DVD Screening & Discussion
"Crossing the Bridge - The Sound of Istanbul"

Deutscher Filmklub

Goethe-Institut Toronto

© Goethe-Institut 2009, Bereich Film
At the last Deutscher Filmklub of 2017 we will be watching “Crossing the Bridge – the Sound of Istanbul”, a music film and documentary by Fatih Akin. The protagonist is the Berlin musician, Alexander Hacke, whom Fatih Akin accompanies on his voyage of musical and cultural discovery through Istanbul. From a street musician to a megastar, Hacke collects the multicultural sounds of Istanbul.
Fatih Akin (1973) is a German film director, screenwriter and producer of Turkish origin. He became internationally famous in 2004, when awarded with the Golden Bear, the German Film Award and the European Film Award.

The film will be shown in German with English subtitles. Afterwards there will be a moderated discussion.

--

This year Canada is commemorating its 150th anniversary. To celebrate, the Goethe-Institut will run a special program, “Germany @ Canada 2017 – Partners From Immigration to Innovation,” showcasing the close relationship between Germany and Canada.
 
Join us for an exciting edition of the Deutscher Filmklub all year long, where we will show our top 10 German film favourites from 1930-2015. From classics to contemporary movies, come for the screening and enjoy the discussion in German and English afterwards!
 
All films are in German with English subtitles. Free but space is limited, RSVP to library@toronto.goethe.org.

In association with Germany @ Canada 2017
Partners from Immigration to Innovation

Germany @ Canada 2017 ©   Germany @ Canada 2017 Logo

 

Details

+1 416 593 5257 - 208
library@toronto.goethe.org

Language: German and English
Price: free admission

DVD & Diskussion
"Crossing the Bridge - The Sound of Istanbul"

Deutscher Filmklub

Goethe-Institut Toronto

© Goethe-Institut 2009, Bereich Film
Beim letzten Deutschen Filmklub des Jahres 2017 werden wir uns „Crossing the Bridge – the Sound of Istanbul ansehen, einen Musikfilm und Dokumentation von Fatih Akin. Der Protagonist ist der berliner Musiker Alexander Hacke, den Fatih Akin auf eine musikalisch-kulturelle Entdeckungsreise durch Istanbul begleitet. Vom Straßenmusiker bis zum Megastar sammelt Hacke die multikulturellen Klänge Istanbuls.
Fatih Akin (1973)ist ein Deutscher Filmregisseur, Drehbuchautor und Produzent türkischer Abstammung. Er wurde 2004 international bekannt, als er mit dem Goldenen Bären, dem Deutschen Filmpreis und dem Europäischen Filmpreis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Der Film wird auf Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt. Im Anschluss findet eine moderierte Diskussion statt.
--
Dieses Jahr begeht Kanada seinen 150. Jahrestag. Zur Feier dessen organisiert das Goethe-Institut das Sonderprogramm „Germany @ Canada 2017 – Partners From Immigration to Innovation“, das die enge Beziehung zwischen Deutschland und Kanada thematisiert.
 
Du bist herzlich eingeladen, am vielversprechenden Programm des Deutschen Filmklubs das ganze Jahr hindurch teilzunehmen. Wir werden unsere 10 deutschen Lieblingsfilme von 1930 bis 2015 zeigen. Von Klassikern bis zu zeitgenössischen Filmen wird alles dabei sein. Wir freuen uns auf Dich bei der Filmvorführung und der anschließenden Diskussion auf Deutsch und Englisch!
 
Alle Filme werden auf Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln gezeigt. Der Eintritt ist frei, allerdings ist der Platz begrenzt, deswegen melde Dich bitte unter library@toronto.goethe.org an.

In Assoziation mit Germany @ Canada 2017
Partners from Immigration to Innovation


Germany @ Canada 2017 ©   Germany @ Canada 2017 Logo

Details

Goethe-Institut Toronto

100 University Ave, North Tower, 2. Stock
Toronto

Sprache: Deutsch und englisch
Preis: Kostenlos
+1 416 593 5257 - 208
library@toronto.goethe.org