Film Screening
"Hannah Arendt" by Margarethe von Trotta

Hannah Arendt (2012)
© DIF

Margarethe & Barbara

TIFF Bell Lightbox

... & Hannah & Rosa & Marianne & Juliane. New German Cinema director Margarethe von Trotta has been working with actress Barbara Sukowa for over three decades, portraying women who think, question and rebel. GOETHE FILMS presents MARIANNE & JULIANE (1981), ROSA LUXEMBURG (1986) and HANNAH ARENDT (2012) as a conversation about female resilience.

HANNAH ARENDT (Germany/Luxembourg/France 2012, 113 min, on 35mm!), directed by Margarethe von Trotta, with Barbara Sukowa, Axel Milberg, Julia Jentsch & Ulrich Noethen 

Introduced by NOW Magazine Senior Entertainment Editor Susan G. Cole

TIFF 2012
New York Jewish Film Festival 2012
2 German Film Awards 2013
​Audience Award for Best Narrative Film, Women + Film Voices Film Festival, Denver 2013


In April 1961, German-Jewish political theorist Hannah Arendt left her New York exile for Jerusalem to report on the trial of Holocaust organizer Adolf Eichmann for The New Yorker. Her writing became enormously controversial for its depiction of both Eichmann and the Jewish leadership, and for its introduction of the concept of the “banality of evil”. Making use of original film footage from the trial, as well as real testimony from survivors and prosecutor Gideon Hausner, this biographical drama captures Arendt at one of the most pivotal moments of her life and career.



"Hannah Arendt conveys the glamour, charisma and difficulty of a certain kind of German thought. Ms. Sukowa, compact and energetic and not overly concerned with impersonation, captures Arendt’s fearsome cerebral power, as well as her warmth and, above all, the essential, unappeasable curiosity that drove her.... Its climax, in which Arendt defends herself against critics, matches some of the great courtroom scenes in cinema." - The New York Times

Margarethe von Trotta (born 1942 in Berlin) ranks among the most important female directors in German cinema and has been called "the world’s leading feminist filmmaker." She also made a name for herself as an actress, starring in films by well known German directors such as Fassbinder and Schlöndorff. Her films are concerned with relationships between and among women (sisters, best friends), as well as with relationships between women and men, often in political settings. Her best-known films include: "The Lost Honor of Katharina Blum" (1975, co-directed with Volker Schlöndorff), "The Second Awakening of Christa Klages" (1977), "Marianne and Juliane" ("Die Bleierne Zeit", 1981), "Rosa Luxemburg" (1985), and "Hannah Arendt" (2012). She is currently in production of the comedy "The Odd Couple" (2017, with Katja Riemann and Ingrid Bolsø Berdal) about two women living together who have nothing in common except the same ex-husband. She is also working on a documentary about Ingmar Bergman, taking a closer look at his life and exploring his film legacy with Bergman's closest collaborators.

Barbara Sukowa (born 1950 in Bremen) studied acting at Berlin's Max-Reinhardt-Seminar. Sukowa made her breakthrough in front of the camera in the role of Mieze in Fassbinder's TV adaptation of "Berlin Alexanderplatz". She then played the title role of the small town prostitute "Lola" in Fassbinder's trilogy about the early years of the Federal Republic of Germany. Sukowa starred working with Margarethe von Trotta on "Marianne and Julianne", for which she received the German Film Award in 1982. She won the Golden Palm at Cannes 1986 for her performance in von Trotta's "Rosa Luxemburg". In the following years, she starred in Schlöndorff's adaptation of Max Frisch's novel "Homo Faber" and in Lars von Trier's "Europa". After several US productions Sukowa returned to Germany for a couple of movies. In 2015, she reunited with von Trotta for the family drama "The Misplaced World", and joined the cast of the US Sci-Fi series "Twelve Monkeys". She next starred opposite Josef Hader in "Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe", directed by Maria Schrader. Her portrayal of Zweig's first wife garnered Sukowa a German Film award nomination for Best Supporting Female Actor.


All GOETHE FILMS are open to audience 18+

Part of the Goethe-Institut’s focus on German Film

Series co-presented by the MUFF Society


10/03 | 6:30pm | "Marianne and Juliane" by Margarethe von Trotta
10/05 | 6:30pm | "Rosa Luxemburg" by Margarethe von Trotta

 

Details

+1 888 5998433
jutta.brendemuehl@ toronto.goethe.org

Language: with English subtitles
Price: Tickets $10 at TIFF Bell Lightbox in person or by phone (day-of sales only) or online (as of 1 week prior to screening)

Film
"Hannah Arendt" von Margarethe von Trotta

Hannah Arendt (2012)
© DIF

Margarethe & Barbara

TIFF Bell Lightbox

... & Hannah & Rosa & Marianne & Juliane. Regisseurin Margarethe von Trotta arbeitet seit über drei Jahrzehnten mit Schauspielerin Barbara Sukowa und zeigt Frauen die denken, fragen und rebellieren. GOETHE FILMS präsentiert DIE BLEIERNE ZEIT (1981), ROSA LUXEMBURG (1986) und HANNAH ARENDT (2012) als eine Diskussion über weibliche Widerstandskraft.

