Germany @ Canada 2017 "The hype around being a diva is great"

Ute Lemper, Kurt Weill Fest, Dessau
Kurt Weill Fest Dessau GmbH

Try and draw up a list of global German superstars and you may find yourself faltering. But there is one name for certain: Ute Lemper. The 53-year-old began her career in the eighties as a singer and actor in the musical "Cats" before heading off to Broadway via Vienna, Paris and London. But the Münster native has long put the rather shallow genre behind her. Instead, today she is celebrated on every continent as an interpreter of the works of Kurt Weill and Bertolt Brecht and as a chanson and jazz vocalist. For our interview, Lemper picked out a café on New York’s Upper West Side with a half English, half French name that seems made for such a cosmopolitan woman: "Nice Matin."

 

SZ: Ms. Lemper, let’s talk money. Do divas wash their own dishes?
Ute Lemper: Sure they do.
We thought you’d have paid staff for things like that.
I wash dishes, I clean house, I do the laundry and if the dog forgets himself and goes on the floor, I clean the carpet, too. We have a very cozy apartment, nothing poshy-washy, all very down-to-earth.
Doesn’t this hype around being a diva drive you crazy?
The hype around being a diva is great. No, I don’t let it bother me because I know that I’m not that kind of diva. When I’m on stage I might look like one; that’s not bad since playing with eroticism and seduction is great fun. But as soon as the show is over, I’m running around in jeans and flats again.
I see.
Plus, there’s a lot more to my work than being on stage. I rehearse, I compose, I sit at the computer, book tours, negotiate contracts, pay my musicians...
You do all that yourself?
I do. Of course, I have agents who do the work on site in each country, but I’m the one who puts the puzzle together in the end. That’s much better than letting others do it.
Because there’s no one who works up to your standards?
No, because ultimately I know best what I want. Also, American managers don’t know Europe and European managers don’t know America. I tried it for a short time with a manager from the States, a really well-known man – it was fiasco. When you perform, say, in Spain or France, it’s completely normal to wait two or three months for your pay. That’s just the way it’s done there. But this manager was breathing down the necks of my long-serving agents there. That’s just not done.
And who decides how the pay will then be invested?
I’ve been with the same American bank for 20 years. If there’s something left to invest, I speak with my customer service rep and we make a joint decision. I am very cautious when it comes to investments.
But you had at least one very profitable investment idea when you bought a condo right around the corner from here on New York’s Upper West Side. It must have tripled in value since then.
That really was a worthwhile investment. Seven years ago we bought the top floor of the same building so I’d finally have a room to practice in. That cost a whole lot more, but for a family with four kids, our apartment was simply too small. If I wanted to practice I had to use one of the children’s rooms. That wasn’t good for me; I couldn’t concentrate in the chaos of toys and stuff.
That doesn't sound very diva-like.
No.
What is it you like about New York?
The first thing I noticed when I came here 20 years ago was this mental freedom; the lack of intellectual narrowness that I felt so often in Germany. And the second thing was, when I performed in the eighties in France or in England, I was always "the German," along with everything associated with that floating about in people’s heads. Then, when I arrived in this progressive, liberal world of New York, I simply felt comfortable.
So, you’re happy and want to grow old here?
I love this city and will always love it. But you know what? If my kids, who go to school here and grew up with the English language, were already grown, I’d return to Europe.
Why?
In my heart I’m a European and probably always will be. My daughter is doing a semester abroad in Paris; I’d love to live there again. Or in Berlin. Or London.
What distinguishes a European from an American?
A completely different history, completely different socialisation, a completely different understanding of art. Take art, for example. In the US, art is entertainment, commerce; it has to be marketable. Here in America, you have to totally mask the dark chapters of being human, of life, which often are the source of art. That’s why I don’t even feel like seeing a Broadway play anymore. In that respect, New York is a wonderful place, but Europe is more multilayered and that makes it ultimately more interesting.
Where at the start of your career you were cruelly written off, especially in Germany. You recently met one of the music and theatre critics from those days for a double interview who did seem very sheepish after nearly 35 years.
Oh yes, that was embarrassing! He approached me before the conversation and said, “Oh, Ms. Lemper, I’d like to apologise.” I replied, “At least stand by what you wrote back then.”
Does that criticism still sting?
