Protest Song in Germany “Destroy What Destroys You!”

Hip-hop artists like the trio Ok Kid! from Cologne often become a new generation of protest singers.
Photo (detail): Stefan Braunbarth / Sony

Underground has become complicated. Because it assumes that there are norms that must be protested against. Nestled in the comfort of a consumer culture, however, this is difficult. Today it is hip-hop that best manages the balancing act of protesting credibility. But the way there was bumpy.

Pop music in Germany has had numerous British and American midwives. The hip-swinging southern truck-driver Elvis Aaron Presley, for example, arrived in Bremenhaven in 1958 with the troopship General Randall. Two years later the Liverpool Beatles painted the Hamburg Reeperbahn red. Out of the worship of these originals soon arose German bands and solo careers. In February 1963, for instance, the Rattles, around singer Achim Reichel, won a band competition at the Star Club in Hamburg and thereupon were regarded as the German Beatles. The “protest” in this still awkward and school English-singing subculture confined itself to “feminine” hair length and a wild life beyond the typical German virtues.

Beginnings of protest pop

Protest in pop, manifested in formulated texts, is supposed to have begun parallel to the invention of the hippie culture on the American West Coast and the psychedelic drug trips of the 1960s. Whether the song writers around Franz-Josef Degenhardt at the medieval fortress Waldeck in the Rhineland-Palatinate invented the “Against” in the German music scene may be disputed. At any rate, a broad social climate was first tangible in the big cities only in 1969, when the song Macht Kaputt, Was Euch Kaputt Macht (i.e. Destroy What Destroys You) by the Berlin anarchist poets Ton, Steine, Scherben (literally: Clay Stone Shards) began making waves.

From then on, a scene formed that realized musically conveyed protest in political and social terms. The rock and folk bards had to find their own language, for German at the time belonged to the world of pop songs and so was looked upon as at the very least uncool. The opposition became more substantial in events such as the “Essen Song Days” (founded in 1968) or in individual careers such as those of the expatriated East German civil rights activist Bettina Wegner and her powerfully eloquent compatriot Wolf Biermann.

After the Düsseldorf artist Joseph Beuys sang Sonne statt Reagan (with verses like “Man, wrinkle-face, the game is over. Take your missiles home!”) and the Cologne group Gänsehaut (i.e. Goosebumps) composed the environmental activist ballad Karl, der Käfer (i.e. Karl, the Beetle, 1983), sung protest became popular beyond the circles of left-over hippy revolutionaries. Stylistically, however, this scene remained confined to the spectrum of folk music; the “rockers”, apart from the part about shards, held their protest lyrics aloof from it. A word artist like Udo Lindenberg preferred to sing about rough motorcycle rockers and other sinister figures.
Ton Steine Scherben: Macht kaputt was euch kaputt macht, source: YouTube

Subculture and New German Wave

With the brief flare-up of punk and New German Wave, music texts in German then found a broader stylistic basis. Electronic musicians, guitar-tormentors and minimalists – all experimented with the mother tongue. Protest, Dada and exponents of the New Music all influenced one another, at first largely unmolested by the major labels of the record industry and the flair of the subculture. The denizens of this urban underground made a point of marking themselves off from what was perceived to be commercial German rock, including bands and artists such as BAP from Cologne, Herbert Grönemeyer, Klaus Lage and Wolf Maahn.

It was the decidedly socially critical texts of the fun-punk band Die Ärzte (i.e. The Doctors) in the later 1980s that first surmounted the boundary between the protesting rock establishment and most young post-punks. After similar punk beginnings, Die Goldenen Zitronen (i.e. The Golden Lemons) also allowed themselves to be inspired by krautrock and budding hip-hop; songs such as Das bisschen Totschlag (i.e. That Little Bit of Manslaughter) (1994) denounced the right-wing extremism of the Wende years and German politics’s and law’s lax handling of brown violence. The second generation anarcho-punk of the 1990s brought with it hardly any new stylistic forms, instead agitating in wild guitar staccato against right-wing violence, arbitrary government authority and the German army drill, as did the Swabian band Wizo in Doof wie Sch… (i.e. Dumb as Shi …).

With the fall of the Wall in 1989 and the German-language adaptation of the originally New York suburb creation of rap, the generation of then twenty-year-olds were also seized by “lyrics and protest”. The hip-hop track Fremd im Eigenen Land (i.e. Strangers in Their Own Land) by the Heidelberg trio Advanced Chemistry (1992), for instance, set an early counterpoint to the casual fun rhymes of the far more successful Stuttgart quartet of the Fantastische Vier (i.e. Fantastic Four). Whether critical, satirical or banal, you were again allowed to compose lyrics in German and an entire generation of young musicians, ranging from the Hamburg School to the rural resistance in dialect à la Ringsgwandl or Kofelgschroa, dared something. Some raised their voices even in the direction of art, such as Peter Licht from Cologne, who composed his Lieder vom Ende des Kapitalismus (i.e. Songs about the End of Capitalism) in 2006.

