On the traces of Germany in Ottawa and surroundings

Did you know...

... that the oldest family business in Ottawa is a German chocolate factory?

Many German immigrants from Quebec and Nova Scotia moved to Ontario during the 19th century. The largest German migration wave occurred after the American independence wars, when German immigrants from the United States crossed over to Canada. Ottawa's cityscape is influenced by German architect Werner Ernst Noffke. The German Nobel Prize winner Gerhard Herzberg, who came to Ottawa in 1948, also left his mark. Even a piece of the Berlin Wall and German chocolate have managed to find their way into the Canadian capital.

Spuren

House of Werner Ernst Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawa’s Architect

On June 19th, 2012, a plaque was unveiled honouring the Clemow Estate East, which has been listed as a protected building since 2011. The plaque can be found by Patterson Creek in the park near Clemow Avenue, and it commemorates W. E. Noffke, who was commissioned to build 10 houses here in the 1920s.

Stubbe Chocolates in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Stubbe Chocolates

In 1989, master confectioner Heinrich Stubbe opened a small store in the heart of Ottawa, relocating the family business to Canada. Founded in 1845 by his great-grandfather Johannes Heinrich Petrus Stubbe in Meppen, Lower Saxony, Stubbe Chocolates is the oldest family business in the Ottawa area.

War Museum in Ottawa © War Museum

Ottawa and German Unity

A piece of the Berlin Wall decorated with graffiti was originally on display in the Government Conference Centre in Ottawa. This offering from the German government is meant as a token to commemorate the role this location played in German reunification.

Herzberg Road in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Traces of Gerhard Herzberg in Ottawa

Gerhard Herzberg was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1971 for his work on the electronic structure of molecules. In addition, he was the dean of Carleton University from 1973 to 1980, and the university’s physics building - Herzberg Laboratories - carries his name.

The Rose House Museum in Waupoos © Diane Denyes-Wenn, Rose House Museum

The Rose House Museum in Waupoos

Waupoos is located on the eastern end of the picturesque Prince Edward County peninsula in Lake Ontario. More than 200 years ago, the then-undeveloped region around Waupoos was settled by pioneers of German descent. Today, the delicious wines from Prince Edward County are an insider tip amongst wine lovers.

Beechwood Cemetery © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Beechwood Cemetery

The cemetery lying atop the hills is still and silent. It was founded in 1873 and has been the National Cemetery for the Canadian Forces since 1944. In 2000, it was designated as a National Historic Site of Canada.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in Ottawa und Umgebung

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

… der älteste Familienbetrieb in Ottawa eine deutsche „Chocolaterie“ ist?

Deutsche Einwanderer kamen seit dem 18. Jahrhundert nach Kanada. Die amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskriege lösten eine große deutsche Einwanderungswelle über die Vereinigten Staaten nach Ontario aus. Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts war mehr als die Hälfte der Bevölkerung in der Gegend von Waterloo deutscher Abstammung. Ottawas Stadtbild ist geprägt vom deutschen Architekten Werner Ernst Noffke. Auch der deutsche Nobelpreisträger Gerhard Herzberg, der 1948 nach Ottawa kam, hinterließ seine Spuren. Ein Stück der Berliner Mauer und deutsche Schokolade haben ihren Weg in die kanadische Hauptstadt gefunden.

Spuren

Ein Haus von Werner Ernst Noffke © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Werner Ernst Noffke: Ottawas Architekt

Am 19. Juni 2012 wurde eine Plakette enthüllt, um den „Clemow Estate East", der seit 2011 unter Denkmalschutz steht, feierlich zu würdigen. Die Plakette befindet sich am Patterson's Creek, im Park neben der Clemow Avenue und würdigt W.E. Noffke, der hier in den 1920er Jahren mit dem Bau von 10 Wohnhäusern beauftragt worden war.

Stubbe Chocolates in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Stubbe Schokoladen

Im Herzen Ottawas eröffnete der Konditormeister Heinrich Stubbe 1989 einen kleinen Laden und übersiedelte den Familienbetrieb, der 1845 von seinem Ururgroßvater Johannes Heinrich Petrus Stubbe in Meppen im Emsland gegründet wurde, nach Kanada. „Stubbe Chocolates“ ist der älteste Familienbetrieb in der Gegend von Ottawa.

War Museum in Ottawa © War Museum

Ottawa und die deutsche Einheit

Ein mit Graffiti geschmücktes Stück der Berliner Mauer, eine Dankesgabe der deutschen Regierung, war ursprünglich im „Conference Centre“ in Ottawa ausgestellt. Es sollte an die bedeutende Rolle dieses Ortes für die deutsche Einheit erinnern.

Die Herzberg Road in Ottawa © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Auf den Spuren Gerhard Herzbergs in Ottawa

1971 wurde Gerhard Herzberg für seine Arbeiten zur elektronischen Struktur von Molekülen der Nobelpreis für Chemie verliehen. Von 1973 bis 1980 war er der Dekan der Carleton University und das Physikgebäude („Herzberg Laboratories“) trägt seinen Namen.

Das Rose House Museum © Diane Denyes-Wenn, Rose House Museum

Das Rose House Museum in Waupoos

Waupoos liegt im Osten der malerischen Halbinsel Prince Edward County am Ontario See. Vor mehr als 200 Jahren war das damals noch unwirtschaftliche Gebiet um Waupoos von deutschstämmigen Pioneeren erschlossen worden. Heute sind vor allem die süffigen Weine aus Prince Edward County ein Geheimtipp unter Weinliebhabern. 

Der Beechwood Friedhof © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Der Beechwood-Friedhof

Der auf Hügeln liegende Friedhof ist ein stiller Ort. Er wurde 1873 angelegt und ist seit 1944 auch der Nationalfriedhof für die Streitkräfte Kanadas. Im Jahre 2000 wurde er zum Kulturerbe Kanadas erklärt.

Top