Street art discoveries from Mexico, Canada and the US
#artbits

Artbits © Photo: Claus Schmidt / Artist: Okuda

Street Art is an interdisciplinary contemporary art form whose origins can be traced back to graffiti. It can be found on walls and surfaces all over the world and is a natural part of everyday life for millions of people. Street art makes an important contribution to social discourse through the mostly unauthorized use of public spaces as canvases for artistic, political and social discussions. Due to its largely non-commercial use and often anonymous or pseudonymous artists and the anarchic structure of the scene, it has a reputation as one of the last truly independent, free arts.

About #artbits

In this photo collection, colleagues from the Goethe Institutes in Montreal, Los Angeles, Mexico City, New York City, Toronto and Washington, D.C. took photos of street art in their respective cities. We have sorted our discoveries into thematic series. In the beginning, we started the blog with a series of our favourite pieces, followed by works by German artists in our cities. In the course of time, however, new ideas were added, which are presented here in loose succession. Apart from city specials and current topics, #artbits also contains relevant articles on artists that we found particularly interesting.

Participate by taking photos of street art in your hometown and sharing them under the hashtag #artbits.
 

The best art is on the street.

Maurizio Cattelan

As Seen On TV

Television - This parallel world, both hated and loved, has shaped the last century, bringing joy and sorrow, stupification and enlightenment, suspense and relaxation to the masses. It has turned ordinary people into larger-than-life heroes and shrunk important personalities into patsies. Very real history was reinterpreted and utopian futures were dreamed of. Their protagonists are better known than some world leaders and are part of public conversation like neighbors or colleagues. 

The suspicion that the reality you serve up is not what it claims to be will grow.

Theodor W. Adorno

To them we dedicate our series about people you only know from television, although they are very real. One exception is Cleo from the Mexican film Roma, but she too is a reality. The others - Jerry Seinfeld, Jim Vance and John Oliver - are television versions of themselves, which makes their depiction in street art all the more appealing.






Special Mexico City



Snapshot: Las Vegas


¡Somos berlíneses!

The old post office site in the Berlin district of Spandau has - at least temporarily - become a place of the arts. This was made possible by the fact that the site was given over to associations such as "Neuen Urbanen Welten" (New Urban Worlds), whose activities on the site were aimed at reviving Spandau's cultural scene and bringing together creative people of all kinds. The abandoned and derelict premises of the Alte Post were used, among other things, as a shooting location for music videos and as a venue for events, and the old parcel hall on the premises was rebaptized “Urban Art Hall”, a space dedicated to Street Art. Mostly local, but also international artists were to present themselves here legally and in a creative, exchange-oriented environment. And that's what some of Mexico's best street art artists have done, and this series showcases some of the best pieces. In October 2019, New Urban Worlds came to an end, with the creation of offices, condominiums and other commercial spaces. But the story contionues: The Neue Urbane Welten is already looking for new premises!







Pretty Ugly

#artbits pretty ugly. Looking for the unsightly within the familiar we found some nice and notably nasty artbits. But what is ugly anyway– isn’t it always in the eye of the beholder?





Queer As Artsy Folk

Street art is everywhere and speaks to everyone. It is full or void of color, loud or calm, gaudy or subtle and sometimes more queer than straight. Our new series Queer as Artsy Folk is about queer street art - by queer artists with attitude, mission and goal. Whether Homo Riot confronts the public with their homophobia or Hugo Gyrl sends the militantly encouraging You Go Girl through the continents - queer street art has many exciting facets. A few of them we show here.








Snapshot: San Francisco


Streetartivism

The ubiquity of street art and the inexhaustible number of public walls, columns, telephone booths, subway trains, the fact that public space is exactly that – public – encourages (forces!) its use as a political medium. Street art as a means of protest, as an expression of dissatisfaction and demands for or against prevailing circumstances is as old as it is itself.
 
Not only since Banksy and other superstars in the political art scene has street art served a higher purpose. Our bloggers have devoted themselves to this phenomenon in this series - as always without the claim of completeness or representativeness. That would be impossible simply because of the large amount of great, relevant, exciting street art – and it wouldn't be fair either. That's why we've made a very personal selection to take a look at this world of political art – artivism in Los Angeles, Mexico, Montreal, New York, and Washington, D.C. – and to take a closer look at the world of political art.







