Performance Art EMERGE

Emerge (PPKK (Sarah Ancelle Schoenfeld + Louis-Philippe Scoufaras) © Art Geneve

Tue, 11/19/2019 -
Sat, 11/23/2019

Musée d'art contemporain

185 Saint-Catherine St. W
H2X 3X5 Montreal

EMERGE is an event dedicated to contemporary performance, featuring a dozen European and Canadian artists and participants invited to present recent works that, in some way, address the multidisciplinary direction taken by some of today’s mots engaging practices.

In a recent interview, Spanish artist Esther Ferrer, a pioneer in performance art, stated : ̎Since I was continually being asked what performance was, in my view, and I was tired of looking for something intelligent to say, one day I answered : it’s the art of time, space and presence. A definition that doesn’t mean much and yet contains some truth.̎  (Mehdi and Sandrine Meats, Interviewer la Performance. Regards sur la scène française depuis 1960, Manuella Éditions, Paris, 2014, p. 184)

How much truth can be found in the definition of a practice that eludes us ? While performance produces a poetry of transgressive forms in which the body is the raw material of the work and the artist’s instrument, it is also part of a history where the performing arts, writng and image-based practices intersect.

This kind of paradigm raises a host of questions about the forms that belong to the wide-ranging field of performance. Embarking on such a reflection within the context of an artistic gathering does not so much underscore the diversity of approaches as it highlights the obvious, underlying existence of a cross-disciplinary reality : performance art has been conducted in recent years by a new generation of artists working on stage and within the framework of live art as well as in exhibitions and the visual arts world.

EMERGE does not attempt to cover the entire question of performance. Here, performance is experienced as an enchantment of encounters, a small space for experiences and a hub for creative emulation that offers an opportunity to celebrate new and original works.

Punctuating the performance program, a series of discussions and talks will address the issues present in the works. Local and international art critics, curators and theorists will share their thoughts on the current state of performance.

EMERGE is a co-production of the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, Goethe-Institut Montreal and the Consulat Général de France à Québec as members of the Montréal cluster of cultural institutes of member countries in the European National Institutes for Culture (EUNIC), along with the Istituto Italiano di Cultura Montreal and the Embassy of Spain in Ottawa. The project received generous support from the Franco-German Fund, the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, the Consulate General of Switzerland and the Royal Norwegian Embassy.

Curators: Mehdi Brit and Mark Lanctôt
Coordinators: Anne-Léonie Auer and Marjolaine Labelle

Program

Tuesday, November 19
6:00 p.m.  Marthe Ramm Fortun (Norway)
7:00 p.m. Didier Morelli (Québec, Canada)
7:30 p.m. Discussion (Christian Jankowski and David Zerbib)

Wednesday, November 20
6:00 p.m.  Marie-Caroline Hominal (Switzerland)
7:00 p.m.  Bridget Moser (Ontario, Canada)
7:30 p.m. Discussion (Alice Ming Wai Jim and Ronald Rose-Antoinette)

Thursday, November 21
7:00 p.m. Daina Ashbee (Québec, Canada)
7:30 p.m. Discussion (Anne Bénichou)

Freiday, November 22
6:00 p.m. Uriel Barthélémi  and Entissar Al Hamdany (France)
7:00 p.m.  Dana Michel (Québec, Kanada)
7:30 p.m. Discussion (Julie Perrin and Alexandre St-Onge)

Saturday, November 23
10:00 a.m.  Final think tank 1 (Discussion) – Goethe-Institut
2:00 a.m.  Maria Salgado (Spain)
2:45 p.m. Sarah Ancelle Schoenfeld and Louis-Philippe Scoufaras (Germany)
3:30 p.m. Marinella Senatore (Italy)
4:30 p.m. Final think tank 2 (Discussion) – Musée d'art contemporain


 

Back

Performancekunst EMERGE

Emerge (PPKK (Sarah Ancelle Schoenfeld + Louis-Philippe Scoufaras) © Art Geneve

Di, 19.11.2019 -
Sa, 23.11.2019

Musée d'art contemporain

185 Saint-Catherine St. W
H2X 3X5 Montreal

EMERGE ist eine der zeitgenössischen Performance gewidmete Veranstaltung, zu der ein Dutzend europäischer und kanadischer Künstler*innen und Teilnehmer*innen eingeladen wurden, aktuelle Arbeiten zu präsentieren, die sich in gewisser Weise mit der multidisziplinären Ausrichtung einiger der interessantesten Praktiken von heute beschäftigen.

