Cologne conceptual artist The enigmatic world of Cosima von Bonin

Cosima von Bonin | The Fatigue Empire | 2010 Kunsthaus Bregenz
Cosima von Bonin | The Fatigue Empire | 2010 Kunsthaus Bregenz | Photo: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin

“Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?” – the title of her latest exhibition is already formulated as a question and leads us directly into the idiosyncratically hermetic universe of the Cologne conceptual artist.

The installative mise-en-scènes of Cosima von Bonin make demands on a viewer who desires statements and messages; instead of these, they offer experiences and open up ranges of association. The unambiguous and didactic is repugnant to her. So too many a practice of a vain art business. She can wax vehement on the subject: “Curator, concept, project. These three words for me all belong to the war zone of art, to a war raging out there in which I deserted some time ago”, she said in 2016.

SUBTLE AESTHETIC STRATEGY

Born in 1962 in Mombassa, Kenya, Cosima von Bonin grew up in Salzburg. The academic education of the 2007 documenta artist remains unmentioned in her publications; in addition to her marriage to the artist Michael Krebber, among the sparse details vouchsafed of her personal biography are the intellectual milieu of the Cologne art and music scene and the oft-cited circle of friends, whereas from 1990 on her artistic vita impressively documents numerous solo and group exhibitions, film and video works and performances in Europe and later in North America.
  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Installation view of “Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?” | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016
  • Cosima von Bonin | OCTOPUS, 2016 | Privatsammlung Foto: Ben Knabe
    Cosima von Bonin | OCTOPUS, 2016 | Private Collection
  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Installation view of “Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?” | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016
  • Cosima von Bonin | LOVE HATE, 2009 Foto: Lothar Schnepf
    Cosima von Bonin | LOVE HATE, 2009
  • Cosima von Bonin | HIPPIES USE SIDE DOOR, 2014, MUMOK Wien Foto: Stephan Wyckhoff
    Cosima von Bonin | HIPPIES USE SIDE DOOR, 2014, MUMOK Vienna
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Installation view of “Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?” | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016

In accordance with the motto “We are many”, she often exchanges the role of individual star with that of master of ceremonies so as to create, with an ensemble of befriended artists from various genres, what the tireless author and theorist Diedrich Diederichsen once called “clique art works”. If, however, the basic biographical data make you think of the biting gestures of an artist associated with the Neue Wilde and the provocateur Martin Kippenberger, or visually transmitted noise levels of advanced pop and rock music, then think again. There are also no pugnacious statements on the gender debate or a clear position in post-colonial discourse to be had from von Bonin. Her aesthetic strategy is subtle: a monumentalizing of the cute veering into the grotesque.

POETIC PARALLEL WORLDS

With her cuddly shark decorously tucked in at table and other monstrous marine plush animals and props, such as a children’s swing, a lifeguard’s chair, beach stalls and a gigantic bikini, von Bonin designs in her latest exhibition a parallel world. The props of “an underwater world and beach life” suffice to create the context and summon up inner worlds in the viewer. The precisely placed blank spaces must be filled in actively, for von Bonin spells out no stories in her installations. Relying on multi-layered references that cannot be unambiguously decoded, she evokes mood images. Various commentators have endeavoured to characterise the undertone of her work. They have spoken of fatigue and weariness, lethargy and indolence, melancholy and even a “stylistics of depression” (Manfred Hermes). Whether this is meant by the artist as a description or a criticism of contemporary society, however, must remain a moot question.

NO PIGEONHOLE

Without pop art, conceptual art, Fluxus, minimal art, object art and the expanded concept of art of the 1960s, von Bonin’s creative resources and artistic conception cannot be understood. Close formal parallels of her soft sculptures to, for example, Dorothea Tanning, Claes Oldenburg and Mike Kelley might also be mentioned, but von Bonin’s approach refuses to submit to any clear classification.
 
It is also an error to assign von Bonin to what is commonly subsumed under “textile art”, though fabric pictures and material images, which in many respects are reminiscent of Sigmar Polke and which she calls her “rags”, are part of her basic creative repertoire and plush toys are the distinctive mark of her work. But she is not interested in craftsmanship or gender-specific connotations. She has her material objects made by master seamstresses. With this logically outsourced authorship, she assumes ultimately a critical counter-position to that understanding of art which regards commodity aesthetics as incompatible with individuality.
 
