ON THE TRACES OF GERMANY IN Saskatchewan and SURROUNDINGS

Did you know...

... that a German family holds the place of the “first family of Saskatoon” ?

There are many German descendants in Saskatchewan since the 19th century. Today, they make up 30% of the population. A monument in Saskatoon, the largest city of the province commemorates its “first family”. There, traces of a German-Canadian Nobel-prize winner can also be located, as well as a German cultural center and a German weapon which was used both in World War I and World War II. In the North of Saskatchewan lies a remarkable art gallery, which displays the work of a German-Canadian painter.

Traces

Commemorative plaque at University of Saskatchewan © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg was a celebrated German-Canadian chemist and the founder of the field of molecular spectroscopy. Mostly famously, Herzberg won the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1971, “for his contributions to the knowledge of electronic structure and geometry of molecules, particularly free radicals".
 

Cathedral of the Holy Family © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Cathedral of the Holy Family

Established in 2011, the 28.5 million dollar project of the Cathedral of the Holy Family is unique for being both the first Roman Catholic cathedral to be built in Canada in over 50 years. It is also the first cathedral in North America to integrate solar cells into its windows. 

Egg Money Sculpture © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Egg Money Sculpture

Located at the Saskatoon Farmers Market at River Landing, along the South Saskatchewan River, the Egg Money sculpture pays tribute to pioneer women in the early history of Saskatchewan. 
 

Labatt’s Garden © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Labatt’s Garden

It all started when John Hoeschen and several other businessmen formed the German-American Land Company. They bought land 70 miles east of Saskatoon in 1902 to sell as homesteads.

Hugh Cairns Armoury © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Armories on Idylwyld

Located at the Hugh Cairns Armoury is a 15 cm “Kanone” 16 or 15 cm K 16 for short. The canon is missing its wheel carriage and is therefore mounted on a barrel transporter carriage. It was in service from 1917 to 1945 and could fire shells up to 22 kilometers in distance.

The German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal

German Cultural Centre in Saskatoon

The German Canadian Club Concordia was founded in 1957 by Eugen P. Boensch and a handful of immigrants who were willing to serve as directors of the Club. The members socialized at several venues all over Saskatoon until the present location was purchased. 

Kusch Family Monument © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Kusch Family Monument

Called the “first family of Saskatoon,” the Kusch family is considered to be the first couple with children to settle and make a life in the city. Karl (1840-1915) and Julia (1839-1923) Kusch emigrated from Neustadt, Germany.

Imhoff Gallery © Franziska Davies I German Council Saskatchewan

Berthold von Imhoff

Nestled in the prairie bluffs of the rolling plains near St. Walburg in northern Saskatchewan stands one of the most unique art galleries in North America. The gallery was built in 1920 by the German-Canadian liturgical artist Berthold von Imhoff (1868-1939). 

Top

Deutsche Spuren in Saskatchewan

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

… eine deutsche Familie als die „first family“ der Stadt Saskatoon betrachtet wird?

Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert gibt es viele Deutschstämmige in Saskatchewan. Heute beträgt ihr Bevölkerungsanteil etwa 30%. Ein Denkmal ehrt die „first family“ von Saskatoon, der größten Stadt der Provinz. Dort gibt es auch Spuren eines deutsch-kanadischen Nobelpreisträgers, ein deutsches Kulturzentrum und eine deutsche Waffe, die in beiden Weltkriegen eingesetzt wurde. Im Norden Saskatchewans befindet sich eine der außergewöhnlichsten Kunstgalerien Nordamerikas, die die Werke eines deutsch-kanadischen Malers ausstellt.

Spuren

Gedenktafel Herzbergs an der Universität Saskatchewan © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg

Dr. Gerhard Herzberg war ein gefeierter deutsch-kanadischer Chemiker und Begründer des Forschungsfeldes der Molekülspektroskopie. Am Berühmtesten ist Herzberg aufgrund des Nobelpreises für Chemie, der ihm „für seinen Beitrag zum Wissen über elektronische Struktur und Geometrie“ 1971 verliehen wurde.

 

Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie

Das 28,5-Millionen-Dollar-Projekt der 2011 errichteten Kathedrale der Heiligen Familie ist einzigartig, denn es ist der erste Bau einer römisch-katholischen Kathedrale in Kanada seit über 50 Jahren. Außerdem ist es die erste Kathedrale Nordamerikas mit in die Fenster integrierten Solarzellen.

Die „Egg Money Sculpture“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Die „Egg Money Sculpture“

Am Bauernmarkt im Stadtteil River Landing in Saskatoon, südlich des Saskatchewan Flusses gelegen, erinnert die „Egg Money Sculpture“ an die Pionierinnen der frühen Geschichte Sasketchewans.
 

Der „Labatt’s Garden“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Der „Labatt’s Garden“

Alles begann mit der Gründung der „German-American Land Company“ durch John Hoeschen und einige andere Geschäftsleute. Diese kauften 1902 Ländereien 70 Meilen östlich von Saskatoon, um diese zur Besiedelung zu verkaufen.

Das Hugh Carins Waffenarsenal © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Waffenarsenal von Idylwyld

Im Hugh Carins Waffenarsenal befindet sich eine 15-cm-Kanone 16 (kurz K 16). Die Kanone hat keine Rollen mehr und ist nun an einem Transportwagen befestigt. Sie war von 1917 bis 1945 im Einsatz und konnte Schüsse in einer Entfernung von bis zu 22 Kilometern abfeuern.

Das deutsche Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Deutsches Kulturzentrum in Saskatoon

Der „German Canadian Club Concordia“ wurde 1957 von Eugen P. Boensch und einer kleinen Gruppe von Einwanderern, die die Leitung des Clubs übernahmen, gegründet. Die Mitglieder verkehrten an verschiedenen Orten, bevor der heutige Sitz des Clubs gekauft worden ist.

Das Denkmal der Familie Kusch © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Denkmal der Kusch Familie

Auch die „first family“ Saskatoons genannt, wird die Kusch Familie als das erste Einwanderpaar mit Kindern, das sich in der Stadt niedergelassen hat, betrachtet. Karl (1840-1915) und Julia (1839-1923) Kusch immigrierten von Neustadt in Deutschland.

Die Imhoff Galerie © Franziska Davies I German Council Saskatchewan

Berthold von Imhoff

Eingebettet in die Steilhänge der Prärie der hügeligen Ebenen nahe St. Waldburg im Norden Saskatchewans befindet sich eine der außergewöhnlichsten Kunstgalerien Nordamerikas. Sie wurde 1920 von dem deutsch-kanadischen liturgischen Künstler Berthold von Imhoff (1868 – 1939) gebaut.

Top