How Canada is spearheading media revolution Meeting in the middle

Augmented Montreal
© Colourbox / Giovanni

Canada is a world leader in film, games and interactive media. That’s no coincidence, but the result of a visionary media policy that allows the country to assert itself successfully against the superior power of Hollywood. We take a look at Montreal.

What was once a small Gallic village in an English-speaking world is now a bustling metropolis with four million inhabitants and one of the most important media locations in North America. Montreal is home to Ubisoft, the Cirque du Soleil and to leading postproduction service providers. The National Film Board of Canada is also based here. The city and the province of Quebec are working hard to bring the classic content industries into the twenty-first century. In doing so, they have developed a radiance that reaches far beyond the starting point of their media policy – the preservation of francophone culture as exception culturelle in Canada.
 
Four major factors have contributed to this success. The first is the focus on computer- and video games. The Canadian games industry is the third largest in the world after the US and Japan. Unlike in Germany, The Ubisoft building in Montreal The Ubisoft building in Montreal | © Monik Richter which, to this date, still does not have a triple-A studio, this branch of entertainment has been deliberately expanded ever since its beginnings in the 1980s. A tax deduction on labour costs introduced in 1996 promotes the development of game companies and also makes them appealing for foreign productions. Ubisoft produces Assassin’s Creed and Warner Brothers makes the Batman games in Montreal. Nothing is felt here of the rejection by the educated middle class this industry still suffers under in Germany. Seventy percent of Canadians consider games an important economic segment that will continue to secure jobs for them in the future. In the digital age, the emphasis on computer and video games is proving to be a competitive advantage: Web-based entertainment is inherently interactive. Concepts and tools from game design play a major role in the development of new entertainment formats.
 
Another success factor is the funding system, which specifically takes into account changes in media usage habits and consistently promotes the connection of old and new media. In Quebec, three institutions focus on this: SODEC, CMF and NFB. Each enables media innovation in its own way. SODEC (Société de développement des entreprises culturelles) is a state agency promoting the cultural and creative industries. In addition to film and television, it also includes art, theatre, music and the book industry. Supporting games and interactive content since 2016, SODEC has clearly recognised the digital dimension of the arts and media and is challenging the traditional content industries to reinvent themselves. The agency (budget 2018: 100 million CAD, shared with the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ)) promotes companies as well as projects, and coordinates tax credits related to media production.
 
Joint funding for TV productions and interactive media is provided by the Canada Media Fund. The CMF supports experimental media and software development with a budget of 42 million CAD (in 2018). Projects must prove either commercial potential or social relevance. For instance, in 2016 the Virtual Reality adaptation of Stephen King’s novel Insomnia was promoted. The CMF also supports convergent entertainment formats (budget 2018: 280 million CAD), whereby television and digital media must be combined in such a way that they are enabled to maximize their reach. The intersection can either consist of a cross-platform sales strategy (TV plus video on demand, for example) or of a transmedia value-creation model, whereby content is created for each pathway. Major TV shows, national sports events and popular series like Unité 9 are the beneficiaries of this mechanism. Although the CMF’s promotion of media convergence does stimulate innovation, it also has some disadvantages. What if a project includes only one feature, such as a games app? In this case, the funding opportunities can be quite limited, which disadvantages for example the creators of independent games.
 
The source of CMF’s funds is also interesting. Part of the money is generated from repayments and profits from finished productions. In addition, distribution channels such as cable, radio and satellite must contribute to the production of new content. There are plans to extend this obligation to Internet providers and telecommunications companies, but have not yet come to pass.
 
The National Film Board of Canada holds a special status. The NFB (budget 2018: 35 million CAD ) acts as a film fund, production house and laboratory all in one and in its long history has played a major role in the shaping of Cinéma Vérité, IMAX, 3D and computer animation. In 2009, the institution redirected its focus and has since been equally promoting feature films, documentaries, animation and new media. In the digital domain, the NFB adopts a platform-agnostic approach. Some projects, like the game I Love Potatoes about social innovation, are purely web-based. Others such as Unknown Photographer, which turns a photo archive from the First World War into an interactive experience, begin as an e-book and are then adapted to a new medium like Virtual Reality. Another project was made available exclusively on the live streaming video portal Twitch.
 