Hip-hop as a voice

While the garish hedonists of the techno era with their party mood could hardly have been more conformist and consumerist, in hip-hop a new if incongruosuly articulated protest potential grew up in the grey suburbs. Thus today, in their Es ist die Systematik (i.e. It’s the Systematic), the capitalism-critical Anarchist Academy texts: “No one knows what hunger really is, and what it means to be a refugee”. Commercially more successful groups such as the Cologne cross-over crew Ok Kid! and the rapper Caspar, on the other hand, slave away at the general malaise of “Generation Y” and show up the fascists from next door in songs like Gute Menschen (i.e. Good People) (Ok Kid!, 2015). But this hardly leads to a real underground scene. There remain individual voices, like that of the Erfurt songwriter Sarah Lesch, whose song Testament won the “Protestsongcontest” in Vienna in February 2016, a song devoted to society in general and to the perceived inhumanity of school in particular.

So the boundaries between artistic resistance and market-smart cleverness have become fluid. At a time when the economic gap between rich superstars and permanently precarious artists yawns ever greater, the artistic juggling of market and opportunity, dependence and autonomy, has become a challenge. It belongs to the essence of pop music that private feelings are highlighted. The opposite path of declaring politics a private affair has been transformed from the empathy of the 1970s into the reservation of the present. For from honest, upright protest to the transparently embarrassing is often the difference of only a few lines, and many artists have here become cautious.

Protestsongs in Deutschland „Macht kaputt, was euch kaputt macht!“

Wer protestiert, macht heute oft Hip-Hop wie das Trio Ok Kid! aus Köln.
Wer protestiert, macht heute oft Hip-Hop wie das Trio Ok Kid! aus Köln. | Foto (Ausschnitt): Stefan Braunbarth / Sony

Underground ist kompliziert geworden. Denn er setzt voraus, dass es Normen gibt, gegen die protestiert werden muss. Eingebettet in die Bequemlichkeit einer Konsumkultur fällt das jedoch schwer. Noch am ehesten schafft heute der Hip-Hop den Spagat protestierender Glaubwürdigkeit. Der Weg dorthin jedoch war kurvig.

Popmusik in Deutschland hat zahlreiche britische und amerikanische Geburtshelfer. Der hüftschwingende Südstaaten-LKW-Fahrer Elvis Aaron Presley zu Beispiel kam 1958 mit dem Truppentransporter General Randall nach Bremerhaven. Zwei Jahre später machten die Liverpooler Beatles die Clubs rund um die Hamburger Reeperbahn unsicher. Schnell entstanden aus der Verehrung für diese Originale eigene Bands und Solokarrieren. The Rattles etwa um Sänger Achim Reichel gewannen im Februar 1963 im Hamburger Starclub Hamburg einen Bandwettbewerb und galten daraufhin als die deutschen Beatles. Das Widerständige in dieser noch ungelenken und Schul-Englisch singenden Subkultur beschränkte sich auf „feminine“ Haarlängen und einen wilden Lebensstil jenseits der typisch deutschen Tugenden.

Anfänge des Protest-Pop

Protest im Pop, der sich in ausformulierten Texten manifestierte, sollte parallel zur Erfindung der Hippiekultur an der US-Westküste und den psychedelischen Drogentrips ab Mitte der 1960er-Jahre beginnen. Ob nun die Liedermacher auf der Rheinland-Pfälzischen Burg Waldeck um Franz-Josef Degenhardt das Dagegen-Sein in der deutschen Musikszene erfunden haben, darüber lässt sich streiten. Ein breiteres gesellschaftliches Klima jedenfalls war in den Metropolen erst vorhanden, als der 1969 entstandene Song Macht Kaputt, Was Euch Kaputt Macht der Berliner Anarcho-Poeten Ton, Steine, Scherben seine Kreise zog.

Von da an bildete sich die Szene, die den musikalisch transportierten Protest auch politisch und gesellschaftlich umsetzte. Die Rocker und Folkbarden mussten schließlich noch ihre eigene Sprache finden, denn Deutsch gehörte bis dato der Schlagerzunft – und galt somit mindestens als uncool. Substanzieller wurde die Opposition mit Veranstaltungen wie den „Essener Songtagen“ (gegründet 1968) oder mit Einzelkarrieren, etwa der aus der DDR ausgebürgerten Bürgerrechtlerin Bettina Wegner oder ihrem wortgewaltig agierenden Landsmann Wolf Biermann.