No, and it didn’t hurt my career either. For me, though, it’s another example of this intellectual narrowness in Germany we were talking about. Actually, I wasn’t keen at all on that double interview. But then I thought to myself, maybe it’s a good thing to finally close that chapter.
New York is a wonderful place, you said. But it’s also an expensive place.
You can say that again!
A head of cauliflower might cost seven dollars at an organic grocery store, a pint of Quark eight dollars. Do you still notice that?
Of course and most of all when I’m in Europe. You go shopping, say in Germany, get to the cashier and think, they’ve made a mistake. It can’t be that cheap. And the weak euro makes the difference even more dramatic. Luckily, I’ve at least paid off my mortgages.
Do you watch your spending?
The good thing is that I don’t care about brands. My clothes don’t have to say Valentino or Versace on the label. They have to look good and be stylish – that's it!
Do you still have to work even, or do you just do it for fun?
Of course I have to work. My husband is a musician; they don’t earn the most. I’m the breadwinner in the family. And think of what the tuitions alone cost.
Four kids equal four school and college tuitions: That could easily be 170,000 dollars a year.
It’s not that much, fortunately. My older son has already graduated from college and the two younger kids go to public schools. But my daughter’s tuition at a top university costs 65,000 dollars in one year alone.
What relationship do your kids have to money? Did you ever hear them say, "Man, mom, we’re rich, you could buy me a..."?
Yes, the two oldest have said that. They are aware we’re not the poorest. But at least they feel guilty when they ask for money. And this year, my daughter looked for a summer job for the first time.
Do people in America handle money differently than in Germany?
Germany is more materialistic than the USA; status symbols are far more important: a house, a car, clothes, shoes. When I’m there, I always have to pay attention to what I’m wearing, that my hair looks good and my make-up is just right because you’re always judged by other people. Here in New York, I can run around any way I please. In Germany, children have to be quiet at noon, in the evening and on Sundays, here there’s nothing provincial like statutory quiet hours. In Germany...
...enough, enough! Now you’re comparing big New York City a little with your strict Catholic hometown of Münster, which might not be fair.
Okay, you’re right. But many places in Germany are simply provincial.
You once said, "Provinciality is a very bad thing because it narrows the minds of people and makes them believe that their limited world view is the only true one." Do you feel that’s been confirmed by the rise of the AfD in Germany?
Absolutely. People seek their salvation in a reactionary, backward-looking national identity and in shielding themselves against other cultures. Curiosity and openness are replaced by the tumor of provinciality. The British exit from the EU is another example...
...and Americans’ enthusiasm for Donald Trump...
...and enthusiasm for Donald Trump.
You sing in six languages, travel the world. How do you experience the new nationalism that is spreading in Turkey, in Russia, in the United States, in Germany and so many other countries?
I have been dealing with the topic of nationalism for decades. At the very beginning of my career I sang songs by Jewish artists that were branded as degenerate art by the Nazis. Right now, I’m working on a project called "Songs for Eternity." These songs were sung in Jewish ghettos and in Nazi concentration camps by people waiting in long queues for a bowl of soup or on their way to the gas chambers.
Where does your interest in this difficult subject come from?
I grew up in the days when many Germans still refused to grapple with their past. That is why I always had the urge to say things out loud that others didn’t want to say. Especially improving German-Jewish relations has become something of a life mission for me.
So your concerts today are more than that pure musical entertainment you started out with?
Much more. When I perform a solo concert today, then I seek out all of the pearls from the phases I’ve been through. In a way, the people can recreate my artistic pathway in song.
And the Germans and their only diva have made peace with each other, too.
Of course.
Aren’t there also some advantages to being a diva? Ageing rock stars quickly seem embarrassing, but divas become more diva-like with every year.
Absolutely. I can quite imagine playing the diva on stage even 30 years from now!

Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 "Diven-Gedöns ist schön"

Ute Lemper, Kurt Weill Fest, Dessau
Kurt Weill Fest Dessau GmbH

Wer eine Liste der deutschen Weltstars erstellen will, gerät schnell ins Stocken. Ein Name immerhin ist gesetzt: Ute Lemper. Die heute 53-Jährige begann ihre Karriere in den Achtzigern als Sängerin und Schauspielerin im Musical "Cats", bevor sie sich über Wien, Paris und London in Richtung Broadway aufmachte. Das eher seichte Genre hat die gebürtige Münsteranerin jedoch längst hinter sich gelassen. Stattdessen wird sie auf allen Kontinenten als Interpretin des Werks von Kurt Weill und Bertolt Brecht, als Chanson- und Jazzsängerin gefeiert. Fürs Interview hat Lemper ein Café an New Yorks Upper West Side ausgesucht, dessen Namen für eine Kosmopolitin wie gemacht zu sein scheint. "Nice Matin", schöner Morgen - halb auf Englisch, halb auf Französisch.