In 2013 the curator Uta Ruhkamp wrote in Textile Zeitenwende (i.e. Textile Turning-Point): “The embroidery, knitting, crochet and sewing needles have undoubtedly long since found their way out of the sphere of ‘feminist’ defiance art”. Now: “Techniques and materials are detached from their original ‘arts-and-crafts’ and ‘domestic’ contexts and serve the search for new forms of expression and aesthetics.” In this exploration, Cosima von Bonin is a true master.
 

As part of the German contribution of “Germany @ Canada 2017” to the celebration of the 150th anniversary of the Canadian Confederation, Cosima von Bonin is presenting Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?. Following stations at the Gallery of Modern Art in Glasgow, Scotland, and the Sculpture Centre in New York, USA, the exhibition of installations with soft sculptures will be shown at the Oakland Galleries in Ontario beginning in March 2017. It will be complemented by performances by German and Canadian artists.

Kölner Konzeptkünstlerin Die rätselhafte Welt der Cosima von Bonin

Cosima von Bonin | The Fatigue Empire | 2010 Kunsthaus Bregenz
Cosima von Bonin | The Fatigue Empire | 2010 Kunsthaus Bregenz | Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin

„Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?“: Der Titel der jüngsten Ausstellung von Cosima von Bonin ist als Frage formuliert. Und führt damit direkt in den hermetischen Kosmos der Kölner Konzeptkünstlerin – die keine Erklärungen ausbuchstabiert, sondern präzise Leerstellen setzt.

Mit ihren installativen Inszenierungen mutet Cosima von Bonin einem Betrachter, der Aussagen und Botschaften ersehnt, einiges zu. Sie bietet stattdessen aber Erfahrungen und öffnet Assoziationsräume. Das Eindeutige und Didaktische sind der Kölner Künstlerin zuwider. So auch manche Gepflogenheit eines eitlen Kunstbetriebs. Da kann sie heftig werden: „Kurator, Konzept, Projekt. Diese drei Wörter gehören für mich alle zu dem Kriegsgebiet Kunst eines da draußen tobenden Krieges, bei dem ich vor einiger Zeit Fahnenflucht begangen habe …“, äußerte sie 2016.

SUBTILE ÄSTHETISCHE STRATEGIE

1962 im afrikanischen Mombasa geboren, wuchs Cosima von Bonin später in Salzburg auf. Eine akademische Ausbildung der documenta-Künstlerin von 2007 bleibt in ihren Publikationen unerwähnt. Neben ihrer Ehe mit dem Künstler Michael Krebber gehört vor allem das intellektuelle Milieu der Kölner Kunst- und Musikszene und der oft zitierte Freundeskreis zu den spärlichen Daten ihrer persönlichen Biografie, wohingegen ihre künstlerische Vita durch zahlreiche Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen, Film- und Videoarbeiten sowie Performances in Europa, später auch in Nordamerika, seit dem Jahr 1990 eindrucksvoll belegt ist.
 

  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht „Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?“ | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016
  • Cosima von Bonin | OCTOPUS, 2016 | Privatsammlung Foto: Ben Knabe
    Cosima von Bonin | OCTOPUS, 2016 | Privatsammlung
  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht „Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?“ | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016
  • Cosima von Bonin | LOVE HATE, 2009 Foto: Lothar Schnepf
    Cosima von Bonin | LOVE HATE, 2009
  • Cosima von Bonin | HIPPIES USE SIDE DOOR, 2014, MUMOK Wien Foto: Stephan Wyckhoff
    Cosima von Bonin | HIPPIES USE SIDE DOOR, 2014, MUMOK Wien
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ Foto: Markus Tretter, © Kunsthaus Bregenz, Cosima von Bonin
    Cosima von Bonin | THE FATIGUE EMPIRE, 2010 KUNSTHAUS BREGENZ
  • Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht “WHO´S EXPLOITING WHO IN THE DEEP SEA?” Foto: Ruth Clark
    Cosima von Bonin | Ausstellungsansicht „Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?“ | Gallery of Modern Art, Glasgow International Festival 2016


Nach dem Motto „Wir sind viele“ tauscht sie die Rolle des Einzelstars oft mit jener der Zeremonienmeisterin, um mit einem Ensemble befreundeter Künstler verschiedener Sparten das zu schaffen, was der Autor und Theoretiker Diedrich Diederichsen einmal als „Cliquenkunstwerke“ bezeichnete. Wer nun, geleitet durch diese biografischen Eckdaten, die bissige Gestik einer Künstlerin aus dem Umfeld des Neuen Wilden und Provokateurs Martin Kippenbergers erwartet oder den ins Visuelle übertragene Lärmpegel avancierter Pop- und Rockmusik, wird rasch eines Besseren belehrt. Auch kein kämpferisches Statement zur Genderdebatte oder eine klare Positionierung im Postkolonialismus-Diskurs kommt von Cosima von Bonin. Ihre ästhetische Strategie der ins Groteske gewendeten Monumentalisierung des Niedlichen ist eher subtil.

