Focus

Focus © Romain Vignes on Unsplash

Under "Focus", we convey the main topics of our work through various formats and perspectives. We wish you an interesting read and look forward to your comments.

Current:

100 Years Bauhaus

100 years of Bauhaus © Irmi Maunu-Kocian

A century ago, in 1919, Walter Gropius founded the Bauhaus School of Art and Design with the aim of making German design internationally more competitive. In the following years, the Bauhaus revolutionized not only the world of design and the arts, but also that of architecture, and became one of the most important cultural factors of the century worldwide. Our dossier on this year's anniversary presents interesting facts, milestones and hopefully inspiring insights into this fascinating movement.

Graphic Novels from Germany

Axolotl liest © Olivia Vieweg

With the Stroke of a Pen

Our focus is on the graphic novel scene in Germany and some of its most important authors. We take a look back at the last decades of German comic history and let some of the protagonists of the scene have their say. 

Author Nora Krug grew up in Germany, moved abroad and has lived for more than 20 years in an English-speaking environment. In her graphic memoir “Heimat”, she examines German history during the Nazi regime. Photo (detail): © Nina Subin

Nora Krug
Dancing the polka in Milwaukee

Interview with writer and illustrator Nora Krug about her book “Belonging”, living as a German in the US and the potential of graphic memoirs to deal with the past. 

Future libraries

Series: Future Libraries © raumlaborberlin on behalf of Kulturprojekte Berlin

Libraries lead us through a flood of analogue and digital information, can be a platform for exchange, space for encounters or social anchors in the city. With our series “Future Libraries” we shed light on challenges, trends and examples of success around the future of the library.

A year in music: 2018

Musikrückblick 2018 © Colourbox

2018 was a difficult year, seen from a political and social point of view. In addition, there were drastic changes in traditional markets such as the physical media formats.

Posthumanism

Posthumanism © Stefanie Sixt

At the threshold to a new era

Posthumanism

The dossier about the era of Posthumanism addresses the ethical, social and political issues associated with it, as well as ways of dealing creatively with them.

Living

Wohnen quer © Goethe-Institut
How do we want to live? In view of skyrocketing rents and property prices in cities worldwide, this is not so easy to answer. Ideas from the past, present and for the future help with solutions.

Feminism today

Dossier Feminismus © Photo: Jerry Kiesewetter on Unsplash
What are the vital issues that women and feminists in Canada and Germany today consider to be of burning importance, what are they concerned about? And what else is there still to do? This is a showcase of people who are involved in the field of culture and who are dealing with the currently most pressing feminist issues and debates.

German Music in Review: 2017

 

Fokus Musik © Michael Gaida/Pixabay
2017 was a politically charged year - in Germany, in Europe and in the world. Whether and how this has also been reflected in the German music scene, you can find out in our new Focus “German Music In Review: 2017”.

Tribute to Raimund Hoghe

 

La Valse © Rosa-Frank.com
One of the most unusual choreographers of our time was our guest in Montreal in April 2018. Read more about this exceptional artist on our focus page.

Flight, refuge and migration

Refugees
Photo: Freedom House / Flickr via Creative Commons, CC0
How do refugees contribute to the society of their arrival country? What are the reciprocal influences? How can the arrival be shaped differently?

No other subject has been as controversially discussed nor polarized as much. So far the discussions have been about refugees as a homogenous group though, and their situation has been generalized. This dossier is trying to add a micro-perspective.

Underground, today

Underground, today
Photo: Anders Jensen-Urstad via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3,0
„Underground“ - what does this word, with its air of revolt against the establishment, still signify? What does it evoke, today? And what can Underground achieve today?

Does it always arise out of disagreement or rather does it reflect a parallel “praxis” that is not necessarily seeking confrontation? A practice operating discreetly and on the fringes of official networks, searching for neither recognition nor longevity… This collection aims to provide elements of a response by examining a range of cultural domains from here and from Germany.

More services

Top

Fokus

Focus © Romain Vignes on Unsplash

Unter „Fokus“ vermitteln wir über verschiedene Formate und Perspektiven die thematischen Schwerpunkte unserer Arbeit. Wir wünschen Ihnen eine interessante Lektüre und freuen uns auf Ihre Kommentare.

Aktuell:


 

100 Jahre Bauhaus

100 years of Bauhaus © Irmi Maunu-Kocian

Vor einem Jahrhundert, im Jahr 1919 gründete Walter Gropius die Kunst- und Designschule Bauhaus mit dem Autrag, deutsches Design international konkurrenzfähiger zu machen. Das Ergebnis ließ sich sehen und startete eine kulturelle Revolution: In den folgenden Jahren revolutionierte das Bauhaus nicht nur die Welt des Designs und der Künste, sondern auch die der Architektur und wurde zu einem der weltweit wichtigsten kulturellen Einflussfaktoren des Jahrhunderts. Unser Dossier zum diesjährigen Jubiläum stellt Ihnen Wissenswertes vor, präsentiert Meilensteine und gibt interessante und hoffentlich inspirierende Einblicke in diese faszinierende Bewegung.