The question is always how emerging technologies can lead to innovative contents and forms. Due to an interdisciplinary development approach, projects often extend to various media and platforms (Journal of Insomnia, Cancer of Time). An important aim is to initiate a social discourse and to let the media users speak for themselves (Bear 71, Megaphone). The choice of project partners is rather open. Even newspaper publishers can initiate projects and receive funding, as it was the case with the New York Times for the feature Short History of the Highrise.
 
The third success factor is the educational system. Diverse multidisciplinary degree programs and media innovation labs allow students to experiment with new narrative forms early on and to build cross-industry networks. At the INIS film school (Institut national de l’image et du son), a study program for interactive media stands on an equal footing with the traditional courses in film and television. At TAG (Technoculture, Art and Games), a multidisciplinary centre for the study and creation of games and digital art at Concordia University in Montreal, students are working on new digital experiences. For example, the award-winning game Kentucky Route Zero was developed at TAG. Graduates have access to the lab at all times in order to permanently connect education and professional life.
 
A fourth component of success is cultural. Canadians approach technology far more naturally than most Europeans. Also – and media representatives emphasise this again and again – there is a true maker culture in Canada. If you want something, you tackle it. A silo mentality, typical of German professional associations in media matters, is unknown here.
 
The example of Canada demonstrates how the various media industries must be re-categorised culturally, economically and socially in the digital age. The future lies in cross-sector collaboration and in an audience-centered approach. The media scene is organised in such a way that authors, filmmakers, artists, journalists, game designers, producers, programmers and data analysts can meet as equal partners. This expresses the hope that their combined creative potential can help us make the significance of digital technologies tangible.

Warum Kanada Speerspitze in Sachen Medieninnovation ist Meeting in the middle

Augmented Montreal
Montreal Augmented | © Colourbox / Giovanni

In den Bereichen Film, Games und interaktive Medien rangiert Kanada weltweit vorn. Das ist kein Zufall, sondern das Ergebnis einer visionären Medienpolitik, die es dem Land ermöglicht, sich erfolgreich gegen die Übermacht aus Hollywood zu behaupten. Ein Blick nach Montreal.

Was einmal ein kleines gallisches Dorf in einer englischsprachigen Welt war, ist heute eine kosmopolitische Großstadt mit vier Millionen Einwohnern und einer der wichtigsten Medienstandorte in Nordamerika. Montreal beheimatet Ubisoft, den Cirque du Soleil und führende Dienstleister im Bereich der Postproduktion. Auch das National Film Board of Canada ist hier ansässig. Die Stadt sowie die Provinz Quebec arbeiten gezielt daran, die klassischen Content-Industrien ins 21. Jahrhundert zu holen. Dabei haben sie eine Strahlkraft entwickelt, die den Ausgangspunkt ihrer Medienpolitik – das Bewahren der französischsprachigen Kultur als exception culturelle innerhalb Kanadas – weit übersteigt.
 