Words As Art





Snapshot: Montreal

Montreal from spring to autumn, that means festival season: for the past 5 years, solidly embedded between the Experimental Dance and Theater Festival Transamériques and the Montreal International Jazz Festival there is the international street art festival MURAL. Its visibility makes the festival one of the major events of the year - it takes place on the boulevard St-Laurent, the so-called "Main", one of the principle arteries of the city, the demarcation line between its eastern and western part and even without a festival one of the most dynamic streets of the metropolis. The organism MU ("Transformer Montréal en Musée à ciel ouvert" - Montreal becomes an open-air museum) also contributes to the city's diversity of exciting street art. In our Montreal city special, we present some of the works that have been produced over the last few years at the MURAL festival or with the support of MU.









Special: Washington D.C.


In Space





Abstract






Well-known Faces





German Artists





Some all-time favorites





Insta-artbits of the week

Photographers


Aim Pé © Aim Pé
Marie-Pierre Poulin has been the director of the library for the Goethe-Institut Montreal since 2011. She developed an interest for street art in 2014, and has been on the hunt for art on the streets ever since. Her other interests include foodism, languages, travel, and bunnies. Follow her on Instagram  @aim_pe 

Katherine “Luna Park” Lorimer © Luna Park
Katherine Lorimer is a Brooklyn-based graffiti and street art enthusiast, photographer, curator, librarian, and author of (Un)Sanctioned: The Art on New York Streets. She's worked as the librarian at the Goethe-Institut New York since 2002. Since 2005, she has spent her free time exploring New York City in search of art in unexpected locations. A co-founder and regular contributor to  The Street Spot blog, she is passionate about documenting urban artforms and supportive of all creative endeavors to redefine public space. Her photographs have been exhibited in New York, Los Angeles, and Chicago and have appeared in leading street art books and magazines. She has presented her observations at the Brooklyn Museum and the New York Public Library, guest lectured for the History of Street Art & Graffiti course at Long Island University, and contributed commentary for the HBO documentary Banksy Does New York. Follow her on Instagram.  @lunapark

Lord Jim © Lord Jim
Stefan Kloo, also known as Lord Jim, is an art-dork, book thief, and collector who figures that someone needs to keep an eye on things. He's been documenting street art for well over a decade now and can't shake the feeling that there might just be something to it.
Originally from Germany, Lord Jim lives with his wife and sons in Los Angeles where he also does the most damage.
His photos and musings on street art have been published in numerous books and articles. ( Most notably Stay Up - Los Angeles Street Art with author Jim Deichendt / Shepard Fairey Inc. by Jim Deichendt / Banksy - You are an acceptable level of threat by Carpet Bombing Culture, etc.) His sizable Street Art photo collections can be found on his  Flickr pages.  Lord Jim thinks that Banksy smells like soup.

Nesa Fröhlich © Nesa Fröhlich
Nesa has been director of the library at the Goethe-Institut Mexico since August 2017. Having just arrived in Mexico City, street art discovery tours have been a great opportunity to get to know the city from another side. She also likes to look at art in museums.

Mike Maguire © Josh
Mike Maguire is a Washington, DC photographer and writer. His photos have appeared in The Washington City Paper, The Baltimore Sun, USA Today, and Thrasher Magazine. A native of the DC area, he loves photographing the city's nightlife and street art. He cowrote the 2012 feature film Ultrasonic about a fictional DC rock musician and is the author of the sci-fi novel Three Days Breathing and the wordplay book Drawn Inward and Other Poems. Follow Mike on Instagram  @mike.j.maguire or his webpage  mmaguirephoto.com

Peter Schweppe
Pete is an Assistant Professor of German Studies & History at Montana State University. Over the years, he has called Toronto, Montreal, and Minneapolis home. In addition to photography, he likes visual culture and the great outdoors. Follow him on Instagram or Twitter  @p_schweppe.

Lucia Romero
Lucia Romero (detail) | © Lucia Romero
She likes mangas and animes from the 80s and 90s and dark music and metal. Lucía is always exploring her hometown in Mexico in search of the unusual in ordinary places. She likes to take photos of everyday life in the city and finds them all the more interesting if street art is also present in the pictures.

Sophoan Sorn
NorCal-based Sophoan Sorn was born in a refugee camp on the border of Cambodia and Thailand in 1985. He is a curator and organizer of contemporary international film festivals, now in his 10th season as Director of the Berlin & Beyond Film Festival, an annual program of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco.

Through the years, he has worked as a portrait photographer, documentary filmmaker, and graphic designer. He watches hundreds of films each year and has attended major festivals such as the Berlinale, Cannes, and Sundance. He is also Director of the San Joaquin International Film Festival, which he founded in 2008. An avid traveler, he has been to 60 countries around the world.

