On the traces of Germany in Halifax and surroundings

Did you know...

... that Lunenburg was the first German settlement in Canada and was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1995?

During the 18th century, Britain recruited mercenary soldiers from all over Europe to ensure its preeminence over France. Therefore, many Germans settled in Nova Scotia. Besides the idyllic port town Lunenburg, many more German traces can be found in Halifax and its surroundings. Some streets and bus lines are named after German cities. A Halifax borrow named "Schmidtsville", which derives from the name of a German captain has some architectural peculiarities to discover! While historical German settlement can be traced in the cityscape of Halifax, one can find some more recent German traces in the fields of arts and sciences.

Traces

The painting “Halifax” by Gerhard Richter © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The painting “Halifax” by Gerhard Richter

With its flourishing arts and music scene, Halifax has inspired well-known figures from all over the world, including artists like Gerhard Richter, who taught for a summer semester as a guest lecturer at the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD).

The Little Dutch Church © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Little Dutch Church

Going for a walk along Gottingen Street towards the Little Dutch Church gives insight into one of Halifax's multicultural neighborhoods, which has undergone rapid changes. In addition, it's worth visiting the cemetery of the Little Dutch Church, where you can find German last names and research the earliest origins of German immigrant history.
 

The Museum of Immigration on Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Museum of Immigration on Pier 21

Because of its exceptional meaning for the country’s immigration history, the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 was named one of Canada’s national museums.

The historical quarter “Schmidtville” © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The historical quarter “Schmidtville”

During the 20th century, Schmidtville was home to lots of immigrants of German, Irish, English, Italian, and Scottish heritage. Today, Schmidtville is once more a lively neighbourhood in the heart of Halifax, and it presents a direct connection to the history of the early settlers.
 

Lunenburg Port Town © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Lunenburg Port Town

Located 90 km southwest of Halifax, Lunenburg was a flourishing center of the fishing and shipbuilding industries in Nova Scotia and is one of Canada's oldest settlements.

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: “The Mother of the Oceans” © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: “The Mother of the Oceans”

In 1979, upon receipt of a Killam fellowship from Dalhousie University in Halifax, the German-born environmental activist, author, and expert on the Law of the Sea Elisabeth Mann Borgese moved to Canada.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in und um Halifax

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

... Lunenburg die erste deutsche Siedlung in Kanada ist und seit 1995 zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört?

Um die Vormachtstellung gegenüber den Franzosen zu sichern, rekrutierte die britische Regierung im 18. Jahrhundert Söldner aus ganz Europa. So kam es, dass sich auch viele Deutsche in Nova Scotia ansiedelten.  Neben der idyllischen Hafenstadt Lunenburg, sind in Halifax und seiner Umgebung viele weitere deutsche Spuren zu finden. Straßen und Buslinien tragen den Namen deutscher Städte. Im Stadtteil „Schmidtsville“, dessen Name auf einen deutschen Kapitän zurückzuführen ist, lassen sich architektonische Besonderheiten entdecken. Die deutsche Einwanderung prägt das historische Stadtbild von Halifax. In der Kunst und Wissenschaft finden wir deutsche Spuren aus der Moderne.

Spuren

Die Anna Leonowens Gallery © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Gemälde "Halifax" von Gerhard Richter

Halifax inspirierte mit seiner florierenden Kunst- und Musikszene bekannte Persönlichkeiten aus der ganzen Welt, unter anderem Künstler wie Gerhard Richter, der 1978 als Gastdozent für ein Sommersemester am Nova Scotia College of Art and Design (NSCAD) unterrichtete.

Die „Little Dutch Church“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die „Little Dutch Church“

Ein Spaziergang entlang der „Gottingen Street“ Richtung „Little Dutch Church“ gibt Einblick in ein multikulturelles Viertel von Halifax, das rasanten Veränderungen unterworfen ist. Zudem lohnt sich ein Besuch des Friedhofs der „Little Dutch Church“, auf dem man deutsche Familiennamen finden und die frühesten Ursprünge deutscher Einwanderungsgeschichte erforschen kann.
 

Das Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21 © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Immigrationsmuseum am Pier 21

Aufgrund seiner außergewöhnlichen Bedeutung für die Einwanderungsgeschichte des Landes gehört das „Canadian Immigration Museum Pier 21“ zu den Nationalmuseen Kanadas.

Das historische Stadtviertel „Schmidtville” © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das historische Stadtviertel „Schmidtville”

Während des 20. Jahrhunderts war „Schmidtville“ Heimat vieler Einwanderer deutscher, irischer, englischer, italienischer und schottischer Herkunft. Heute ist „Schmidtville“ wieder eine lebendige Nachbarschaft im Herzen Halifax‘ und stellt eine unmittelbare Verbindung zur frühen Siedlungsgeschichte her.
 

Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg

Das 90 km südwestlich von Halifax gelegene Hafenstädtchen Lunenburg war einst florierendes Zentrum der Fischerei- und Schiffsbauindustrie in Nova Scotia und ist eine der ältesten Siedlungen Kanadas.

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: „Die Mutter der Ozeane” © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Elisabeth Mann Borgese: “The Mother of the Oceans”

Mit dem Erhalt eines „Killam Stipendiums“ der Dalhousie Universität in Halifax zog die gebürtige deutsche Seerechtsexpertin, Umweltaktivistin und Autorin Elisabeth Mann Borgese 1979 nach Kanada.

Top