Vier Faktoren haben maßgeblich zu diesem Erfolg geführt. Zuerst die Fokussierung auf Computer- und Videospiele. Die kanadische Games- Industrie ist nach den USA und Japan die drittgrößte der Welt. Ubisoft-Gebäude in Montreal Ubisoft-Gebäude in Montreal | © Monik Richter Anders als in Deutschland, das bis heute kein Triple-A-Studio besitzt, wurde dieser Unterhaltungszweig seit seinen Anfängen in den Achtzigerjahren gezielt aufgebaut. Eine 1996 eingeführte Steuervergünstigung auf Lohnkosten fördert die Entwicklung von Games-Firmen und macht diese auch für ausländische Produktionen attraktiv. Ubisoft produziert in Montreal „Assassin’s Creed“, Warner Brothers Games die Spiele zu „Batman“. Von der bildungsbürgerlichen Ablehnung, unter der diese Industrie in Deutschland immer noch leidet, ist hier nichts zu spüren. 70 % der Kanadier betrachten Games als ein wichtiges Wirtschaftssegment, das ihnen auch in Zukunft Arbeitsplätze sichern wird. Im digitalen Zeitalter erweist sich der Schwerpunkt auf Computer- und Videospiele als Wettbewerbsvorteil: Webbasierte Unterhaltung ist von Natur aus interaktiv. Konzepte und Werkzeuge aus dem Game Design spielen bei der Gestaltung neuer Unterhaltungsformate eine prägende Rolle.
 
Ein weiterer Erfolgsfaktor ist das Fördersystem, das Entwicklungen in der Mediennutzung gezielt aufgreift und die Verbindung alter und neuer Medien konsequent vorantreibt. In Quebec stehen dabei drei Inststitutionen im Mittelpunkt: SODEC, CMF und NFB. Jede ermöglicht auf ihre Weise Medieninnovation. SODEC (Société de développement des entreprises culturelles) ist eine staatliche Agentur zur Förderung der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft. Sie umfasst neben Film und Fernsehen auch Kunst, Theater, Musik und die Buchbranche. Die SODEC, die seit 2016 auch Games und interaktive Inhalte unterstützt, hat  die digitale Dimension von Kultur und Medien klar erkannt und fordert die traditionellen Content-Branchen auf, sich neu auszurichten. Die Agentur (Budget 2018: 100 Millionen Kanadische Dollar, geteilt mit dem Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ)) fördert zum einen Firmen als Projekte und koordiniert zum anderen die Tax Credits im Bereich der Medienproduktion.
 
Für TV-Produktionen und interaktive Medien gibt es einen gemeinsamen Fördertopf, den CMF (Canada Media Fund). Der CMF fördert experimentelle Medienangebote und Softwareentwicklung in Höhe von 42 Millionen Kanadischen Dollars (in 2018). Projekte müssen entweder kommerzielles Potenzial oder gesellschaftliche Relevanz aufweisen. Zum Beispiel wurde im Jahr 2016 unter anderem die Adaption von Stephen Kings Roman „Insomnia“ in Virtual Reality gefördert. Andererseits unterstützt der CMF konvergente Unterhaltungsformate (Budget 2018: 280 Millionen Kanadische Dollar): Fernsehen und digitale Medien müssen hier so kombiniert werden, dass sie eine maximale Reichweite erzielen können. Die Verschränkung kann entweder aus einer plattformübergreifenden Vertriebsstrategie bestehen (TV plus Video on Demand zum Beispiel) oder aus einem transmedialen Wertschöpfungsmodell, wobei für jeden Ausspielweg eigene Inhalte geschaffen werden. Große Shows, nationale Sportevents und populäre Serien wie „Unité 9“ sind die Nutznießer dieses Mechanismus. Die Konvergenzförderung des CMF stimuliert zwar die Medieninnovation, hat aber auch Nachteile. Was, wenn ein Projekt nur eine Gattung umfasst, wie im Falle einer reinen Spiele-App? In diesem Fall sind die Fördermöglichkeiten sehr begrenzt, wodurch sich beispielsweise Macher von Independent Games benachteiligt fühlen können.
 
Interessant ist auch, woher der CMF seine Mittel bezieht. Ein Teil der Gelder wird aus Rückzahlungen und Gewinnen bereits realisierter Produktionen generiert. Zusätzlich müssen die Betreiber von Vertriebskanälen wie Kabel, Radio und Satellit eine Abgabe für die Herstellung von neuen Inhalten zahlen. Geplant ist, diese Verpflichtung auf Internetprovider und Telekommunikationsunternehmen auszuweiten, doch noch ist es nicht so weit.
 
