Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Virtual Reality &
Journalism

Journalism and the newest immersive technologies come together to reimagine our interaction with digital society. 

Between April and November 2018 professional virtual reality creators, artists, thinkers and journalists from Canada and Germany are invited to network, exchange knowledge, collaborate on new works, and share their critical explorations with the public. Follow the initiative here and via #VRRV2018.

VR:RV© Goethe-Institut

VR:RV: Fostering Networking, Collaboration and Co-Production

Highlighting creativity, entrepreneurship, innovation and vision, the Canadian VR scene has risen to international attention over the last five years - producing some of the most celebrated VR pieces and talents. Equally as prolific, but less well-known abroad, the German VR scene has also been expanding and exploring VR as a new medium, with application in a variety of fields including science, medicine and journalism.

This exchange aims to invigorate the scenes in both countries by creating the ideal setting for networking, collaboration and co-production, while also rethinking the language and modes by which we engage both with VR and with the wider digital world. VR:RV intends to provoke conversations, and ultimately VR-works, that challenge, expose, critique and problematize the digital society through issues such as artificial intelligence, algorithms, digital privacy, digital democracy and the future of the internet.

Together with Canadian and German partner organizations, a series of internal workshop sessions and public panels, curated by Samara Chadwick, is organized for and with the project participants in Montreal and Berlin. VR:RV is a project by the Goethe-Institut, realized with the support of the Federal Foreign Office of Germany. Partners include: MUTEK_IMG, re:publica, the National Film Board of Canada, the Canadian Film Centre, ARTE Germany, Eye Steel Film, Mozilla Foundation, Doc Circuit Montréal (RIDM's industry event), la SODEC and Retune. The Canada Council for the Arts supported the first workshop in the series during MUTEK_IMG.

 


Follow the Conversation

Annina Zwettler

Annina Zwettler
“It’s like a bricolage process…”

…we don’t know where it is heading. For me as an editor and program developer, it is interesting to see how this process is happening.

Christiane Miethge

Christiane Miethge
"You can make people think"

VR is a really emotional medium. You can really make people care about things they would usually find too abstract.

 

Liam Maloney

Liam Maloney
“I am looking for intimate ways into bigger stories…”

 
…so that I can convince people of their importance.

Sönke Kirchhof

Sönke Kirchhof
"We are curious about VR"

We are trying to keep our minds open for everything because all of these projects brought us some learning.

Tess Takahashi

Tess Takahashi
"...a very embodied, sensory experience."

I’m an interested in the ways that we know the world through the senses, but also through diagrams, graphs and various kinds of media. The thing about virtual technology is that it is very technologized, but it is also a very embodied, sensory experience.


Dossier


VR:RV PROGRAM

VRRV

Panel | Wednesday April 11 | 1:30 pm
Documenting the Digital Society: VR Reflects on Itself

This panel brings together the leading thinkers and journalists of the VR:RV project to discuss their research on the deep web, artificial intelligence, big data and brain computer interfaces. 

VRRV

Panel | Wednesday April 11 | 3:30 pm
Visualising the Invisible: VR Encounters in Non-Fiction

What are the implications of VR as voyeurism, as witness to trauma and conflict: what can we expose and what should we ultimately leave to the imagination?

vrrv

Panel | Thursday, April 12 | 9:00 AM
MUTEK_IMG VR-Salon | PUBLIC PANELS

What happens when reality and virtual reality intersect? 
Panel 1: (Anti) Manifesto, Part 2: Where are we now ?
Panel 2: Stories We Sell

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Discussion | Wednesday, May 2, 5:30 pm | Pop-Up Room @ Re:publica
Re:Publica: VR (Anti) Manifesto Part III

What happens when reality and virtual reality intersect? Beyond games, sci-fi and straight up science, how do we code VR in the non-fiction spaces of art? journalism? documentary? What does VR really mean for these realities? What are the limitations and ethics of that code? What does it mean to ‘construct’ reality? To engineer emotions?
Panel with: Fernanda Parente, Ana Serrano, Sandra Rodriguez, Karim Ben Khelifa

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Discussion | May 3, 10:00 am | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re:Publica: Project Presentations - VR:RV & Performersion

We open our “Immersive Arts”-Topic with a group of Lightning Talks. This panel brings together participants of the VR:RV project to present their recent research. They are joined by artists of the Berlin-based Performersion-Festival. All of them present their projects in 5 minutes each.
Panelists: Paul Feigelfeld, Liam Maloney, Tess Takahashi, Christiane Miethge

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Discussion | May 3, 4:15 pm | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re: Publica: VR:RV - Stories We Tell

“Story and narrative are the code for humanity's operating system." (Kamal Sinclair, Making a New Reality)  Which codes are embedded in the way we tell stories, and how can VR explode and expand these scripts?
Panelists: Chris Köver, Nyla Innuksuk, Etienne Turpin

