Ball BAll of the Imaginary - A Worn World - Le monde que l'on porte

A Worn World | Ballroom © Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Sat, 08/13/2022

18:00 EDT

Goethe-Institut

A Worn World | Ballroom

A Participative Project by deufert&plischke

To close the project A Worn World - Le monde que l'on porte, we invite you to the BALL OF THE IMAGINARY!

Dance party, celebration of the end of the experience, exhibition of the meetings and projects realized. Bring your friends, we are expecting you!

About A Worn World - Le monde que l'on porte
Initiated by the German duo deufert&plischke, A Worn World-Le monde que l'on porte addresses the themes of modesty, desire, pleasure and fear expressed through clothing. In close contact with the skin, the sensitive organ they "touch", they are the direct expression of a personal affirmation: they convey our stories, our memories, evoke our cultures and specific places, reflect sociological and economic biases, exalt our feelings of belonging and our resistance. Clothing has the power to address important themes such as self-image, gender identity, coming of age, family.

For two weeks, the Goethe-Institut Montréal will be transformed into a creative space where you can sew, draw, design, tell stories, reject them and sew them back together: you will be able to participate in various workshops supervised by the artists and/or take advantage of the supervised lab. 

Artistic assistance: Olivia Sofia


About deufert&plischke
Deufert & Plischke © Annika Schneider The work of deufert&plischke goes beyond dance and theatre. It deals with individual participation and social everyday life within the artistic activity.

The works of deufert&plischke are open social spaces in which the public and things meet to live and exchange physical and sensory experiences. These spaces invite people of all generations to develop artistic and social situations. The work of deufert&plischke is interdisciplinary and connects people in different parts of the world.

deufert&plischke live and work in Schwelm near Wuppertal (NRW). Their projects have taken place in Berlin, Potsdam, Schwelm, Wuppertal, Essen, Munich, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Hanover, Leipzig, Vienna, Bucharest, Prague, Istanbul, Copenhagen, Tel Aviv, Sofia, Helsinki, Kuopio, Bergen, Stamsund, Warsaw, Poznan, Paris, Brussels, Antwerp, Ghent, Utrecht, New York, Los Angeles, Montreal, Rio de Janeiro, Bogotá, Singapore ...

About Olivia Sofia Olivia Sofia Olivia Sofia | © Léo Loisel
Olivia Sofia is a multidisciplinary artist whose practice seeks to create spaces where traditions, rituals, stories, the sacred and ordinary lives meet. The use of social networks as an incubator for reflection, installation and photography are pretexts to confirm a link between her and the world, her and people, her and herself.

Bathio-Alexandre Diarra Bathio-Alexandre Diarra | © Bathio-Alexandre Diarra About Bathio-Alexandre Diarra
Montreal-based DJ and producer, Bathio operates at the intersection of Afrodescendant rhythms and electronic sounds.


 

Back

Ballroom Ballroom - A Worn World - Le monde que l'on porte

A Worn World | Ballroom © Goethe-Institut Los Angeles

Sa, 13.08.2022

18:00 EDT

Goethe-Institut MTL

A Worn World | Ballroom

Ein partizipatives Projekt von deufert&plischke

Zum Abschluss des Projektes A Worn World – Le monde que l’on porte, laden wir Sie zum Ballroom ein! Bringen Sie gerne Ihre Freundinnen und Freunde mit, wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Über A Worn World – Le monde que l’on porte
A Worn World - Le monde que l'on porte wurde von dem deutschen Duo deufert&plischke geschaffen und beschäftigt sich mit den Themen Scham, Begehren, Freude und Angst, die durch Kleidungsstücke ausgedrückt werden. In engem Kontakt mit der Haut, einem sensiblen Organ, welches sie „berühren“, sind sie der direkte Ausdruck von Selbsteinschätzung: sie transportieren Geschichten, Erinnerungen, erinnern an unsere Kulturen und bestimmte Orte, spiegeln soziologische und wirtschaftliche Vorurteile wider, verstärken unsere Zugehörigkeitsgefühle und unseren Widerstand.  Kleidungsstücke haben die Kraft, wichtige Themen wie Selbstbild, Geschlechtsidentität, Erwachsenwerden und Familie zu behandeln.

Über zwei Wochen hinweg wird sich das Goethe-Institut Montreal in einen kreativen Raum verwandeln, an dem man Nähen, Zeichnen, Entwerfen und Geschichten erzählen kann. Man kann sie verwerfen und wieder zusammennähen: Sie können an unterschiedlichen, von den Künstler*innen begleiteten Ateliers teilnehmen und/oder das betreute Labor nutzen. 

Künstlerische Assistenz: Olivia Sofia


Über deufert&plischke
Deufert & Plischke © Annika Schneider Die Arbeiten von deufert&plischke reichen über den Rahmen von Tanz und Theater hinaus und beschäftigen sich mit individueller Teilhabe und dem sozialen Alltag im künstlerischen Geschehen.

Die Kunstwerke von deufert&plischke sind offene soziale Räume in denen Menschen und Dinge zusammen treffen, um gemeinschaftlich körperlich-sinnliche Erfahrungen zu machen und auszutauschen. Diese Räume laden generationsübergreifend Menschen ein, künstlerische und gesellschaftliche Situationen zu entwickeln. Die Arbeit von deufert&plischke ist interdisziplinär und verbindet Menschen an unterschiedlichen Orten der Welt.

deufert&plischke leben und arbeiten in Schwelm bei Wuppertal (NRW). Ihre Projekte finden/fanden statt in Berlin, Potsdam, Schwelm, Wuppertal, Essen, München, Hamburg, Stuttgart, Hannover, Leipzig, Wien, Bukarest, Prag, Istanbul, Kopenhagen, Tel Aviv, Sofia, Helsinki, Kuopio, Bergen, Stamsund, Warschau, Poznan, Paris, Brüssel, Antwerpen, Gent, Utrecht, New York, Los Angeles, Montreal, Rio de Janeiro, Bogotá, Singapore ...

Über Olivia Sofia
Olivia Sofia Olivia Sofia | © Léo Loisel Olivia Sofia ist eine multidisziplinäre Künstlerin, die in ihrer Praxis versucht, Räume zu schaffen, in denen Traditionen, Rituale, Geschichten, das Heilige und das gewöhnliche Leben aufeinandertreffen. Die Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke als Inkubator für Reflexionen, Installationen und Fotografie sind Vorwände, um eine Verbindung zwischen ihr und der Welt, ihr und den Menschen, ihr und ihr zu bestätigen.

Bathio-Alexandre Diarra Bathio-Alexandre Diarra | © Bathio-Alexandre Diarra Über Bathio-Alexandre Diarra
Bathio ist ein DJ und Produzent aus Montreal, der an der Schnittstelle zwischen den Rhythmen der afrodeszendenten Bevölkerung und elektronischen Klängen operiert.



 

Zurück