Seit der Düsseldorfer Joseph Beuys 1982 sein Sonne statt Reagan fabulierte (mit Strophen wie „Mensch, Knitterface, das Spiel ist aus. Nimm deine Raketen mit nach Haus!“) oder die Kölner Formation Gänsehaut die Umweltaktivisten-Ballade Karl, der Käfer (1983) dichtete, wurde gesungener Protest über die Kreise übrig gebliebener Revoluzzer der Hippie-Zeit populär. Stilistisch blieb diese Szene jedoch auf das Folk-Spektrum reduziert, die „Rocker“ hielten sich, von den Scherben einmal abgesehen, mit ihrer Protestlyrik zurück. Ein Sprachkünstler wie Udo Lindenberg sang lieber von derben Motorradrockern und anderen sinistren Gestalten.
Ton Steine Scherben: Macht kaputt was euch kaputt macht, source: YouTube

Subkultur und Neue Deutsche Welle

Mit dem kurzzeitigen Aufflammen von Punk und der Neuen Deutschen Welle bekam das Texten auf Deutsch dann eine breitere stilistische Basis. Elektroniker, Gitarrenquäler und Minimalisten – sie alle experimentierten mit der Muttersprache. Protest, Dada und Neutöner beeinflussten sich gegenseitig, anfangs weithin unbehelligt von den großen Labels der Schallplatten-Industrie und dem Flair der Subkultur. In diesem urbanen Underground legte man Wert auf die Abgrenzung zum kommerziell empfundenen Deutschrock mit Bands und Künstlern wie BAP aus Köln, Herbert Grönemeyer, Klaus Lage oder Wolf Maahn.

Erst die Fun-Punk-Band Die Ärzte überwand mit dezidiert gesellschaftskritischen Texten in den späteren 1980er-Jahren diese Grenze zwischen dem protestierenden Rock-Establishment und den meist jüngeren Postpunks. Die Goldenen Zitronen wiederum ließen sich nach ähnlichen Punk-Anfängen durchaus auch von Krautrock und dem knospenden Hip-Hop inspirieren, Songs wie Das bisschen Totschlag (1994) beispielsweise prangerten den Rechtsextremismus der Wendejahre und den laxen Umgang von Politik und Justiz mit der rechtsextremen Gewalt an. Der Anarcho-Punk der zweiten Generation in den 1990er-Jahren brachte wiederum stilistisch kaum neue Spielarten hervor, sondern agitierte im wilden Gitarren-Stakkato gegen rechte Gewalt, staatliche Willkür oder auch den Drill bei der Bundeswehr, wie etwa die schwäbische Band Wizo in Doof wie Sch….

Mit dem Mauerfall 1989 und der deutschsprachigen Adaption der ursprünglichen New Yorker Vorstadt-Kreation Rap wurde die Generation der damals Zwanzigjährigen darüber hinaus von „Lyrics & Protest“ erfasst. Der Hip-Hop-Track Fremd im Eigenen Land des Heidelberger Trios Advanced Chemistry (1992) etwa setzte früh einen Gegenpol zu den lockeren Spaßreimen des weitaus erfolgreicheren Quartetts Die Fantastischen Vier aus Stuttgart. Ob kritisch, satirisch oder banal – man durfte jedenfalls wieder auf Deutsch dichten und eine ganze Generation junger Musiker von der Hamburger Schule bis zum mundartlichen Landwiderstand à la Ringsgwandl oder Kofelgschroa traute sich plötzlich was. Manch einer erhob die Stimme sogar Richtung Kunst wie der Kölner Peter Licht, der 2006 augenzwinkernd seine Lieder vom Ende des Kapitalismus formulierte.

Hiphop als Sprachrohr

Während die quietschbunten Hedonisten der Techno-Ära mit ihrer Partylaune systemkonformer und konsumaffiner kaum hätten sein können, wuchs im Hip-Hop grauer Vorstädte bis zur Gegenwart neues, wenn auch inhomogen artikuliertes Protestpotenzial heran. So textet heute beispielsweise die Kapitalismus-kritische Anarchist Academy in Es ist die Systematik: „Keiner weiß, was Hunger wirklich ist, und was es bedeutet, wenn Du ein Flüchtling bist“. Kommerziell erfolgreichere Formationen wie die Kölner Crossover-Crew Ok Kid! oder der Rapper Caspar arbeiten sich hingegen am allgemeinen Unwohlsein der Generation Y ab und führen in Liedern wie Gute Menschen (Ok Kid!, 2015) schon mal den Faschisten von nebenan vor. Doch zu einer echten Underground-Szene führt das nicht. Es bleiben einzelne Stimmen, die wie die Erfurter Liedermacherin Sarah Lesch mit ihrem Song Testament im Februar 2016 den „Protestsongcontest“ in Wien gewinnen können, einem Lied, das sich der Gesellschaft im Allgemeinen und der als unmenschlich empfundenen Schule im Speziellen widmet.

So sind die Grenzen zwischen künstlerischem Widerstand und marktkonformer Cleverness fließend geworden. In einer Zeit, wo die ökonomische Schere zwischen reichen Superstars und dauerhaft prekären Künstlern und Künstlerinnen immer weiter aufgeht, wird das künstlerische Jonglieren zwischen Markt und Möglichkeit, Abhängigkeit und Autonomie zur Herausforderung. Es gehört zum Wesen der Popmusik, dass private Befindlichkeiten herausgestellt werden. Der umgekehrte Weg, Politik zur Privatangelegenheit zu erklären, hat sich von der Empathie der Siebzigerjahre in die Zurückhaltung der Gegenwart verwandelt. Denn vom ehrlich-aufrechten Protest zur durchsichtigen Peinlichkeit sind es oft nur ein paar Zeilen und viele Künstler sind da vorsichtig geworden.