 

SZ: Frau Lemper, reden wir über Geld. Spülen Diven eigentlich selbst ab?
Ute Lemper: Na klar.
Wir dachten, für so etwas hätten Sie bezahltes Personal.
Ich spüle, ich putze, ich wasche, und wenn der Hund sich mal vergisst und auf den Boden macht, dann mache ich auch den Teppich sauber. Wir haben eine ganz gemütliche Wohnung, da ist nichts schnieke-fein oder so. Alles ganz bodenständig.
Geht Ihnen dieses Diven-Gedöns eigentlich wahnsinnig auf den Wecker?
Diven-Gedöns ist schön. Nö, ich kümmere mich da einfach nicht weiter drum, weil ich weiß, dass ich in dem Sinne keine Diva bin. Wenn ich auf der Bühne mal so aussehe wie eine, ist das ja nicht schlecht, denn dieses Spiel mit der Erotik und der Verführung macht durchaus Spaß. Aber sobald die Show vorbei ist, laufe ich wieder in Jeans und flachen Schuhen herum.
Verstehe.
Außerdem gehört ja viel mehr zu meinem Job, als auf der Bühne zu stehen. Ich probe, ich komponiere, ich sitze am Computer, buche Tourneen, handle Verträge aus, weise Gagen für meine Musiker an ...
Auch das machen Sie alles selbst?
So ist es. Ich habe natürlich Agenten, die in einzelnen Ländern die Arbeit vor Ort übernehmen, aber ich bin die, die am Ende das Puzzle zusammensetzt. Das ist viel besser, als wenn das andere machen würden.
Weil es niemanden gibt, der Ihren Ansprüchen genügt?
Nein, weil ich selbst am besten weiß, was ich will. Außerdem kennen sich die amerikanischen Manager nicht mit Europa aus und die europäischen nicht mit Amerika. Ich hab's mal kurz mit einem Manager aus den USA versucht, ein wirklich bekannter Mann - es war ein Fiasko. Wenn Sie etwa in Spanien oder Frankreich auftreten, ist es völlig normal, dass man anschließend zwei, drei Monate auf die Gage wartet. Das ist dort einfach so. Der Manager aber hat meinen altgedienten Agenten vor Ort die Hölle heißgemacht. Das ging gar nicht.
Und wer entscheidet darüber, wie die Gage anschließend angelegt wird?
Ich bin seit 20 Jahren bei ein und derselben amerikanischen Bank. Wenn's was anzulegen gibt, gehe ich zu meinem Kundenberater und treffe gemeinsam mit ihm einen Entschluss. Ich bin, was die Geldanlage angeht, sehr vorsichtig.
Mindestens eine äußerst lukrative Investmentidee hatten Sie aber: Sie haben vor vielen Jahren eine Eigentumswohnung hier gleich um die Ecke an New Yorks Upper West Side gekauft. Die dürfte heute das Dreifache dessen wert sein, was sie damals gekostet hat.
Das hat sich in der Tat gelohnt. Vor sieben Jahren haben wir im selben Haus auch noch das Dachgeschoss gekauft, damit ich endlich einen Raum für mich zum Üben habe. Das hat schon eine ganze Stange Geld mehr gekostet, aber unsere Wohnung war für eine Familie mit vier Kindern einfach zu klein. Wenn ich früher daheim proben wollte, musste ich eines der Kinderzimmer nehmen. Aber das war nichts für mich: In dem Chaos aus Spielsachen und Wurschtelzeug konnte ich mich nicht konzentrieren.
Klingt tatsächlich nicht sehr divenhaft.
Nee.
Was gefällt Ihnen an New York?
