Germany @ Canada 2017 British Columbia Through Arriving Eyes

Jack and his mother on the ship from Germany to Canada 1956
Jack and his mother on the ship from Germany to Canada 1956 | © Heinrich Ploesser

While searching for traces of German emigrants in Western Canada, a group of researchers from the University of British Columbia started the project Arriving Eyes, a publicly accessible historical project that collects interviews and family photos, to tell the stories of German native speakers who emigrated to Canada in the 19th and 20th centuries.

To get the website off the ground, UBC Germanic studies assistant professor Kyle Frackman, former-UBC masters student (and current University of Calgary librarian) Marc Stoeckle and UBC reference librarian Keith Bunnell began searching archives and mining personal connections to gather as much material as possible. “We were interested to know why B.C., of all places,” says Frackman. “Especially since so many of the people who had come here would have had to travel across North America.”
 
As most of the German immigrants to Canada arrived at one of the country’s main eastern hubs, taking the extra leap west would have provided a logistical challenge. Considering why German-speaking Canadians may have taken that jump is an important detail in western Canadian history. Perhaps unsurprisingly, what they found were a diversity of reasons for the German-speaking population (from Germany, Austria and Switzerland) to settle in the Vancouver and Lower Mainland regions. As most Germans “land” in the eastern part of Canada,  “We often found that people had an interest in nature and in landscape, that brought them here,” says Frackman. Likewise, “In the early days, it was often people who were willing to go into the mountains to look for gold, or with an interest in working in industries like forestry and logging.”
 
Interview with the Milewski family at Maple Ridge, BC Interview with the Milewski family at Maple Ridge, BC | © Martin Milewski Stoeckle was driven by a desire to fill gaps that had culturally formed within German-speaking history in Canada. “Historically, research shows that Germans assimilate very quickly,” he says. “That’s why we decided to do something in that regard.”
 
What Frackman and his team expected their primary challenge to be – the tracking down of sources willing to share their experiences – proved surprisingly easy. In the end, Stoeckle had to turn away participants. Then, he hit the field – researching in archives, interviewing sources in their homes and flipping through photo albums alongside them. He sought a balance of oral history sources: a married couple, someone who had moved to Canada very young, a backpacker who arrived in the 1960s, and a more modern “container German,” who packed up their whole life in Germany to move to Canada. A diversity in experience brought up some similarities in points of view that surprised Stoeckle: “One of the first things they were surprised about were ‘flimsy’ houses,” he laughs. “Everyone mentioned that. The houses here are just wood!”
 
A larger challenge for the team was bridging the German-English linguistic divide. “A lot of the materials that we found were in German,” Frackman explains. The team faced down an inherent difficulty in communicating the experiences of German speakers to a primarily-English speaking audience. “A lot of times that presented us with the question of whether we were going to translate things, or whether we were going to paraphrase things to present it in a compelling way,” Frackman adds.
 
But this was part of the fun, for Stoeckle, who wanted to let the Germans speak how they most felt comfortable – this often led to shifts in language over the span of interviews. When it came time to present these experiences, the project’s storytelling was rooted in Arriving Eyes’ intuitive website, stocked with archival photos and layered with audio files and archival texts. The little project from UBC had suddenly expanded beyond its initial form – that of a bibliography of texts about the German-Canadian experience.
 
Evelin McCarvill at Vancouver Island, BC Evelin McCarvill at Vancouver Island, BC | © Rob McCarvill Frackman says the project’s success is hinged on the fact that it presents the everyday life of German-speaking Canadians. “For some of these people, they came and made their initial journeys 50 years ago,” he says. “They were doing something that is really unusual. It was not common for German immigrants to go to the eastern regions of Canada or the U.S. But it was far less common for them to come this far west. For some, that was a compelling reason to make the journey in the first place. But I think a lot of people felt the need to talk about why they had done that.”
 
Stoeckle hopes to expand the project and make the website more accessible. “There’s so much more,” he says. “Someone said, ‘Why do you want to interview us? We didn’t have a special life, there’s nothing that we accomplished.’ But I said that’s exactly the accomplishment – one life. That’s the most special thing.”

Deutschland @ Kanada 2017 Arriving Eyes - Deutsche Einwanderer in British Columbia

Jack und seine Mutter auf dem Schiff von Deutschland nach Kanada 1956
Jack und seine Mutter auf dem Schiff von Deutschland nach Kanada 1956 | © Heinrich Ploesser

Auf der Suche nach Spuren deutscher Auswanderer in den Westen Kanadas startete ein Forscherteam der University of British Columbia das Projekt Arriving Eyes, ein öffentlich zugängliches Geschichtsprojekt, das Interviews und Familienfotos versammelt, um die Geschichten von deutschen Muttersprachlern zu erzählen, die im 19. und 20. Jahrhundert nach Kanada ausgewandert sind.