Top

Street-Art-Entdeckungen aus Mexiko, Kanada und den USA
#artbits

Artbits © Foto: Claus Schmidt / Artist: Okuda

Street Art ist eine interdisziplinäre zeitgenössische Kunstform, deren Ursprünge auf Graffiti zurückgeführt werden können. Sie findet sich überall auf der Welt an Wänden und Flächen und gehört für Millionen von Menschen wie selbstverständlich zu ihrem Alltag. Street Art leistet durch die meist unautorisierte Nutzung öffentlicher Räume als Leinwände für künstlerische, politische und soziale Auseinandersetzungen einen wichtigen Beitrag zum sozialen Diskurs. Durch ihre weitgehend unkommerzielle Nutzung und oftmals anonymen oder unter Pseudonymen schaffenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern und die anarchische Struktur der Szene hat sie den Ruf als eine der letzten wirklich unabhängigen, freien Künste.

Über #artbits

In dieser Fotosammlung haben die Kolleg*innen der Goethe-Institute in Montreal, Los Angeles, Mexiko-Stadt, New York City, Toronto und Washington, D.C. Fotos von Street-Art in ihren jeweiligen Städten aufgenommen. Unsere Fundstücke haben wir thematisch in Serien sortiert. Begonnen hatten wir den Blog mit einer Serie unserer Lieblingsstücke, gefolgt von Werken deutscher Künstler*nnen in unseren Städten. Im Laufe der Zeit kamen aber immer neue Ideen hinzu, die hier in loser Folge präsentiert werden. Neben Städtespecials und aktuellen Themen finden sich in #artbits aber auch relevante Beiträge zu Künstler*innen, die uns besonders interessant erschienen.

Beteilige dich, indem du Street-Art in deiner Heimatstadt fotografierst und unter dem Hashtag #artbits teilst.

Die beste Kunst findet man auf der Straße.

Maurizio Cattelan

Fast wie im Fernsehen

Das Fernsehen, diese hassgeliebte Parallelwelt, hat das letzte Jahrhundert geprägt, den Menschen Freude und Kummer, Verflachung und Erleuchtung, Spannung und Entspannung gebracht. Es hat ganz gewöhnliche Personen zu überlebensgroßen Helden gemacht und wichtige Persönlichkeiten zu Witzfiguren schrumpfen lassen. Ganz reale Geschichte wurde neu interpretiert und in Szene gesetzt oder eine utopische Zukunft erträumt. Ihre Hauptfiguren sind bekannter als manche Staatoberhäupter und sind fester Bestandteil der öffentlichen Konversation, als seien sie Nachbar*innen oder Kolleg*innen.

Der Verdacht, daß die Realität, die man serviert, nicht die sei, für die sie sich ausgibt, wird wachsen.

Theodor W. Adorno

Diesen widmen wir unsere Serie über Leute, die man nur aus dem Fernsehen kennt, obwohl sie ganz real sind. Eine Ausnahme ist Cleo aus dem mexikanischen Film Roma, aber auch sie ist der Wirklichkeit entsprungen. Die anderen – Jerry Seinfeld, Jim Vance und John Oliver – sind Fernsehversionen ihrer selbst, was ihre Abbildung in Street Art umso reizvoller macht.






Special: Mexiko City



Schnappschuss: Las Vegas


¡Somos berlíneses!

Aus dem alten Postgelände des Berliner Stadtteils Spandau ist – zumindest vorübergehend – ein Ort der Künste geworden. Möglich wurde dies durch die Überlassung des Terrains an die „Neuen Urbanen Welten“ – ein Verein, dessen Aktivitäten auf dem Postgelände zum Ziel hatten, Spandaus Kulturszene zu beleben und und Menschen aus innovationsfreudigen und kreativen Umfeldern zusammenzubringen. Die verlassenen und brachliegenden Räumlichkeiten der Alten Post wurden unter anderem als Drehort für Musikvideos und als Veranstaltungsort genutzt, und die auf dem Gelände gelegene alte Pakethalle wurde als „Urban Art Hall“ der Street-Art gewidmet. Vor allem lokale, aber auch internationale Künstler*innen sollten sich hier ganz legal und in einem kreativen, auf Austausch angelegten Umfeld präsentieren. Und das haben auch einige der besten mexikanischen Street-Art-Künstler*innen getan. Ein paar der schönsten Beispiele haben wir hier gesammelt. Im Oktober 2019 mussten die Neuen Urbanen Welten den geplanten Neubauten weichen, es entstehen Büros, Eigentumswohnungen und Gewerbeflächen. Aber es soll weitergehen: Der Verein ist bereits auf der Suche nach neuen Räumlichkeiten.







