1969 – 2019 | 50 years Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

The design of the exhibition "Queer as German Folk" developed by the Berlin based agency chezweitz graphic: chezweitz

The 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots gives occasion to celebrate, but also to continue the struggle for queer rights. The Goethe-Institut supports debate and remembrance with an international program.

Current Posts

Exhibition

In 2019, eight branches of the Goethe-Institut in North America and the Schwules Museum, Berlin present the exhibition Queer as German Folk. Further Goethe-Instituts across the globe will follow in 2020. The exhibition invites visitors to experience the history of the queer movement and its present, within local contexts and spaces.

Itinerant Conference

Four exhibition venues, four panel discussions, four themes: parallel to the exhibition, there will be panel discussions in Toronto, New York, Mexico City, and Berlin. Between June and September 2019, various aspects of current queer discourse will be deliberated under the banner Queer Commonalities – Queer Conflicts: queer resistance, queer culture, queer diversity, and queer establishment. Discussions will take place in English with participants from the US, Canada, Mexico, and Germany. For those unable to attend in person, recordings of the four panels will be made available on this website.
 

Stonewall Moments

Half a century has passed since the revolt on Christopher Street in New York. For half a century now, queer people all over the world have fought for visibility, respect, and equality. It’s also half a century of personal memories that reach all the way to the present. In short videos, different generations recount their “Stonewall moments.”

Michael Venus

Montreal
Michael Venus

Elle Flanders

Toronto
Elle Flanders

Ullrich Wuerdemann

Berlin
Ulrich Würdemann

Queer Cinema from Germany

The Goethe-Institut offers a list of queer films from Germany that can be used as a basis for local film programs. The film selection and texts are by Wieland Speck, the long-standing head of the Berlinale’s Panorama section, which traditionally includes many gay, lesbian, and trans films. Speck also initiated the Teddy Award, the world's only official queer film prize to be awarded by an A-list festival. The film recommendations reflect Speck’s personal views.

Queer for students of the German language

Partners

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Institut in North America in cooperation with Schwules Museum, Berlin, and Bundeszentrale für poltische Bildung (Federal Agency for Political Education)

Logo Schwules Museum Berlin
Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Local Partners

We thank all of our local partners in Berlin, Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexico City, Montreal, New York, San Francisco, Toronto, and Washington DC for their energetic and enthusiastic support, which made the on-site realization possible.
 

New York City
Stonewall 50 Consortium
Queer Cinema
The Center
Videoout


Washington D.C.
The DC Center
Rainbow DC
WWH
Wunderbar together


Chicago
Leather Archives and Museum
Packingtown
The Plant
Chicago Filmmakers


San Francisco,  Montreal, Toronto
Hormel Center San Francisco
Never Apart
Toronto Pride
Toronto Arquives


Mexiko City

Museo Memoria y Tolerancia
MIC Genero
Centro Cultural México Contemporaneo

 

Top

1969 – 2019 | 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots
Queer as German Folk

Das Design der Ausstellung „Queer as German Folk“ entwickelt von der Berliner Agentur chezweitz Grafik: chezweitz

Das Jubiläum 50 Jahre Stonewall Riots gibt Anlass zum Feiern, aber auch zum Weiterkämpfen für queere Rechte. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt die Debatte und Erinnerung mit einem internationalen Programm. 

Aktuelle Beiträge

Ausstellung

2019 zeigen acht Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika und das Schwule Museum Berlin die Ausstellung Queer as German Folk. Ab 2020 folgen weitere Goethe-Institute weltweit. Die Ausstellung schafft einen Erlebnisraum zur Geschichte und Gegenwart der queeren Bewegung und passt sich lokalen Kontexten und Räumlichkeiten an.

Wanderkonferenz

Vier Ausstellungsorte, vier Gesprächsrunden, vier Themen: Toronto, New York City, Mexiko-Stadt und Berlin veranstalten im Stonewall-Jubiläumsjahr parallel zur Ausstellung öffentliche Gesprächsrunden. Zwischen Juni und September 2019 stehen unter dem Titel Queere Gemeinsamkeiten – Queere Konflikte unterschiedliche Aspekte des aktuellen Queer-Diskurses zur Verhandlung: Queerer Widerstand, Queere Kultur, Queere Vielfalt und Queeres Establishment. Diskutiert wird auf Englisch, jeweils mit Teilnehmenden aus den USA, aus Kanada, Mexiko und Deutschland. Wer nicht persönlich teilnehmen kann, findet die vier Panels auf dieser Website zusammengeführt als Aufzeichnung.

Stonewall-Momente

Ein halbes Jahrhundert ist seit der Revolte in der New Yorker Christopher Street vergangen. Ein halbes Jahrhundert, in dem queere Menschen überall auf der Welt für Sichtbarkeit, Respekt und Gleichberechtigung kämpften. Ein halbes Jahrhundert voller persönlicher Erinnerungen, die bis in die Gegenwart hineinreichen. In Videoclips erzählen verschiedene Generationen von ihren Stonewall-Momenten.

Ullrich Wuerdemann

Berlin
Ullrich Wuerdemann

Bettina Dziggel

Berlin
Bettina Dziggel

Bernd Gaiser

Berlin
Bernd Gaiser

Nadja Schallenberg

Berlin
Nadja Schallenberg

Oguntoye Gammon

Berlin
Oguntoye Gammon

Darling Shear

Chicago
Darling Shear

Maria Garcia

Chicago
Maria Garcia

Erica Meiners

Chicago
Erica Meiners

Alex Alí Méndez Díaz

Mexiko
Alex Alí Méndez Díaz

Sofia Figueroa

Mexiko
Sofía Figueroa

Enrique Torre Molina

Mexiko
Enríque Torre Molina

Anita Dolce Vita

New York City
Anita Dolce Vita

Tashan Lovemore

New York City
Tashan Lovemore

Michelle Lopze

New York City
Michelle Lopez

Sabrina Bello

New York City
Sabrina Bello

Anooj Bhandari

New York City
Anooj Bhandari

Queeres Kino aus Deutschland

Das Goethe-Institut bietet eine Liste von queeren Filmen aus Deutschland an, die sich als Grundlage für lokale Kinoprogramme eignen. Die Auswahl und die Kommentare stammen von Wieland Speck, dem langjährigen Berlinale-Kurator für die Sektion Panorama, die traditionell viele schwul-lesbische und Transgender-Filme in den Wettbewerb aufnimmt. Speck initiierte auch den Teddy Award, den weltweit einzigen offiziellen queeren Filmpreis eines A-Festivals. Die Filmempfehlungen stellen die persönliche Sicht von Wieland Speck dar.

Partner

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Logo Schwules Museum Berlin
Logo Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Lokale Partner

Wir danken all unseren lokalen Partnern in Berlin, Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexiko-Stadt, Montreal, New York, San Francisco, Toronto und Washington D.C. für ihre tatkräftige und begeisterte Unterstützung, die die Realisierung vor Ort erst möglich gemacht hat.  

New York City
Stonewall 50 Consortium
Queer Cinema
The Center
Videoout


Washington D.C.
The DC Center
Rainbow DC
WWH
Wunderbar together


Chicago
Leather Archives and Museum
Packingtown
The Plant
Chicago Filmmakers


San Francisco,  Montreal,  Mexico-City 
Hormel Center San Francisco
Never Apart
Museo Memoria y Tolerancia
MIC Genero


Toronto
Toronto Pride
Toronto Arquives

Top