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Discussion | May 3, 5:30 pm | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re:Publica: VR:RV - Visualising the Invisible: VR Encounters in Non-Fiction

What does VR allow us to witness that is otherwise invisible? How can new immersive spaces invite us to explore the frontiers of journalism, science, education? What are the implications of VR as voyeurism, as witness to trauma and conflict: what can we expose and what should we ultimately leave to the imagination?
Panelists: Liam Maloney, Carolin Wiedemann, Sophie Schulenburg

VRRV

Exhibition | May 2.- 4. | Main Hall @ Re:publica
VR:RV Exhibition: Goethe-Institut x Phi Centre

Selected VR works from Canada and Germany are co-presented by the Goethe-Institut and the Phi Centre: The Nomad Trilogy by well-known Montréal-based VR studio Felix and Paul (Herders, Maasai, Sea Gypsies), and one work produced by the National Film Board, Blind Vaysha by Theodore Ushev. German works include the Arte-produced pieces Rhizomat VR  by Mona el Gammal, Brigitte and Jonathan Meese: Mother and Son  by Jonathan Meese, and Moderat by the German VR studio, Sehsucht.

vrrv

Project Conclusion in Montreal

The final programme reconvening the VR:RV participants will take place in November during the Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal and will be announced at a later date.
 


VR:RV Experts


VR:RV Partners

VR:RV Partners

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Virtuelle Realität &
Journalismus

Journalismus trifft neueste, immersive Technologien, um unsere Interaktion mit der digitalen Gesellschaft zu überdenken. 

Professionelle VR-ProduzentInnen, KünstlerInnen, TheoretikerInnen und JournalistInnen aus Kanada und Deutschland sind zwischen April und November 2018 eingeladen, sich auszutauschen, gemeinsam an neuen Projektideen zu arbeiten und ihre kritischen Reflexionen mit der Öffentlichkeit zu teilen. Folgen Sie der Initiative hier und über #VRRV2018.

 

VR:RV: Förderung von Networking, Zusammenarbeit und Koproduktionen

Die kanadische VR-Szene zeichnet sich durch Kreativität, Unternehmergeist, Innovation und Vision aus und brachte in den letzten fünf Jahren wegweisende Werke und Talente hervor, die internationale Aufmerksamkeit erhielten. Weniger bekannt, aber ebenso erfolgreich verbreitete sich VR in Deutschland als neues Medium zum Beispiel in der Wissenschaft, der Medizin und im Journalismus.

Das Austauschprojekt soll die Szene in beiden Ländern bereichern, indem sie ein ideales Umfeld für Networking, Zusammenarbeit und Koproduktionen schafft. Gleichzeitig besteht das Ziel darin, Sprache und Modi neu zu überdenken, mit denen wir uns in der virtuell-realen sowie der digitalen Welt im weiteren Sinne bewegen.  VR:RV soll Konversationen anregen und zur Kreation von VR-Arbeiten führen, welche die digitale Gesellschaft mittels Themen wie künstlicher Intelligenz, Algorithmen, digitaler Privatheit und Demokratie sowie der Zukunft des Internets herausfordern, kritisieren, darstellen und problematisieren. 

Gemeinsam mit kanadischen und deutschen Partnerorganisationen wird eine Reihe von internen Workshops und öffentlichen Panels, kuratiert von Samara Chadwick, für und mit den Projektteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmern in Montreal und Berlin organisiert. VR:RV ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Institut Montréal, das mit Unterstützung des Auswärtigen Amtes realisiert wurde. Partner sind: MUTEK_IMG, re:publicaNational Film Board of Canada, Canadian Film Centre, ARTE Deutschland, Eye Steel Film, Mozilla Foundation, Doc Circuit Montréal (RIDMs Industrieveranstaltung), SODEC und Retune. Canada Council for the Arts unterstützt den ersten Workshop der Reihe während MUTEK_IMG.


Folgen Sie der Konversation

Annina Zwettler

Annina Zwettler
“Wir befinden uns im Prozess des Ausprobierens…”

... und wissen nicht, wohin das führen wird. Für mich als Redakteurin und Programmentwicklerin ist es interessant zu sehen, wie dieser Prozess abläuft.

Christiane Miethge

Christiane Miethge
„Man kann Leute zum Nachdenken anregen“

VR ist ein sehr emotionales Medium. Man kann die Leute wirklich dazu bringen, Dinge zu spüren, die ihnen normalerweise zu abstrakt erscheinen.

 

Liam Maloney

Liam Maloney
“Ich suche nach persönlichen Zugängen zu komplexen Geschichten…”

…damit ich die Menschen davon überzeugen kann, wie wichtig diese sind.

 

Sönke Kirchhof

Sönke Kirchhof
„Wir sind neugierig auf VR“

Wir versuchen, unseren Verstand für alles offen zu halten, weil all diese Projekte uns etwas gelehrt haben.

