On the traces of Germany in Montreal and surroundings

Did you know...

... that the first Christmas tree of North America made its appearance in the small town of Sorel near Montreal?

A Prussian officer who established himself in the small town of Sorel in Québec during the 18th century palpably missed his Christmas tree. German soldiers fought in the name of England under his command. After the British’ victory over America in 1776 some soldiers of Hessian origin came from Nova Scotia to settle in Montreal. Through marriage they would become owners of land and had families. A Holocaust memorial with museum was erected in 1979 to commemorate persecuted Jews by the Nazi regime. Beside these historical traces, others from modern times can be found: The “Boucherie Atlantique” and the studio “Tresnormale” for example. A visit to the Museum of Fine Arts reveals a special work of art by Otto Dix.

Traces

T-Shirts by Tresnormale © Goethe-Institut Montreal

T-Shirts by Tresnormale

By the time it opened its atelier and shop on Avenue Fairmont in 2014, “Tresnormale” - a small silkscreen and design label - had already been in existence for a few years.

Esso gas station by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Most Beautiful and Famous Gas Station in the World

On Nun’s Island in the Saint Lawrence River southwest of the city centre, not far from downtown Montreal, you can find a small architectural jewel from one of the most significant architects of the 20th century: the Esso gas station by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886 - 1969).

Sorel and the First Christmas Tree in the New World © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Sorel and the First Christmas Tree in the New World

Sorel is a small town on the south bank of the Saint Lawrence River just 40 km east of Montreal, and it may surprise readers to learn it was in Sorel that the Christmas tree had its first appearance on North American soil.

Holocaust Memorial and Museum © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Holocaust Memorial and Museum

Montreal’s dynamic Jewish community has been an essential element of the history of the francophone province of Quebec for over 250 years.

The Portrait of the Lawyer Hugo Simons © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Portrait of the Lawyer Hugo Simons

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal) houses an extraordinary treasure in its collection: a portrait of the artist Otto Dix’s lawyer and friend Hugo Simons (1892-1958), which was painted in 1925 in Germany.

Atlantique Delicatessen © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Atlantique Delicatessen

Located on the western slope of Mont-Royal in the geographical centre of the city, the Austrian-German butchery “Boucherie Atlantique” is one of Montreal’s unmissable locales for all lovers of German food and products. It was acquired in 1962 by the German-Austrian couple Wolfgang and Herta Lustig.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in und um Montreal

Wussten Sie schon, dass....

… der erste deutsche Weihnachtsbaum in Nordamerika in der Kleinstadt Sorel in der Nähe von Montreal gestanden haben soll?

Ein preußischer Offizier hatte sich in der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts in der Quebecer Kleinstadt Sorel niedergelassen und offensichtlich den deutschen Weihnachtsbrauch vermisst. Unter ihm kämpften deutsche Soldaten auf der Seite der Engländer. Nach dem Sieg der Briten über die Amerikaner im Jahre 1776 zog es Söldner hessischer Abstammung aus Nova Scotia nach Montreal. Durch Heirat kamen sie hier in den Besitz von Land und gründeten Familien. Eine Holocaust Gedenkstätte mit Museum wurde 1979 zum Gedenken an die verfolgten Juden durch das NS-Regime errichtet. Die „Boucherie Atlantique“ und das Atelier „Tresnormale“ sind moderne deutsche Spuren in Montreal. Bei einem Besuch des „Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM)“ lässt sich ein ganz besonderes Werk von Otto Dix entdecken.

Spuren

T-Shirts von Tresnormale © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Atelier & Geschäft "Tresnormale"

Als das Atelier und Geschäft 2014 auf der Avenue Fairmount eröffnete, existierte „Tresnormale“, ein kleines Siebdruck- und Design-Label, bereits seit einigen Jahren.

Die schönste und berühmteste Tankstelle der Welt © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die schönste und berühmteste Tankstelle der Welt

Nicht weit von Montreals Stadtmitte entfernt, auf der im Sankt-Lorenz-Strom liegenden „Nonnen-Halbinsel“ südwestlich des Stadtkerns, findet sich ein kleiner Architektur-Juwel eines der bedeutendsten Architekten des 20. Jahrhunderts: die Esso Tankstelle von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe (1886 – 1969).

Sorel und der erste deutsche Weihnachtsbaum in der neuen Welt © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Sorel und der erste deutsche Weihnachtsbaum in der neuen Welt

Die Stadtchronik von Sorel, einer Kleinstadt knapp 40 km östlich von Montreal am südlichen Sankt-Lorenz Ufer gelegen, überrascht den interessierten Leser mit der Information, dass in ihrer Stadt „der Weihnachtsbaum sein erstes Erscheinen auf nordamerikanischem Boden hatte.“

Holocaust Museum Montreal © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Holocaust Museum Montreal

Die sehr dynamische jüdische Gemeinde Montreals ist seit mehr als 250 Jahren ein wesentliches Element der Geschichte der französischsprachigen Provinz Quebec.

Das Portrait des Rechtsanwalts Hugo Simons © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Portrait des Rechtsanwalts Hugo Simons

Das Museum der schönen Künste in Montreal (MBAM) beherbergt einen außergewöhnlichen Schatz in seiner Sammlung: ein Portrait, welches der Maler Otto Dix 1925 von seinem Rechtsanwalt und Freund Hugo Simons (1892-1958) in Deutschland geschaffen hat.

Die Boucherie Atlantique © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Boucherie Atlantique

Die österreichisch-deutsche Metzgerei „Boucherie Atlantique“, am Westhang des „Mont-Royal“ im geographischen Zentrum der Stadt gelegen, ist eine der unumgänglichen kulinarischen Anlaufstellen Montreals für alle Liebhaber deutscher Küche und Produkte seit seiner Übernahme 1962 durch die deutsch-österreichische Familie Wolfgang und Herta Lustig.

Top