Comics aus Deutschland

Axolotl liest © Olivia Vieweg

Nach Strich und Feder

Unser Schwerpunkt porträtiert die aktuelle Comicszene sowie einige der wichtigsten deutschen Autorinnen und Autoren. Wir werfen einen Blick zurück auf die letzten Jahrzehnte deutscher Comicgeschichte und lassen auch einige der Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten der Szene zu Wort kommen. 

Die in Deutschland aufgewachsene Autorin Nora Krug lebt seit über 20 Jahren im englischsprachigen Ausland. In ihrem Graphic Memoir „Heimat“ beschäftigt sie sich mit der deutschen NS-Geschichte. Foto (Zuschnitt): © Nina Subin

Nora Krug
Polka tanzen in Milwaukee

Die Illustratorin Nora Krug im Gespräch über ihr Buch „Heimat“, das Leben als Deutsche in den USA und das Potenzial von Graphic Memoirs für die Geschichtsaufarbeitung.

Bibliotheken der Zukunft

Serie: Bibliotheken der Zukunft © raumlaborberlin im Auftrag von Kulturprojekte Berlin

Bibliotheken führen uns durch analoge und digitale Informationsfluten, können Plattform für Austausch, Raum für Begegnungen oder sozialer Anker in der Stadt sein. Mit der Serie „Bibliotheken der Zukunft“ beleuchten wir Herausforderungen, Trends und Erfolgsbeispiele rund um die Zukunft der Bibliothek.

Musikrückblick 2018

Musikrückblick 2018 © Colourbox

Unter politischen und sozialen Gesichtspunkten betrachtet war 2018 ein schwieriges Jahr. Dazu kamen einschneidende Veränderungsbewegungen in traditionellen Märkten wie denen der physikalischen Medienformate.

Posthumanismus

Posthumanismus © Stefanie Sixt

An der Schwelle zu einem neuen Zeitalter

Posthumanismus

Das Dossier über das neue posthumanistische Zeitalter widmet sich den mit den mit ihm einhergehenden ethischen, sozialen und politischen Fragestellungen, sowie Möglichkeiten des kreativen Umgangs mit ihnen.

Wohnen

Wohnen quer © Goethe-Institut
Wie wollen wir wohnen? Angesichts explodierender Miet- und Immobilienpreise in Städten weltweit, ist das nicht so leicht zu beantworten. Ideen aus Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und für die Zukunft helfen bei Lösungen.

Feminismus Heute

Dossier Feminismus © Photo: Jerry Kiesewetter auf Unsplash
Was sind die wichtigsten Themen, die Frauen, Feministinnen und Feministen in Kanada und Deutschland heute unter den Nägeln brennen? Was treibt sie um? Und was gibt es noch zu tun? Wir stellen Kulturschaffende vor, die sich mit den aktuell spannendsten feministischen Themen und Debatten beschäftigen.

Musikrückblick 2017

Fokus Musik © Michael Gaida/Pixabay
2017 war ein politisch aufgeladenes Jahr – in Deutschland, in Europa und in der Welt. Ob und wie sich das auch in der deutschen Musikszene niedergeschlagen hat, erfahren Sie in unserem neuen Focus „Musikrückblick“ 2017.

Hommage an Raimund Hoghe

 

La Valse © Rosa-Frank.com
Einer der ungewöhnlichsten Choreographen unserer Zeit war im April 2018 bei uns zu Gast in Montreal. Lesen Sie auf unserer Schwerpunktseite mehr über diesen Ausnahmekünstler.

Flucht, Zuflucht und Migration

Flüchtlinge
Foto: Freedom House / Flickr via Creative Commons, CC0
Was tragen Flüchtlinge zu den Gesellschaften in den jeweiligen Ankunftsländern bei? Welche wechselseitigen Einflüsse finden in den Communities statt? Und wie unterschiedlich kann das Ankommen gestaltet werden?

Kaum ein anderes Thema hat die Menschen in den letzten Monaten so bewegt und wurde entsprechend kontrovers diskutiert. Dabei wird von "den Flüchtlingen" oftmals als homogene Gruppe gesprochen und ihre Situation verallgemeinernd dargestellt. Dieses Dossier versucht, eine Mikroperspektive in den aktuellen Diskurs einzubringen.
 

Underground, heute

Underground, heute
Foto: Anders Jensen-Urstad via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3,0
„Underground“ - was bedeutet dieses Wort und sein Nimbus, die Revolte gegen das Establishment, im gegenwärtigen Zeitgeist? Was kann Underground heute noch bewirken?

Resultiert der „Underground“ immer noch aus dem Protest oder geht er vielmehr auf eine parallele Praxis zurück, die de facto gar nicht mehr die Konfrontation sucht? Eine diskrete, am Rande der offiziellen Netzwerke operierende Vorgehensweise, die weder Anerkennung noch Fortbestand anstrebt... Das vorliegende Dossier möchte bezüglich einiger Aspekte Antworten anbieten, indem es unterschiedliche kulturelle Bereiche hier und in Deutschland näher betrachtet.

Weitere Angebote

Top