Tess Takahashi

Tess Takahashi
„...eine sehr verkörperte, sinnliche Erfahrung."

Ich bin daran interessiert, wie wir die Welt durch die Sinne kennen, aber auch durch Diagramme, Grafiken und verschiedene Medien. Die Sache mit virtueller Technologie ist, dass bei aller Technik auch eine sehr verkörperte, sinnliche Erfahrung sein kann.


Dossier


VR:RV PROGRAMM

VRRV

Diskussion | Mittwoch 11. April | 13:30 Uhr
Documenting the Digital Society: VR Reflects on Itself

Bei diesem Panel kommen führende Denkerinnen und Journalisten des VR:RV Projektes zur Diskussion ihrer Forschungen zu den Themen Deep Web, Künstliche Intelligenz, Big Data und Gehirn/Computer Schnittstellen zusammen.

VRRV

Diskussion | Mittwoch 11. April | 15:30 Uhr
Visualising the Invisible: VR Encounters in Non-Fiction

Was sind die Auswirkungen von VR als Voyeurismus, als Zeuge von Trauma und Konflikten: Was sollte man erlebbar machen und was der Vorstellungskraft überlassen?
 

vrrv

Diskussion | Donnerstag 12. April | 9:00 Uhr
MUTEK_IMG VR-Salon | ÖFFENTLICHE DISKUSSIONEN

Was passiert in der Schnittmenge von Realität und virtueller Realität?
Panel 1: (Anti) Manifesto, Part 2: Where are we now ?
Panel 2: Stories We Sell

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Diskussion | Mittwoch, 2. Mai 17:30 Uhr | Pop-Up Room @ Re:publica
Re:Publica: VR (Anti) Manifesto Part III

Was geschieht, wenn virtuelle Realität und Wirklichkeit aufeinandertreffen? Wie kodieren wir VR nicht nur in Spielen, Science-Fiction und Wissenschaft, sondern in Non-Fiction? In Journalismus? In Dokumentationen? Welche Bedeutung nimmt VR darin ein? Welche Grenzen und ethischen Prinzipien sind zu beachten? Was bedeutet es, Realität zu ‚konstruieren‘ und Emotionen zu programmieren?
Mit: Fernanda Parente, Ana Serrano, Sandra Rodriguez, Karim Ben Khelifa.

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Diskussion | 3. Mai, 10:00 Uhr | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re:Publica: Projektpräsentationen: VR:RV & Performersion

Das Thema „Immersive Kunst“ wird mit einer Reihe von kurzen Gespräche eingeleitet. Auf dem Podium werden die Teilnehmer des Projekts VR:RV sowie KünstlerInnen des Berliner Performersion Festivals in jeweils fünf Minuten ihre aktuelle Forschung sowie neuesten Projekte vorstellen.
PanelteilnehmerInnen: Paul Feigelfeld, Liam Maloney, Tess Takahashi, Christiane Miethge

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Diskussion | 3. Mai, 16:15 Uhr | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re: Publica: VR:RV – Geschichten, die wir erzählen

“Story and narrative are the code for humanity's operating system." (Kamal Sinclair, Making a New Reality) Welche Codes spielen eine Rolle, wenn wir Geschichten erzählen und wie kann man mittels VR deren Beschränkungen überwinden?
Panel: Chris Köver, Nyla Innuksuk, Etienne Turpin

VR:RV @ Re:Publica

Diskussion | 3. Mai, 17:30 Uhr | Bühne 9 @ Re:Publica
Re:Publica: VR:RV Visualisierung des Unsichtbaren: VR trifft auf Non-Fiction

Wo erlaubt uns VR Dinge oder Ereignisse zu sehen, die ansonsten unsichtbar sind? Wie können uns neue, immersive Welten dazu einladen, die Grenzen von Journalismus, Wissenschaft und Bildung zu erfassen und zu überschreiten. Wie ist die Beziehung zwischen VR und Voyeurismus, als Zeuge von Trauma und Konflikten: Was können wir darstellen und was sollte man der Vorstellungskraft überlassen?
Panel: Liam Maloney, Carolin Wiedemann, Sophie Schulenburg

VRRV

Ausstellung | 2.- 4. Mai | Haupthalle @ Re:publica
VR:RV Ausstellung : Goethe-Institut x Phi Centre

Die Ausstellung mit ausgewählten VR-Werken aus Kanada und Deutschland wird präsentiert vom Goethe-Institut, dem Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und vom Phi Centre, einer multidisziplinären Kunst- und Kulturorganisation mit Sitz in Montreal.

vrrv

Projektabschluss und Ausblick in Montreal

Der letzte Programmpunkt der VR:RV TeilnehmerInnen findet während der Rencontres internationales du documentaire de Montréal im November statt. Details werden zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekanntgegeben. 


VR:RV Expertinnen und Experten


VR:RV Partner

VR:RV Partners

Top