 

Um die Webseite auf den Weg zu bringen, durchsuchten UBC Germanistik Assistant Professor Kyle Frackman, UBC-Alumni und derzeitiger Bibliothekar der University of Calgary Marc Stoeckle und UBC-Bibliothekar Keith Bunnell Archive und nutzten persönliche Kontakte, um so viel Material wie möglich zu sammeln. „Uns interessierte, warum ausgerechnet British Columbia ein so beliebtes Ziel war“, erklärt Frackman, „vor allem, weil so viele der Menschen, die hier hergekommen sind, ganz Nordamerika durchqueren mussten.“

Da die meisten deutschen Immigranten an einem der östlichen Knotenpunkte des Landes ankamen, muss die weitere Reise nach Westen eine logistische Herausforderung gewesen sein. Die Frage, warum Deutsch sprechende Kanadier diesen weiten Weg gemacht haben, berührt ein wichtiges Detail der westkanadischen Geschichte. Wenig überraschend fanden die Forscher viele verschiedene Gründe der deutschsprachigen Bevölkerung (aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz) dafür, sich in Vancouver und der Region Lower Mainland niederzulassen. Während die meisten Deutschen zwar in Ostkanada „landeten“, „war es oft ihr Interesse für die Natur und die Landschaft, die sie hierher brachten“, erläutert Frackman. „In der ersten Zeit waren es vor allem Menschen, die bereit waren, in die Berge zum Goldsuchen zu gehen, oder die in der Forstwirtschaft arbeiten wollten.

Interview mit der Familie Milewski in Maple Ridge, BC Interview mit der Familie Milewski in Maple Ridge, BC | © Martin Milewski Stoeckle wird von dem Wunsch angetrieben, die kulturell bedingten Lücken in der deutschsprachigen Geschichte Kanadas zu füllen: „Die Forschung zeigt, dass sich Deutsche in der Vergangenheit sehr schnell angepasst haben. Deshalb haben wir uns entschieden,
etwas in diesem Zusammenhang zu machen.“  

Das Aufspüren von Quellen, die bereit waren, ihre Erfahrungen mitzuteilen, stellte sich entgegen den Erwartungen Frackmans und seines Teams als überraschend  einfach heraus. Schließlich musste Stoeckle sogar Teilnehmer*innen ablehnen. Dann begann die Feldforschung – Recherche in Archiven, Interviews bei Zeitzeugen zu Hause und Fotoalben durchblättern. Frackman versuchte, eine ausgeglichene Oral-History-Quellensammlung zu erstellen:  verheiratete Paare,  Personen, die sehr jung nach Kanada ausgewandert sind, ein Rucksacktourist, der in den 1960er Jahren angekommen ist und moderne „Container-Deutsche“, die ihr gesamtes Leben in Deutschland verpackt haben, um nach Kanada umzuziehen.

Trotz der Verschiedenheit der Erfahrungen haben einige übereinstimmende Wahrnehmungen Stoeckle überrascht: „Eines der ersten Dinge, die alle verwunderten, waren die ‚fragilen‘ Häuser“, lacht er. „Alle bemerkten das: ‚Die Häuser hier sind nur aus Holz!‘“

Eine größere Herausforderung für das Team war es, die Sprachbarriere zu überwinden. „Ein Großteil der Materialien, die wir fanden, war auf Deutsch“, erklärt Frackman. Das Team war mit der Schwierigkeit konfrontiert, die Erfahrungen der deutschen Muttersprachler an ein vor allem Englisch sprechendes Publikum zu vermitteln. „Häufig stellte uns das vor die Frage, ob wir übersetzen oder paraphrasieren sollten, um die Ergebnisse in einer ansprechenden Form zu präsentieren“, fügt Frackman hinzu.
Für das Projekt war es Stoeckle wichtig, dass die Deutschen so sprachen, wie sich am wohlsten fühlten – das führte oft zum Wechseln der Sprache während des Interviews. Ihre Erfahrungen werden zusammen mit Archivaufnahmen, Audioaufnahmen und Texten aus Archiven auf der Webseite des Projekts Arriving Eyes präsentiert. Das kleine Projekt der UBC – ein Verzeichnis von Texten über deutsch-kanadische Erfahrungen – hatte sich plötzlich über seine ursprüngliche Form ausgeweitet.

Evelin McCarvill auf Vancouver Island, BC Evelin McCarvill auf Vancouver Island, BC | © Rob McCarvill Frackman zufolge hängt der Erfolg des Projekts damit zusammen, dass es das tägliche Leben von Deutsch sprechenden Kanadiern vorstellt. „Manche dieser Menschen machten ihre ersten Reisen vor fünfzig Jahren“, betont er. „Sie taten etwas sehr Ungewöhnliches. Es war nicht alltäglich für deutsche Einwanderer in die östlichen Regionen Kanadas oder der USA zu gehen. Aber es war noch viel ungewöhnlicher, so weit nach Westen zu reisen. Für manche war genau das der Grund, der Reise zu machen. Ich denke, viele Menschen hatten das Bedürfnis darüber zu sprechen, warum sie dies gemacht haben.“

Stoeckle hofft, das Projekt ausweiten und die Webseite besser zugänglich machen zu können. „Da ist noch so vieles mehr“, sagt er. „Jemand fragte, ‚Warum wollt ihr uns interviewen? Wir hatten kein besonderes Leben, da ist nichts, was wir geleistet haben.‘ Aber ich erwiderte, das ist genau die Leistung – ein Leben. Das ist das Außergewöhnlichste, was es gibt.“