, sie seien dafür nicht zuständig, während andere sagten, sie hätten nicht die erforderlichen Ressourcen für die Anstrengungen, die Waldron einforderte. „Wir steckten in einer Sackgasse.“
 
Ein Gesetz gegen Umweltrassismus
 
Ein Teamkollege schlug Waldron vor, es anders zu versuchen und sich nicht an die Mitarbeiter diverser Regierungsstellen zu wenden, sondern an Provinzpolitiker, also gewählte Volksvertreter. Und so traf sie sich mit Leonore Zann, Mitglied des Parlaments von Nova Scotia, und diese schien von Waldrons Projekt hellauf begeistert zu sein.
 
Als Zann die Möglichkeit andeutete, als Abgeordnete (und nicht als Ministerin) einen Gesetzentwurf zum Thema Umweltrassismus einzubringen, war Waldron, wie sie sich erinnert, von dem Angebot und von den Möglichkeiten, die es eröffnen konnte, zunächst schockiert. Sie hatte nicht vorgehabt, auf eine solche politische Weise an die Problematik heranzugehen.
 
Schließlich arbeiteten Zann, Mitglied der Nova Scotia New Democratic Party, und Waldron gemeinsam einen Entwurf für Bill 111: An Act to Address Environmental Racism (etwa: Gesetz zur Bewältigung des Umweltrassismus) aus. Das war die erste Gesetzesinitiative einer Abgeordneten in Kanada zu diesem Problem und darin wurde dargelegt, dass die Regierung einen Ausschuss einrichten müsse, der sich mit Mi’kmaq-Gemeinden, afrikanischen und akadischen Gemeinden in der ganzen Provinz beraten und so den Einwohnern Gelegenheit geben solle, ihre Bedenken mitzuteilen sowie mit dem Staat gemeinsam an Strategien und Lösungen zur Bewältigung des Umweltrassismus zu arbeiten.
 
Zann brachte den Gesetzentwurf am 29. April 2015 in die gesetzgebende Versammlung ein. Er schaffte es im Herbst 2015 in die zweite Lesung und wurde diskutiert, doch trotz leidenschaftlicher Bemühungen seitens ENRICH, das Gesetz durchzubringen, wurde es nicht verabschiedet. Waldron sieht für dieses Scheitern politische Gründe – Zann gehört der New Democratic Party an, die im Provinzparlament nur fünf Sitze hat, während die regierende Liberal Party 34 Sitze und die oppositionelle Progressive Conservative Party zehn Sitze hat. „Das war zwar eine Enttäuschung, doch es freut mich sehr, das überhaupt darüber debattiert wurde“, so Waldron, und sie setzt hinzu, dass die Gesetzesinitiative mediale Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zog und dazu beitrug, sowohl bei Politikern als auch in der breiten Öffentlichkeit wertvolles Bewusstsein für die Existenz von Umweltrassismus in Nova Scotia zu wecken.
 
Die Reise geht weiter
 
Um ihr Anliegen weiter voranzutreiben, schreibt Waldron derzeit ein Buch über Umweltrassismus in Nova Scotia, das im Herbst 2017 erscheinen soll. Bereits in diesem Jahr hat ENRICH eine interaktive Landkarte herausgegeben, die Beispiele für Umweltschäden und die Lage afrikanischer Gemeinden und Ureinwohner-Gemeinden zeigt.
 
Waldron räumt ein, dass einige von Umweltrassismus betroffene Gemeinden in Nova Scotia müde und frustriert sind und dass sie selbst sich natürlich auch schon so gefühlt hat. Wenn sie über die vergangenen vier Jahre nachdenkt, spricht sie zwar von Herausforderungen, doch sie bleibt positiv gestimmt: „Immer wenn ich das Gefühl habe, das Projekt stehe vielleicht vor seinem Ende, kommt jemand in mein Büro spaziert und sagt: ‚Was halten Sie denn davon?’ Das Projekt schickte mich auf eine ganz andere Reise und ermöglichte es mir, Dinge zu lernen und Dinge zu tun, die von Haus aus nicht zu meinem Repertoire gehören. Ich werde immer wieder gefordert und bin immer wieder fasziniert.“
 
Zwar hat ENRICH bislang weder politisch noch hinsichtlich der Geografie der Umweltverschmutzung etwas bewirkt, doch konnte das Team Beiträge zu eher subtilen Verbesserungen leisten: Dank des Forschungsprojekts haben nun Gemeinden den Mut, ihre Situation gemeinsam anzupacken und eine objektive Dokumentation zu erlangen. Beispielsweise bekommen im Rahmen eines laufenden ENRICH-Projekts in Lincolnville die Bewohner betroffener Gemeinden unter anderem erklärt, wie sie ihr Wasser selbst auf Schadstoffe untersuchen können. Falls dieses Projekt erfolgreich ist, so Waldron, könnte es auch in andere Gemeinden getragen werden: „Das ist ein realer, greifbarer Aspekt des Projekts, der in den Gemeinden Fähigkeiten aufbaut, und das halte ich für wichtig. Die Menschen sehen, dass sich wirklich etwas tut.“