On the traces of Germany in New Brunswick

Did you know...

... that the name of the Province of New Brunswick has a German origin?

After the Seven Years’ War in America between Great-Britain and France, approximately 2000 Germans, among other nationalities, settled in New Brunswick. The flag of the province refers to the city of Braunschweig in Germany. There was another wave of German immigration to Canada during World War II. A German-Jewish architect named Rolf Duschenes conceptualized an imposing office building in Fredericton. At the famous Boyce Market several German marketers can be found selling handcraft goods and specialties that are typically from their homeland and region. For the food-lovers, a visit to Fredericton’s "Schnitzel Parlour" is worth the while. Apart from different types of Schnitzel, they also offer a magnitude of delicacies such as Rouladen, Gulash, Spätzle, and more. 

Traces

Boyce Market © Goethe-Institut Montreal

German Vendors at Boyce Market

Boyce Market in George Street is one of Canada’s best farmers markets, with its fresh fruit and vegetables, organic meats, sausages and cheese, as well as high-quality seasonal products and local crafts.

The flag of New Brunswick © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The flag of New Brunswick

In front of City Hall in Fredericton the yellow and red flag of the province can be found waving in the wind. Those who look closely will see a golden lion mid-stride above an ancient galley on a yellow background in the red upper third of the flag. What is the significance of these symbols, which can also be found on the provincial coat of arms?

The Winegarden Estate

At the easternmost point of New Brunswick lies the sprawling “Winegarden Estate”, hidden in the picturesque, hilly landscape near Sackville and covering 200 acres. Located around 2 hours from Fredericton, the wine-growing estate makes for an attractive day trip.

New Brunswick Headquarters (J Division) © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Architekt Rolf Duschenes

Located at 1445 Regent Street, this imposing office building next to a large shopping centre is the New Brunswick headquarters of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Opened in 1990 and covering 14,000 square metres, the building was designed by Rolf Duschenes, an architect of German-Jewish descent.

The Schnitzel Restaurant in Fredericton © Goethe-Institut Montreal

A Very Special Schnitzel Restaurant

Very close to the shore of the majestic Saint John River on the northside of Fredericton is Union Street, one of the two main streets of the northside. Along Union Street you can find the attractive “Schnitzel Parlour”, the only restaurant in Fredericton serving German Food.
 

The Ingrid Mueller Art and Concepts Gallery © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Ingrid Mueller Art and Concepts Gallery

In their red and white bungalow at the end of Lynhaven Street in one of Fredericton’s prettiest neighbourhoods, gallery owners Ingrid and Peter Mueller display their artwork collection from New Brunswick’s and the Atlantic provinces’ best artists.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in New-Brunswick

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

... der Name der Provinz New Brunswick einen deutschen Ursprung hat?

Nach dem 7-jährigen Krieg in Nordamerika zwischen Großbritannien und Frankreich siedelten sich etwa 2.000 Deutsche unter anderem in New Brunswick an. Die Flagge der Provinz deutet auf eine historische Verbindung zu Braunschweig hin. Während des Zweiten Weltkrieges gab es eine weitere Einwanderungswelle nach Kanada. Der deutsch-jüdische Architekt Rolf Duschenes entwarf ein imposantes Bürogebäude in Fredericton. Dort befindet sich ebenfalls der berühmte „Boyce Market“, auf dem einige Markthändler deutsche Spezialitäten und Handwerksarbeiten anbieten. Für Liebhaber der deftigen Küche lohnt sich ein Essen in Frederictons „Schnitzel Parlour“. Neben Schnitzeln verschiedener Art gibt es hier auch Rouladen, Gulasch, Spätzle und vieles mehr.

Spuren

Boyce Market © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Deutsche Markthändler auf dem Boyce Market

Der Boyce Market in der George Street gehört zu den besten Bauernmärkten Kanadas mit frischem Obst und Gemüse, biologischem Fleisch, Wurst und Käse sowie hochwertigen saisonalen Erzeugnissen und lokalem Kunsthandwerk.

Die Flagge von New Brunswick © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die Flagge von New Brunswick

Vor dem Rathaus in Fredericton weht die gelb-rote Fahne der Provinz New Brunswick. Wer genau hinsieht, wird über der altertümlichen Galeere auf dem gelben Untergrund einen schreitenden goldenen Löwen auf dem oberen roten Drittel der Fahne erkennen. Was hat es mit diesen Symbolen, die sich auch auf dem Wappen der Provinz befinden, auf sich?

Winegarden Estate © Goethe-Institut

Das "Winegarden Estate"

Am östlichsten Zipfel von Neubraunschweig (New Brunswick), versteckt in der malerischen Hügellandschaft in der Nähe von Sackville, liegt das weitläufige circa 200-Acker-große „Winegarden Estate“. Das von Fredericton ungefähr 2 Stunden entfernte Weingut ist ein schönes Ausflugsziel.

New Brunswick Headquarters (J Division) © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Der Architekt Rolf Duschenes

Das imposante Bürogebäude in der Regentstreet 1445, gleich nach der Kreuzung neben dem großen Einkaufszentrum, ist der Hauptsitz der königlichen kanadischen berittenen Polizei, „Royal Canadian Mounted Police“ (RCMP) genannt, in der Provinz Neubraunschweig. Entworfen wurde das 1990 eröffnete 14,000 Quadratmeter große Gebäude von Rolf Duschenes, einem Architekten deutsch-jüdischer Herkunft.

Das Schnitzel-Restaurant in Fredericton © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Ein ganz besonderes Schnitzel-Restaurant

Auf der Nordseite Frederictons, ganz in Ufernähe des majestätischen St. John Flusses, befindet sich in der Unionstreet, einer der beiden Hauptstraßen der Nordseite, der hübsche „Schnitzel Parlour“, das einzige Restaurant in Fredericton mit deutscher Küche.
 

Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts in der Lynnhaven Street © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die Galerie „Ingrid Mueller Art & Concepts“

In ihrem weiß-roten Bungalow auf einer kleinen Erhebung am Ende der Lynnhaven Street, in einer der schönsten Wohngegenden Frederictons, zeigen die Galeristen Ingrid und Peter Mueller aus ihrer Sammlung Bilder der besten Künstler New Brunswicks und der Atlantikprovinzen.

Top