Das Erste, was mir auffiel, als ich vor 20 Jahren hierher kam, war diese gedankliche Freiheit, der Wegfall der geistigen Enge, die ich in Deutschland so oft verspürt hatte. Und das Zweite war: Wenn ich in den Achtzigern in Frankreich oder in England auftrat, war ich immer "die Deutsche", mit all dem, was den Menschen dabei im Kopf herumspukte. Als ich dann in diese progressiv-liberale Welt von New York kam, fühlte ich mich einfach nur wohl.
Sie sind also glücklich und wollen hier alt werden?
Ich liebe diese Stadt und werde sie immer lieben. Aber wissen Sie was? Wenn meine Kinder, die hier zur Schule gehen und mit der englischen Sprache aufgewachsen sind, schon größer wären, würde ich zurück nach Europa gehen.
Warum das denn?
Ich bin im Herzen Europäerin - und ich werde es wohl immer bleiben. Meine Tochter macht gerade ein Auslandssemester in Paris, da würde ich liebend gerne wieder leben. Oder in Berlin. Oder London.
Was macht denn eine Europäerin im Vergleich zur Amerikanerin aus?
Eine völlig andere Geschichte, eine völlig andere Sozialisierung, ein völlig anderes Verständnis von Kunst. Nehmen Sie die Kunst: Kunst in den USA ist Unterhaltung, Kommerz, sie muss vermarktbar sein. Die dunklen Kapitel des Menschseins, des Lebens, aus denen Kunst ja oft erst entsteht, muss man hier in Amerika komplett ausblenden. Ich habe deshalb schon gar keine Lust mehr, mir ein Broadway-Stück anzuschauen. Insofern: New York ist ein tolles Pflaster, aber Europa ist vielschichtiger und damit letztlich interessanter.
Dabei sind Sie zu Beginn Ihrer Karriere gerade in Deutschland übel heruntergeschrieben worden. Kürzlich haben Sie sich mit einem der Musik- und Theaterkritiker von damals zu einem Doppelinterview getroffen, der nach fast 35 Jahren doch sehr kleinlaut wirkte.
Oh ja, war das peinlich! Der kam noch vor Beginn des Gesprächs zu mir hin und sagte: Ach, Frau Lemper, ich möchte mich entschuldigen. Ich habe ihm geantwortet: Steh wenigstens dazu, was du damals geschrieben hast.
Trifft Sie diese Kritik immer noch?
Nein, und sie hat auch meiner Karriere nicht geschadet. Für mich ist sie aber immer noch ein Beispiel für diese geistige Enge in Deutschland, über die wir eben gesprochen haben. Eigentlich hatte ich auch gar keine Lust gehabt zu diesem Doppelinterview. Aber dann habe ich mir irgendwann gedacht: Vielleicht ist es ganz gut, dieses Kapitel einmal abzuschließen.
New York ist ein tolles Pflaster, haben Sie gesagt. Vor allem aber ist es auch ein teures Pflaster.
Das kann man wohl sagen!
Ein Blumenkohl kostet im Bio-Markt gerne sieben, ein großer Becher Quark acht Dollar. Fällt Ihnen das noch auf?
Selbstverständlich, und zwar am meisten dann, wenn ich in Europa bin. Man geht einkaufen, etwa in Deutschland, kommt an die Kasse - und denkt: Die haben sich verrechnet. So billig kann das doch gar nicht sein. Und durch den schwachen Euro wird der Unterschied noch dramatischer. Zum Glück habe ich wenigstens meine Hypotheken abbezahlt.
Achten Sie beim Einkaufen aufs Geld?
Das Gute ist: Ich mache mir überhaupt nichts aus Marken. Auf meinen Klamotten muss nicht Valentino oder Versace stehen. Die Sachen müssen gut aussehen und Stil haben - that's it!
Müssen Sie denn überhaupt noch arbeiten, oder tun Sie es nur noch aus Spaß an der Freud'?
Klar muss ich noch arbeiten. Mein Mann ist Musiker, da verdient man nicht das meiste. Ich bin bei uns die Brötchenverdienerin. Und überlegen Sie mal, was allein die Studiengebühren kosten.
Vier Kinder gleich viermal Schul- und College-Gebühren: Da können leicht 170 000 Dollar im Jahr zusammenkommen.
Ganz so viel ist es zum Glück nicht. Mein großer Sohn ist ja schon mit dem Studium fertig, und die beiden Kleinen gehen auf öffentliche Schulen. Aber allein der Studienplatz meiner Tochter an einer Spitzenuniversität kostet 65 000 Dollar im Jahr.