HANNAH ARENDT 
(Deutschland/Luxemburg/Frankreich 2012, 113 Min., auf 35mm!) Regie: Margarethe von Trotta, mit Barbara Sukowa, Axel Milberg, Julia Jentsch und Ulrich Noethen 

Einführung von NOW Magazine Senior Entertainment Editor Susan G. Cole

TIFF 2012
New York Jewish Film Festival 2012

Deutscher Filmpreis 2013 - Bester Spielfilm
Deutscher Filmpreis 2013 - Beste weibliche Hauptrolle
Publikumspreis Best Narrative Film, Women + Film Voices Film Festival, Denver 2013


Im April 1961 wird die politische Theoretikerin und Reporterin Hannah Arendt von dem Magazin "The New Yorker" beauftragt, den Aufsehen erregenden Prozess gegen den NS-Verbrecher Adolf Eichmann in Jerusalem zu verfolgen. Arendt versucht, Charakter und Motivation des berüchtigten Nazis zu verstehen. Ihre Beobachtungen und Gedanken verarbeitet sie in mehreren Artikeln, die kurz darauf auch als Grundlage für ihr wohl berühmtestes und zugleich umstrittenstes Buch dienen: "Eichmann in Jerusalem. Ein Bericht von der Banalität des Bösen" stößt teils auf harsche Kritik und Unverständnis, da sie Eichmann nicht als "Monstrum" beschreibt, sondern vielmehr als einen "banalen" Bürokraten, der seine grausamen Befehle so sorgfältig wie möglich ausführen wollte. Trotz aller gesellschaftlichen Ausgrenzungen und beruflichen Anfeindungen weicht Arendt nicht von ihrer Sichtweise ab.



„Von Trottas Drama ist großes Kino: echt, bewegend und voller Bewunderung für eine Frau, die ihren Weg ging und fest an die eigenen Werte glaubte.“ - dpa


Margarethe von Trotta (1942 in Berlin geboren) gilt als eine der wichtigsten Regisseurinnen des deutschen Kinos und wurde als "weltweit führende feministische Filmemacherin" bezeichnet. Sie hat sich auch als Schauspielerin einen Namen gemacht und in Filmen bedeutender deutscher Regisseure wie Fassbinder und Schlöndorff mitgewirkt. Ihre Filme beschäftigen sich mit Beziehungen zwischen Frauen (Schwestern, beste Freundinnen) sowie mit den Beziehungen zwischen Frauen und Männern, oft in politischen Situationen. Zu ihren bekanntesten Filmen gehören: "Die verlorene Ehre der Katharina Blum" (1975, Co-Regie mit Volker Schlöndorff), "Das zweite Erwachen der Christa Klages" (1977), "Die Bleierne Zeit" (1981), "Rosa Luxemburg" (1985) und "Hannah Arendt" (2012). Zurzeit produziert sie die Komödie "The Odd Couple" (2017, mit Katja Riemann und Ingrid Bolsø Berdal) über zwei Frauen, die zusammen leben müssen und nichts gemeinsam haben, außer demselben Ex-Mann. Zudem arbeitet sie an einem Dokumentarfilm über Ingmar Bergman und ergründet darin mit seinen engsten Mitarbeitern dessen Leben und Film-Erbe.
 
Barbara Sukowa (1950 in Bremen geboren) hat Schauspiel am Max-Reinhardt-Seminar in Berlin studiert. Mit der Rolle der Mieze in Fassbinders TV-Verfilmung "Berlin Alexanderplatz" gelang Sukowa der Durchbruch vor der Kamera. In Fassbinders Trilogie über die frühen Jahre der Bundesrepublik spielte sie die Titelrolle der Kleinstadt-Prostituierten "Lola". Danach war sie in Margarethe von Trottas "Die bleierne Zeit" zu sehen und erhielt 1986 für die Hauptrolle in von Trottas "Rosa Luxemburg" die Goldene Palme in Cannes. In den folgenden Jahren setzte Sukowa ihre Arbeit mit bedeutenden Regisseuren fort, u.a. spielt sie in Volker Schlöndorffs Max-Frisch-Adaption "Homo Faber" und in Lars von Triers "Europa". Nach mehreren amerikanischen Produktionen stand sie auch in Deutschland wieder vor der Kamera. 2015 war Sukowa sowohl in von Trottas "Die abhandene Welt" als auch in der US-amerikanischen Science-Fiction-Serie "Twelve Monkeys" zu sehen. Für Maria Schraders Drama "Vor der Morgenröte" über die Exiljahre von Stefan Zweig spielte Sukowa an der Seite von Josef Hader die erste Ehefrau des Schriftstellers. Für diese Rolle wurde sie ein weiteres Mal für den Deutschen Filmpreis nominiert.

Alle GOETHE FILMS sind ab 18 Jahren

Teil des Goethe-Institut Schwerpunkts Deutscher Film

Die Reihe wird zusammen mit der MUFF Society präsentiert

03.10. | 18:30 Uhr | ​"Die bleierne Zeit" von Margarethe von Trotta
05.10. | 18:30 Uhr | "Rosa Luxemburg" von Margarethe von Trotta

 

Details

+1 888 5998433
jutta.brendemuehl@ toronto.goethe.org

Sprache: mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: $10, Verkauf persönlich oder per Telefon am Tag der Vorführung bei der TIFF Bell Lightbox oder online (1 Woche vor der Vorführung)