Pretty Ugly

#artbits schön scheußlich“! Auf der Suche nach etwas Schaurigem im Vertrauten fanden wir ein paar fabelhaft fiese artbits. Alle sehr süß, nix Saures, und ganz nebenbei stellt sich auch die Frage, ob Hässlichkeit nicht ohnehin immer nur im Auge der Betrachterin oder des Betrachters liegt.





Queer As Artsy Folk

Street Art ist überall und wendet sich an alle. Sie ist bunt oder farblos, laut oder ruhig, knallig oder subtil und sie ist auch mal mehr queer als straight. In unserer neuen Serie Queer as Artsy Folk geht es um queere Street Art – von queeren Künstlerinnen und Künstlern mit Haltung, Sendungsbewusstsein und Ziel. Ob Homo Riot die Öffentlichkeit mit ihrer eigenen Homophobie konfrontiert oder Hugo Gyrl das kämpferische You Go Girl über die Kontinente schickt – queere Street Art hat viele spannende Facetten. Ein paar davon zeigen wir hier.








Schnappschuss: San Francisco


Street-Artivismus

Die Allgegenwärtigkeit von Street Art und die unerschöpfliche Zahl an öffentlichen Wänden, Säulen, Telefonzellen, U-Bahnzügen, die Tatsache, dass der öffentliche Raum genau das – nämlich öffentlich ist, begünstigen (erzwingen!) ihre Nutzung als politisches Medium. Street Art als Protestmittel, als Ausdrucksform für Unzufriedenheit und Forderungen für oder gegen herrschende Umstände ist so alt wie sie selbst.

Nicht erst seit Banksy und anderen Superstars der politischen Kunstszene dienen viele Kreationen der Straße einem höheren Zweck. Diesem Phänomen haben sich unsere Bloggerinnen und Blogger in dieser Serie gewidmet – wie immer ohne den Anspruch der Vollständigkeit oder Repräsentativität. Das wäre allein schon wegen der großen Menge an toller, relevanter, spannender Straßenkunst unmöglich – und es wäre auch nicht fair. Daher haben wir mit einer ganz persönlichen Auswahl einen Blick in diese Welt der Politischen Kunst gewagt – Artivismus in Los Angeles, Mexiko, Montreal, New York und Washington, D.C.







Kunst aus Worten





Schnappschuss: Montreal

Montreal von Frühling bis Herbst, das bedeutet Festivalsaison: Solide eingebettet zwischen dem experimentellen Tanz- und Theaterfestival Festival Transamériques und dem Festival International du Jazz de Montréal findet seit nunmehr fünf Jahren Mitte Juni das Street Art Festival MURAL statt. Seine Sichtbarkeit macht das Festival bereits zu einem der größeren Events des Jahres – entlang des Boulevard St-Laurent, der sogenannten „Main“, einer der wichtigsten Arterien der Stadt, der Demarkationslinie zwischen ihrem Ostteil und Westteil und einer der auch ohne Festival dynamischsten Straßen der Metropole. Auch die Organisation MU („Transformer Montréal en Musée à ciel ouvert“ – Montreal wird zum Museum unter freiem Himmel) trägt dazu bei, dass die Stadt eine echte Vielfalt an spannender Straßenkunst aufzuweisen hat. In unserem Montrealer Stadtspecial stellen wir einige Werke vor, die über die letzten Jahre beim MURAL-Festival und oft auch mit Unterstützung von MU entstanden sind.









Special: Washington D.C.


Im Weltall





Abstrakt






Prominente Gesichter





Deutsche Künstler*innen





Einige Favoriten





Insta-artbits der Woche

Fotograf*innen


Aim Pé © Aim Pé
Marie-Pierre Poulin ist seit 2011 Direktorin der Bibliothek für das Goethe-Institut Montreal. In den vergangenen zwei Jahren hat sie Street-Art für sich entdeckt und sucht seither mehr und mehr Kunst auf den Straßen. Ihre anderen Interessen sind Esskultur, Sprachen, Reisen und Hasen. Instagram:
@aim_pe/

Katherine “Luna Park” Lorimer © Luna Park
Lebt in Brooklyn und ist eine Graffiti- und Street‑Art‑Enthusiastin, außerdem Fotografin, Kuratorin, Bibliothekarin und Autorin von (Un) Sanctioned: The Art on New York Streets. Seit 2002 arbeitet sie als Bibliothekarin beim Goethe‑Institut New York. Seit 2005 verbringt sie ihre freie Zeit damit, New York City auf der Suche nach Kunst an unerwarteten Orten zu erkunden. Als Mitbegründerin und Autorin des Street Spot Blog beschäftigt sie sich leidenschaftlich mit der Dokumentation von urbanen Kunstformen und unterstützt alle kreativen Bemühungen, den öffentlichen Raum neu zu definieren. Ihre Fotos wurden in New York, Los Angeles und Chicago ausgestellt und sind in führenden Straßenkunstbüchern und -zeitschriften erschienen. Sie hat ihre Beobachtungen über die Straßenkunst im Brooklyn Museum und in der New York Public Library präsentiert, Vorträge im Kurs „History of Street Art & Graffiti“ an der Long Island University gegeben und Kommentare zum HBO-Dokumentarfilm Banksy Does New York beigetragen.
Instagram:  @lunapark