Welches Verhältnis haben Ihre Kinder zu Geld? Haben Sie schon einmal den Satz gehört "Mensch, Mami, wir sind doch reich, da könntest du mir doch ..."?
Ja, das hat es bei den beiden Großen schon mal gegeben. Die wissen natürlich, dass wir nicht die Allerärmsten sind. Aber wenigstens haben sie ein schlechtes Gewissen, wenn sie nach Geld fragen. Und diesen Sommer hat sich meine Tochter auch erstmals einen Ferienjob gesucht.
Geht man in Amerika anders mit Geld um als in Deutschland?
Deutschland ist materialistischer als die USA es sind, Statussymbole etwa sind viel wichtiger: Haus, Auto, Klamotten, Schuhe. Wenn ich dort bin, muss ich immer darauf achtgeben, was ich anziehe, dass die Haare liegen und das Make-up stimmt, weil man dauernd von anderen beurteilt wird. Hier in New York kann ich rumlaufen, wie ich will. In Deutschland müssen Kinder mittags, abends und sonntags leise sein, hier gibt es etwas so Provinzielles wie gesetzliche Ruhezeiten nicht. In Deutschland ...
... Stopp, stopp, stopp! Jetzt vergleichen Sie ein bisschen das große New York mit ihrer gestreng katholischen Heimatstadt Münster, was vielleicht nicht ganz fair ist.
Gut, das stimmt. Aber Deutschland ist vielerorts einfach provinziell.
Sie haben einmal gesagt: "Provinzialität ist eine sehr schlechte Sache, weil sie das Denken der Menschen einengt und sie glauben macht, dass ihre beschränkte Weltsicht die einzig wahre ist." Fühlen Sie sich durch den Aufstieg der AfD in Deutschland in dieser Haltung bestätigt?
Absolut. Die Leute suchen ihr Heil in einer reaktionären, rückwärtsgewandten nationalen Identität und in Abschirmung gegen andere Kulturen. An die Stelle von Neugier und Weltoffenheit tritt der Tumor der Provinzialität. Der Austritt der Briten aus der EU ist auch so ein Beispiel ...
... und die Begeisterung der Amerikaner für Donald Trump ...
... und die Begeisterung für Donald Trump.
Sie singen in sechs Sprachen, reisen durch die ganze Welt. Wie erleben Sie den neuen Nationalismus, der sich in der Türkei, in Russland, in den USA, in Deutschland und so vielen anderen Ländern breitmacht?
Das Thema Nationalismus beschäftigt mich seit Jahrzehnten. Schon zu Beginn meiner Karriere habe ich Lieder jüdischer Künstler gesungen, die von den Nazis als entartete Kunst gebrandmarkt wurden. Zurzeit bin ich mit einem Projekt beschäftigt, das "Songs for Eternity" heißt. Diese "Lieder für die Ewigkeit" wurden in jüdischen Ghettos und in den Konzentrationslagern der Nazis gesungen, von Menschen, die in einer langen Schlange auf einen Teller Suppe warteten oder auf dem Weg in die Gaskammern waren.
Woher kommt das Interesse an diesem schwierigen Thema?
Ich bin in einer Zeit aufgewachsen, in der sich viele Deutsche immer noch weigerten, sich mit ihrer Vergangenheit auseinanderzusetzen. Ich hatte deshalb immer den Drang, Dinge auszusprechen, die andere nicht aussprechen wollten. Vor allem die Verbesserung des deutsch-jüdischen Verhältnisses ist dabei für mich zu einer Art Lebensaufgabe geworden.
Ihre Konzerte sind also heute mehr als jenes pure Musical-Entertainment, mit dem Sie einmal angefangen haben?
Viel mehr. Wenn ich heute ein Solokonzert gebe, dann suche ich mir aus all den Etappen, die ich absolviert habe, die Perlen heraus. Die Menschen können gewissermaßen meinen künstlerischen Weg in Liedern nachempfinden.
Und auch die Deutschen und ihre einzige Diva haben Frieden geschlossen.
Na, klar.
Hat es nicht auch Vorteile, eine Diva zu sein? Alternde Rockstars sind schnell peinlich, Diven aber werden mit jedem weiteren Lebensjahr immer divenhafter.
Absolut. Ich kann mir sehr gut vorstellen, noch in 30 Jahren auf der Bühne die Diva zu geben!