ON THE TRACES OF GERMANY IN Vancouver and SURROUNDINGS

Did you know...

... that many German tradesmen came to Vancouver during the 19th century?

The first settlers of western Canada arrived in British Columbia in the search for gold. Discovering the uncertainties of this vocation, many of them turned over to trade and business. A German called Gustav-Konstantin from Alvensleben tried his luck in Vancouver and became extremely successful. David Oppenheimer even made it into the municipal council of Vancouver, together with his brother. And so, these personalities left their traces in the cityscape throughout Canada. Even a credit union derives from a German concept.

Traces

The Holocaust Education Centre in Vancouver © Goethe-Institut Montreal

The Holocaust Education Centre

This centre for further education on Holocaust studies was founded by survivors in Vancouver as a permanent institution in 1994. 

The estate of Gustav Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Gustav Roedde

Over 120 years ago, Gustav Roedde had this house in Barclay Street built for his family in Vancouver’s modern-day West End. This magnificent building from Victorian times can be found right next to the beautiful Barclay Heritage Square Park.

Plaque of Edelweiss Credit Union, German Canadian Heritage Plaza © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Edelweiss Credit Union

In 1943, the Edelweiss Credit Union of Vancouver was founded on the guiding principle of self-help by Michael Bach. Historically, the idea of credit unions can be traced back to the co-operative rural Raiffeisenbanken and urban Volksbanken, which originated in the mid-19th century in Germany and quickly spread to other European countries.

Statue of Oppenheimer © Goethe-Institut Montreal

David Oppenheimer

The Warehouse Studio in Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside doesn’t look all that spectacular at first glance. It had been built for the German Oppenheimer brothers for their grocery wholesale business in the 19th century.

© Goethe-Institut Montreal

Baron Mackensen

In Port Kells (British Columbia/BC), there is a house on the corner of 96 Ave. and 192 St. that is truly steeped in history. The today's pub was originally the estate of a German baron.

House of the von Alvensleben family in Kerrisdale, now „Croften House“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Alvo von Alvensleben

In the first decade of the previous century, Germans had a determining influence on life in British Columbia. Immigrants streamed to Vancouver to try their luck. Among them, Gustav Konstantin von Alvensleben (Alvo von Alvensleben for short) made his way to Canada.

Top

Deutsche Spuren in Vancouver und Umgebung

Wussten Sie schon, dass...

… es viele deutsche Geschäftsmänner im 19. Jahrhundert nach Vancouver zog? 

Die ersten Siedler Westkanadas kamen als Goldsucher nach British Columbia. Später tauschten viele von ihnen die Unsicherheit des Goldgewerbes gegen den Beruf des Einzelhändlers. Der Deutsche Gustav-Konstantin von Alvensleben versuchte sein Glück in Vancouver und war damit äußerst erfolgreich. David Oppenheimer schaffte es mit seinem Bruder sogar in den Stadtrat von Vancouver. Diese Persönlichkeiten hinterließen ihre Spuren im Stadtbild. Auch eine Kreditgenossenschaft geht auf ein deutsches Konzept zurück.

Spuren

Das „Holocaust Education Centre“ in Vancouver © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Holocaust Education Centre

Dieses Weiterbildungszentrum für Holocaust Studien wurde 1994 von Überlebenden als eine permanente Einrichtung in Vancouver gegründet. 

Das Anwesen von Gustav Roedde © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Gustav Roedde

Mehr als 120 Jahre ist es her, dass Gustav Roedde sich das Anwesen an der Barclay Street in Vancouver für seine Familie bauen ließ. Neben dem schönen Barclay Heritage Square Park gelegen, findet man diesen Prachtbau aus der Viktorianischen Zeit.

Plakette, Edelweiss Credit Union im German Canadian Heritage Plaza © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Edelweiss Credit Union

Basierend auf diesem Grundprinzip der Selbsthilfe, wurde 1943 die „Edelweiss Credit Union of Vancouver“ von Michael Bach gegründet. Historisch betrachtet, geht die Idee der Kreditgenossenschaften auf die Raiffeisenbanken und Volksbanken zurück, die ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in Deutschland entstanden sind.

Denkmal von David Oppenheim © Goethe-Institut Montreal

David Oppenheimer

Das „Warehouse Studio“ in Vancouvers „Downtown Eastside“ sieht auf den ersten Blick wenig spektakulär aus.  Im 19.Jahrhundert ließen die deutsch-stämmigen Brüder Oppenheimer den Bau fertig stellen, um ihn für ihren Lebensmittelgroßhandel zu nutzen.

„Baron’s Manor Pub” © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Baron Mackensen

In Port Kells (Surrey, Britisch Kolumbien/BC) steht an der Ecke der 96 Avenue und 192. Straße ein wahrhaft geschichtsträchtiges Haus. Der heutige Pub war einst das Anwesen eines deutschen Barons.

Haus der Familie von Alvensleben im Viertel Kerrisdale, jetzt „Croften House“ © Goethe-Institut Montreal

Alvo von Alvensleben

Das Leben in Britisch-Kolumbien (BC) wurde in der ersten Dekade des letzten Jahrhunderts maßgeblich von Deutschen mitbestimmt. Immigranten strömten nach Vancouver, um dort ihr Glück zu versuchen. Unter ihnen befand sich auch Gustav Konstantin von Alvensleben, kurz Alvo von Alvensleben.

Top