Germany @ Canada 2017 Collaborating with Cosima von Bonin

Cologne-based artist Cosima von Bonin, who has a her first Canadian solo exhibition in Canada, a collaboratin between Oakville Galleries and the Goethe-Institut Toronto, has long collaborated with German and Canadian artists and performers. We asked German-born and Toronto-based artist produzentin what makes working with von Bonin special:

 

  • Cosima von Bonin 1 Photo: Miro Kuzmanovic
    “That was the debut of the seashell hat, a special edition by Cosima. The hat is still covered in the photo because I thought it would be a huge surprise when I remove the cloth. The dress I’m wearing is a Mary Messhausen in a specially designed manatee and nail polish print by Oliver Husain. This picture is practically out of the family photo album.”

    The Fatigue Empire, 2010
    Kunsthaus Bregenz, l: produzentin, r: Cosima von Bonin
  • Cosima von Bonin 2 Photo: Oliver Heise
    “Everyone always says how cute the little chicks are, but no one talks about how evil they can actually be. In the photo you see quite clearly how Mary Messhausen, Doc Nancy and I are being tormented from behind by the evil chicks. The motto at our Hotnuts Party on March 25 in Toronto is WTD – What the Duck. We are thrilled that Cosima is bringing some new WTD chicks to Toronto especially for the occasion. They’ll land on stage on Saturday evening at Hotnuts. I hope the WTD chicks won’t be so mean to us this time!”

    Hippies Use Side Door. The year 2014 has lost the plot
    mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig, Vienna
  • Cosima von Bonin 3 Photo courtesy of the artist Produzentin
    “In 2015, Roisin Murphy released a new album for the first time in years called Hairless Toys. I ordered the album as a signed vinyl LP and sent a photo of the signed cover to Cosima because we’re both fans of Roisin. I still don’t know why I’m not wearing nail polish on the original photo. That was naïve of me. The minute I sent off the photo, I thought to myself, ‘Uh-oh, who knows what’ll happen to it.’ Shortly after that, Cosima was a guest on a German TV show that Roisin Murphy was invited to perform on. And Cosima took the opportunity to have the photograph of a signed cover signed.”

Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 Zusammenarbeit mit Cosima von Bonin

Die kölner Künstlerin Cosima von Bonin, die im Moment eine bedeutende Soloausstellung in Kanada hat, arbeitet schon lange mit deutschen und kanadischen Künstlern und Performern zusammen. Wir haben die in Deutschland geborene und nun in Toronto lebende Künstlerin produzentin gefragt, was ihre Zusammenarbeit mit Cosima von Bonin auszeichnet.

Das sind ihre Worte:
 

  • Cosima von Bonin 1 Foto: Miro Kuzmanovic
    „Das war das Debüt von dem Muschelhut, eine Spezial-Ausgabe von Cosima. Auf dem Photo ist der Hut noch verhüllt, weil ich mir dachte, das wird eine Riesenüberraschung. wenn ich das Tuch abnehme. Das Kleid, das ich trage, ist ein Mary Messhausen Design in einem extra entworfenen Manatee & Nail Polish-Druck von Oliver Husain. Das Foto ist praktisch aus dem Familienalbum.“

    The Fatigue Empire, 2010
    Kunsthaus Bregenz, l: produzentin, r: Cosima von Bonin
  • Cosima von Bonin 2 Foto: Oliver Heise
    „Alle sagen immer, wie süß die kleinen chicks sind, aber niemand spricht davon wie evil sie eigentlich sein können. Auf dem Foto kann man ganz deutlich sehen, wie Mary Messhausen, Doc Nancy und ich von den evil chicks ganz hinterrücks gepeinigt werden. Das Motto bei unserer Hotnuts Party am 25. März in Toronto ist WTD - What The Duck. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Cosima extra dafür einige neue WTD Chicks nach Toronto bringt. Sie werden Samstag Abend bei Hotnuts auf der Bühne landen. Hoffentlich sind die WTD chicks nicht wieder so gemein zu uns!“

    Hippies Use Side Door. Das Jahr 2014 hat ein Rad ab | The year 2014 has lost the plot
    mumok - Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien
  • Cosima von Bonin 3 Photo courtesy of the artist Produzentin
    „2015 hat Roisin Murphy nach langer Zeit ein neues Album veröffentlicht, Hairless Toys. Ich hatte das Album als signiertes Vinyl bestellt und ein Foto von dem signierten Cover an Cosima geschickt, weil wir beide Roisin Fans sind. Ich kann immer noch nicht verstehen, warum ich auf dem original Foto keinen Nagellack trage. Das war naiv von mir. In dem Moment, als ich das Foto abgeschickt habe, dachte ich noch: ‚Oh oh, wer weiss was damit passiert.‘ Cosima war kurz darauf zu Gast bei einer deutschen TV Show, bei der auch Roisin Murphy zu einem Auftritt eingeladen war. Und bei der Gelegenheit hat Cosima das Foto von dem signierten Albumcover signieren lassen.“