ON THE TRACES OF GERMANY IN Québec-City and SURROUNDINGS

Did you know...

...that the spectacular "Château Frontenac" in Québec-City has a connection to the German-speaking world?

During the American Revolution at the end of the 18th century, approximately 100 German mercenary soldiers and doctors were sent to Québec by the British. These Germans and their descendants left their mark in the city, which can be seen to this day, for example at the cemetery of Saint-Matthews Church. Taking some detours one can discover the links between Germany and the emblematic "Château Frontenac".

Traces

The © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The "Château Haldimand“

The Château Frontenac is without a doubt one of the architectural monuments most symbolic of Quebec City. The château, whose construction started in 1893, is actually part of the city’s later history. There was another château that stood on the same spot earlier: the Château Haldimand.

St. Matthew's Church in Quebec © Goethe-Institut Montreal

German Mercenaries in Quebec

At the end of the 18th century, the province of Quebec was a colony of Great Britain. Britain’s dominant position across the continent lasted until 1775, the beginning of the American War of Independence. When their military resources were exhausted, the British authorities had to hire German mercenaries to bolster their forces.

The Chevalier House © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Chevalier House

George Pozer was one of the most important businessmen in Quebec City at the end of the 18th and beginning of the 19th century. He is a prominent figure in the city’s history, not only because of his enormous fortune.

Hotel Frederick Glackmeyer © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Frederick Glackmeyer

During the American War of Independence (1775-1783), the Landgraviate of Hesse-Kassel, the Principality of Wolfenbüttel, the Electorate of Hanover, Saxony-Anhalt, and other regions in present-day German rented soldiers to the British on subsidiary contracts.

Cyclorama de Jérusalem © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Bruno Piglheins

The enormous painting “Cyclorama de Jérusalem” in Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré shows the crucifixion of Christ. The little town of Sainte-Anne is located around 30 km east of Quebec City on the north shore of the Saint Lawrence River, and is best known for its basilica.

Inside of the church in Saint-Romuald © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Church in Saint-Romuald

Saint-Romuald (population ca. 11,700) lies on the south bank of the Saint Lawrence River, opposite Quebec City and not far from the two bridges “Pont de Québec” and “Pont Pierre-Laporte”. Saint-Romuald has been one of Lévis’ 10 boroughs since 2002.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in Québec City und Umgebung

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

… das Architekturdenkmal „Château Frontenac“ in Québec in Zusammenhang mit der deutschsprachigen Welt steht?

Während der amerikanischen Revolution kamen zum Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts etwa 100 deutsche Söldner und Ärzte im Auftrag der Briten nach Québec. Sie und ihre Nachkommen hinterließen Spuren in der Stadt, die heute noch sichtbar sind, zum Beispiel auf dem Friedhof der Saint-Matthews Kirche. Hinter dem symbolträchtigen „Château Haldimand“, dem heutigen „Château Frontenac“, verbirgt sich über ein paar Umwege eine Verbindung nach Deutschland.

Spuren

Das „Château Haldimand“ (heute: „Château Frontenac“) © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das „Château Haldimand“

Das „Château Frontenac“ ist zweifellos eines der symbolträchtigsten Architekturdenkmäler der Stadt Quebec. Das Schloss, mit dessen Bau 1893 begonnen wurde, zählt eher zur jüngeren Geschichte der Stadt. Zuvor befand sich ein anderes Schloss an diesem Ort: das „Château Haldimand“. 

Die Saint-Matthews Kirche in Québec © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Deutsche Söldner in Québec

Am Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts war die Provinz Quebec eine Kolonie Großbritanniens. Diese Situation blieb bis 1775, dem Beginn des Amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskrieges, vorherrschend. Als die militärischen Ressourcen erschöpft waren, musste die britische Obrigkeit deutsche Söldner engagieren, um sich zu verteidigen.
 

Das Chevalier-Haus © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Das Chevalier-Haus

George Pozer ist einer der wichtigsten Geschäftsmänner der Stadt Quebec am Ende des 18. und zu Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts. In der Stadtgeschichte sticht er nicht nur durch sein enormes Vermögen hervor.

Hotel Frederick Glackmeyer © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Frederick Glackmeyer

Während des amerikanischen Unabhängigkeitskriegs (1775-1783) überließen die Landgrafschaft Hessen-Kassen, das Herzogtum Braunschweig-Wolfenbüttel, das  Kurfürstentum Hannover, Sachsen-Anhalt und andere Regionen auf heutigem deutschen Territorium den Briten im Rahmen der sogenannten Subsidienverträge mietweise Soldaten. 

Cyclorama de Jérusalem © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Bruno Piglheins

Das riesige Rundgemälde „Cyclorama de Jérusalem“ in Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré zeigt die Kreuzigung Christi.  Diese kleine Ortschaft ist ca. 30 km östlich von Quebec-Stadt am Nordufer des Sankt-Lorenz-Stroms gelegen und vor allem für die Basilika bekannt.

Die Kirche Saint Romuald von innen © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die Kirche Saint-Romuald

Saint-Romuald (ca. 11.700 Einwohner) liegt gegenüber der Stadt Quebec am Südufer des Sankt-Lorenz Stroms, unweit der beiden Brücken „Pont de Québec“ und „Pont Pierre-Laporte“. Seit 2002 ist Saint-Romuald einer der 10 Stadtbezirke von Lévis. 

Top