Lord Jim © Lord Jim
Stefan Kloo aka Lord Jim ist ein Liebhaber schräger Kunst und Sammler flüchtiger Dinge. Als ein leidenschaftlicher Fürsprecher der Gattung fotografiert er Street-Art bereits seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt und wird dabei das Gefühl nicht los, dass es auch noch eine Weile so weitergehen wird. Ursprünglich aus Deutschland stammend, lebt Lord Jim mit seiner Frau und zwei Söhnen in Los Angeles, wo er auch den meisten Schaden anrichtet. Seine Fotos und Essays wurden in zahlreichen Büchern und Artikeln veröffentlicht (etwa in Stay Up – Los Angeles Street Art mit Autor Jim Deichendt, Shepard Fairey Inc. von Jim Deichendt oder Banksy – Sie sind ein akzeptables Maß an Bedrohung von Carpet Bombing Culture). Eine umfangreiche Sammlung seiner Street-Art-Fotos findet sich auf seinen Flickr Seiten. 
 

Nesa Fröhlich © Nesa Fröhlich
Nesa Fröhlich ist seit August 2017 Leiterin der Bibliothek im Goethe-Institut Mexiko. Gerade in Mexiko angekommen, sind Street-Art-Entdeckungstouren eine gute Gelegenheit, die Stadt noch von einer anderen Seite kennenzulernen. Sonst schaut sie sich Kunst auch gern in Museen an. Instagram: @nizafeliz

Mike Maguire © Josh
Mike Maguirekommt aus Washington, D.C. und ist Fotograf und Schriftsteller. Seine Fotos sind im Washington City Paper, in der Baltimore Sun, in USA Today und im Thrasher Magazine erschienen. Der gebürtige Washingtoner liebt es, das Nachtleben und die Street‑Art der Stadt zu fotografieren. Er ist Co-Autor des Spielfilms Ultrasonic über einen fiktionalen DC-Rockmusiker aus dem Jahre 2012, Autor des Science-Fiction-Romans Three Days Breathing und des Wordplay-Buches Drawn Inward and Other Poems
Instagram:  @mike.j.maguire 
Webseite:  mmaguirephoto.com

Peter Schweppe
Peter Schweppe ist Assistenzprofessor für Deutsche Studien und Geschichte an der Montana State University. In der Vergangenheit hat er bereits in Toronto, Montreal und Minneapolis gelebt. Außer für Fotografie interessiert er sich für visuelle Kultur und ist zudem ein Naturliebhaber.
Instagram und Twitter:
@p_schweppe

Lucia Romero
Lucia Romero (Ausschnitt) | © Lucia Romero
Lucia Romero mag Mangas und Animes aus den 80er- und 90er-Jahren, Dark Music und Metal. Lucía erkundet ihre Heimatstadt in Mexiko immer auf der Suche nach dem Ungewöhnlichen an den gewöhnlichen Orten. Sie macht gern Fotos vom alltäglichen Leben in der Stadt. Und wenn in den Bildern auch noch Street-Art vorkommt, findet sie es umso interessanter.
Instagram: @littledemonlucy

Sophoan Sorn
Der in Nordkalifornien lebende Sophoan Sorn wurde 1985 in einem Flüchtlingslager an der Grenze zwischen Kambodscha und Thailand geboren. Sophoan ist ein gefragter Kurator und Veranstalter zeitgenössischer internationaler Filmfestivals.Derzeit ist er in seiner zehnten Spielzeit Festivalleiter des Berlin & Beyond Film Festivals in San Francisco, das jährlich vom Goethe-Institut präsentiert wird.

Er arbeitete bereits als Porträtfotograf, Dokumentarfilmer und Grafikdesigner. Jedes Jahr sieht er sich jedes Jahr Hunderte von Filmen an und besucht bedeutende Festivals wie die Berlinale, Cannes und Sundance. Sophoan Sorn ist außerdem Direktor des San Joaquin International Film Festival, das er 2008 gegründet hat. Als begeisterter Reisender war er bisher in 60 Ländern der Welt unterwegs.
 

Top