In einem kürzlich veröffentlichten Interview sagte die spanische Künstlerin Esther Ferrer, eine Pionierin der Performancekunst, zu mir: „Da ich ständig gefragt wurde, was Performance aus meiner Sicht ist und ich es leid war nach etwas Intelligentem zu suchen, antwortete ich eines Tages: Es ist die Kunst von Zeit, Raum und Präsenz. Eine Definition, die nicht viel aussagt und dennoch einen Teil der Wahrheit enthält.“ (Mehdi Brit und Sandrine Meats, Interviewer la Performance. Regards sur la scène française depuis 1960, Manuella Éditions, Paris, 2014, S. 184.)

Wie viel Wahrheit kann man in der Definition einer Praxis finden, die sich uns entzieht? Während die Performance eine Poesie transgressiver Formen hervorbringt, in der der Körper das Ausgangsmaterial für die Arbeit und das Instrument des Künstlers/der Künstlerin ist, ist sie auch Teil einer Geschichte, in der sich die darstellenden Künste, das Schreiben und die bildbasierten Praktiken überschneiden.

Diese Art von Paradigma wirft eine Vielzahl von Fragen nach den Formen auf, die zum weitreichenden Feld der Performance gehören. Der Beginn einer solchen Reflexion im Rahmen eines künstlerischen Treffens unterstreicht nicht so sehr die Vielfalt der Ansätze, sondern verdeutlicht die offensichtliche, zugrunde liegende Existenz einer interdisziplinären Realität: Performancekunst wurde in den letzten Jahren von einer neuen Generation von Künstler*innen auf der Bühne und im Rahmen der Live-Kunst sowie in Ausstellungen und in der Welt der visuellen Künste aufgeführt.

EMERGE versucht nicht, die gesamte Frage der Performance abzudecken. Hier wird Performance als ein Zauber der Begegnung, ein kleiner Raum für Erfahrungen und eine Drehscheibe für kreative Emulationen erlebt, welche die Möglichkeit bietet, neue und originelle Werke zu feiern.

Neben dem Performance-Programm, wird sich in einer Reihe von Diskussionen und Vorträgen mit den in den Arbeiten behandelten Themen beschäftigt. Lokale und internationale Kunstkritiker*innen, Kurator*innen und Theoretiker*innen werden ihre Gedanken über den aktuellen Stand der Performance austauschen.

EMERGE ist eine Koproduktion des Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal, des Goethe-Instituts Montreal und des Consulat général de France à Québec als Mitglieder des Montrealer EUNIC-Clusters (European National Institutes for Culture) mit dem italienischen Kulturinstitut in Montreal und der spanischen Botschaft in Ottawa. Das Projekt wurde vom Deutsch-Französischen Kulturfonds, dem Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec, dem Schweizerischen Generalkonsulat und der Norwegischen Botschaft großzügig unterstützt.

Kuratoren: Mehdi Brit und Mark Lanctôt
Koordinatorinnen: Anne-Léonie Auer und Marjolaine Labelle

Programm

Dienstag, 19. November
18:00 Uhr Marthe Ramm Fortun (Norwegen)
19:00 Uhr Didier Morelli (Québec, Kanada)
19:30 Uhr Diskussion (Christian Jankowski und David Zerbib)

Mittwoch, 20. November
18:00 Uhr Marie-Caroline Hominal (Schweiz)
19:00 Uhr Bridget Moser (Ontario, Kanada)
19:30 Uhr Diskussion (Alice Ming Wai Jim und Ronald Rose-Antoinette)

Donnerstag, 21. November
19:00 Uhr Daina Ashbee (Québec, Kanada)
19:30 Uhr Diskussion (Anne Bénichou)

Freitag, 22. November
18:00 Uhr Uriel Barthélémi und Entissar Al Hamdany (Frankreich)
19:00 Uhr Dana Michel (Québec, Kanada)
19:30 Uhr Diskussion (Julie Perrin und Alexandre St-Onge)

Samstag, 23. November
10:00 Uhr End-Think tank 1 (Diskussion) – Goethe-Institut
14:00 Uhr Maria Salgado (Spanien)
14:45 Uhr Sarah Ancelle Schoenfeld und Louis-Philippe Scoufaras (Deutschland)
15:30 Uhr Marinella Senatore (Italien)
16:30 Uhr End-Think tank 2 (Diskussion) – Musée d'art contemporain

 

Zurück