Eine besondere Position nimmt das National Film Board of Canada ein. Das NFB (Budget 2018: 35 Millionen Kanadische Dollar) ist Fonds, Produktionshaus und Labor in einem und hat in seiner langen Geschichte Cinéma Vérité, IMAX, 3D und Computeranimation maßgeblich mitgestaltet. Im Jahr 2009 richtete die Institution ihren Fokus neu aus und fördert seither zu gleichen Teilen Spielfilme, Dokumentarfilme, Animation und Neue Medien. Im digitalen Bereich arbeitet das NFB plattformunabhängig. Manche Projekte sind rein webbasiert, wie das Game „I Love Potatoes“ zum Thema soziale Innovation. Andere beginnen als E-Book und werden in Virtual Reality weiterentwickelt, wie „Unknown Photographer“, das eine Fotosammlung aus dem Ersten Weltkrieg interaktiv erlebbar macht. Ein weiteres Projekt fand ausschließlich auf dem Live-Streaming- Videoportal Twitch statt.
 

Stets stellt sich die Frage, wie aus technologischen Neuerungen innovative Inhalte und Formen entstehen können. Da die Herangehensweise an die Projekte interdisziplinär erfolgt, kommen in der Regel medien- und plattformübergreifende Ergebnisse zustande („Journal of Insomnia“, „Cancer of Time“). Ziel ist es, einen gesellschaftlichen Diskurs auszulösen und dabei die Mediennutzer selbst zu Wort kommen zu lassen („Bear 71“, „Megaphone“). Die Wahl der Projektpartner ist sehr frei. So können auch Zeitungsverlage Projekte anstoßen und Fördermittel bekommen, wie die New York Times für „Short History of the Highrise“.
 
Der dritte Erfolgsfaktor liegt im Bildungssystem. Vielfältige multidisziplinäre Studiengänge und Labs für neuartige Medienarbeit erlauben es Studenten, frühzeitig mit neuen Erzählweisen zu experimentieren und branchenübergreifende Netzwerke aufzubauen. Bei der Filmschule INIS (Institut national de l’image et du son) steht ein Studiengang für interaktive Medien gleichberechtigt neben den klassischen Lehrgängen für Film und Fernsehen. Im TAG (Technoculture, Art and Games), einem multidisziplinären Zentrum zur Erforschung und Kreation von Spielen sowie digitaler Kunst an der Concordia University in Montreal, arbeiten Studenten an neuen digitalen Erlebnisformen. So wurde beispielsweise das preisgekrönte Spiel „Kentucky Route Zero“ im TAG entwickelt. Um Ausbildung und Beruf nachhaltig miteinander zu verschränken, haben auch Absolventen jederzeit Zugang zum Lab.
 
Eine vierte Erfolgskomponente ist kulturell bedingt. Man geht in Kanada viel unbefangener mit Technologie um als die meisten Europäer. Auch – und das betonen Medienschaffende immer wieder – herrscht im Land eine Macherkultur. Wer etwas will, geht es an. Einen Rückzug auf kleinkarierte Positionen, der die deutschen Berufsverbände in Sachen Medien kennzeichnet, wird man hier nicht finden.
 
Das Beispiel Kanada zeigt, wie die Medien im digitalen Zeitalter kulturell, wirtschaftlich und gesellschaftlich neu eingeordnet werden müssen. Die Zukunft liegt in der branchenübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit und im gemeinsamen Dienst am Publikum. Die Medienszene ist so aufgestellt, dass sich Autoren, Filmemacher, Künstler, Journalisten, Gamer Designer, Produzenten, Programmierer und Datenanalysten als gleichberechtigte Partner auf Augenhöhe begegnen können. Daraus spricht die Hoffnung, dass ihr gebündeltes kreatives Potenzial die Bedeutung der neuen Technologien endlich greifbar machen kann.