POETISCHE PARALLELWELTEN

Mit einem manierlich am Tisch sitzenden Kuschel-Hai und anderem Meeresgetier aus Plüsch sowie weiteren Requisiten, etwa einer Kinderschaukel, einem Bademeisterhochstuhl, Strandbuden und einem gigantischen Bikini, entwirft sie in ihrer jüngsten Ausstellung Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea? eine Parallelwelt. Die Versatzstücke aus Unterwasserwelt und Strandleben reichen aus, um den Kontext zu schaffen. Die präzise gesetzten Leerstellen muss der Betrachter aktiv füllen, denn Cosima von Bonin buchstabiert in ihren Installationen keine Erzählungen aus. Indem sie auf vielschichtige Bezüge setzt, die nicht eindeutig aufzuschlüsseln sind, schafft sie Stimmungsbilder. Diverse Kommentatoren haben sich bemüht, deren Grundton zu charakterisieren. Da ist von Ermüdung und Erschlaffung, Lethargie und Faulheit, Melancholie, ja von einer „Stilistik der Depression“ (Manfred Hermes) die Rede. Ob diese von der Künstlerin als Beschreibung oder Kritik unserer heutigen Gesellschaft gemeint ist, muss allerdings offenbleiben.

KEINE SCHUBLADEN

Ohne die Pop-Art, Konzeptkunst, Fluxus, Minimal Art, Objektkunst und den erweiterten Kunstbegriff der 1960er-Jahre wären die Gestaltungsmittel und die künstlerische Konzeption von Cosima von Bonin nicht zu verstehen. Auch engere formale Parallelen ihrer „Soft Sculptures“ wie zum Beispiel zu Dorothea Tanning, Claes Oldenburg und Mike Kelley lassen sich zwar benennen, doch von Bonins Ansatz verweigert sich einer klaren Klassifizierung.

Fehl geht auch die Zuordnung zu dem, was man landläufig mit „Textilkunst“ verbindet, obgleich die Stoffbilder, die in mancherlei Hinsicht an Sigmar Polke erinnern und die von ihr „Lappen“ genannt werden, zu ihrem gestalterischen Grundrepertoire gehören und die erwähnten Stofftiere ihr Erkennungszeichen sind. Aber Handwerklichkeit oder geschlechtsspezifische Konnotationen interessieren sie nicht. Cosima von Bonin lässt ihre Stoffobjekte von Meisternäherinnen anfertigen. Mit der konsequent ausgelagerten Autorschaft bezieht sie letztlich auch eine kritische Gegenposition zu einem Kunstverständnis, das Warenästhetik mit Individualität für unvereinbar hält.

2013 schrieb die Kuratorin Uta Ruhkamp unter dem Titel Textile Zeitenwende: „Zweifellos haben Stick-, Strick, Häkel- und Nähnadel sowie der Webstuhl längst den Weg aus dem Feld ‚feministischer’ Trotzkunst geschafft.“ Inzwischen gelte: „Technik und Material werden aus ihren ‚kunstgewerblichen’ und ‚häuslichen’ Ursprungskontexten herausgelöst und stehen im Dienst der Suche nach neuen Ausdrucksformen und Ästhetiken.“ Und darin ist Cosima von Bonin eine wahre Meisterin.
 


Cosima von Bonin stellt im Rahmen des deutschen Beitrages „Deutschland @ Kanada 2017“ zu den Festivitäten des 150. Geburtstages der kanadischen Konföderation aus. Die Präsentation Who’s Exploiting Who in the Deep Sea?, die (nach Stationen in der Gallery of Modern Art in Glasgow, Schottland, und im Sculpture Center in New York, USA) ab März 2017 in den Oakville Galleries in Ontario Installationen mit Soft Sculptures zeigt, wird um Performances deutscher und kanadischer Künstler ergänzt - mit Cosima von Bonin als Gast des Goethe-Instituts Toronto.