Keynote Land as Pedagogy - Keynote by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

New Nature Bannière

Mon, 05/25/2020

Online


Montreal

Opening Keynote of NEW NATURE

May 25, 2020 at 14h00 EST Online (Livestream)

Keynote by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, moderated by Ian Mauro
Followed by a Q&A session.
The event will be held in English.

Free to the public upon registration.
Please register here.

The event will also be streamed on our Facebook-channel.
Follow the conversation here.

This event is part of NEW NATURE - An Immersive Media and Climate Science Exchange between Canada - Germany - Mexico - US

The NEW NATURE Opening Keynote will be offered by the multi-talented Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg scholar, writer and artist, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson. Widely recognized as one of the most compelling Indigenous voices of her generation, her work breaks open the intersections between politics, decolonization, climate change, storytelling and song — bringing audiences into a rich and layered world of sound, light, and sovereign creativity. Her poetry, essays, spoken-word pieces, short stories, academic papers, and anthologies, have influenced a new generation of indigenous creators and activists.

Speaking to the NEW NATURE participants and the general public over live stream, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson will read from a selection of traditional stories and will expand on her notion of land as pedagogy, in an invitation to reconsider the systems of knowledge and of knowing that have long dominated our relationship to nature and to land. The readings will be accompanied by a short film screening and followed by a conversation with Ian Mauro, and an extended Q&A with the public.


Leanne B. Simpson. Leanne B. Simpson | © Nadya Kawandibens About Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson is a renowned Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg scholar, writer and artist, who has been widely recognized as one of the most compelling Indigenous voices of her generation. Leanne is the author of five previous books, including This Accident of Being Lost, which won the MacEwan University Book of the Year and was named the best book of the year by the Globe and Mail, the National Post, and Quill & Quire. Her new novel Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies is forthcoming in the fall of 2020. Leanne is also a musician combining poetry, storytelling, song-writing and performance in collaboration with musicians to create unique spoken songs and soundscapes. Leanne's third record, The Theory of Ice will be released in 2020. She holds a Ph.D. from the University of Manitoba and teaches at the Dechinta Centre for Research & Learning in Denendeh. Leanne is a member of Alderville First Nation.



About Ian Mauro Ian Mauro Ian Mauro | © Ian Mauro
Ian Mauro is an environmental scientist, geographer, filmmaker, and the Executive Director of the Prairie Climate Centre (PCC) at the University of Winnipeg. He has developed the Climate Atlas of Canada, as well as a trilogy of feature-length climate change films across Canada, including Qapirangajuq: Inuit Knowledge and Climate Change (co-directed with acclaimed Inuk filmmaker Zacharias Kunuk) and Beyond Climate (produced and narrated by scientist and broadcaster Dr. David Suzuki).
Mauro’s work has been featured in academic conferences, museums, film festivals and news media such as the United Nations, Smithsonian Institution, National Geographic, Royal Ontario Museum, ImagineNative, Berlin International Film Festival, The Globe and Mail and This American Life.

 

ABOUT NEW NATURE

NEW NATURE is a series of encounters over the course of 2020 between 25 leading climate scientists, artists, and technologists from Canada, Germany, Mexico, and the United States. Working on the forefront of immersive technologies, the project participants will engage in a series of in-depth collaborations to reflect on climate change and imagine desirable futures.

More info about the project here.

Back

Vortrag Land als Pädagogik - Keynote von Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

New Nature Bannière

Mo, 25.05.2020

Online


Montreal

Eröffnungsrede von NEW NATURE

25. Mai 2020 um 14.00 Uhr EST Online mit Livestream.

Keynote von Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, moderiert von Ian Mauro.
Im Anschluss: Q&A mit Leanne Betasamosake Simpson und Ian Mauro.
Veranstaltung auf Englisch.

Kostenlos, um Anmeldung wird gebeten.
Bitte registrieren Sie sich hier.

Die Veranstaltung wird auch auf unserem Facebook-Kanal gestreamt.
Verfolgen Sie das Gespräch hier.

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil von Ein Austausch immersiver Medien und Klimawissenschaften zwischen Deutschland - Kanada - Mexiko - USA.

Die Eröffnungsrede von NEW NATURE wird von dem Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg-Multitalent, der Wissenschaftlerin, Schriftstellerin und Künstlerin, Leanne Betasamosake Simpson, gehalten. Weithin als eine der überzeugendsten indigenen Stimmen ihrer Generation anerkannt, bricht ihr Werk die Trennlinien zwischen Politik, Entkolonialisierung, Klimawandel, Geschichtenerzählen und Gesang auf und führt das Publikum in eine reiche und vielschichtige Welt bestehend aus Klang, Licht und souveräner Kreativität. Ihre Gedichte, Essays, Spoken-Word-Stücke, Kurzgeschichten, akademischen Abhandlungen und Anthologien haben eine neue Generation von indigenen Schöpfern und Aktivisten nachhaltig beeinflusst.

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson wird vor den NEW NATURE-Teilnehmern und der breiten Öffentlichkeit per Livestream aus einer Auswahl traditioneller Geschichten vorlesen und ihre These vom Land als Pädagogik erweitern. Dies ist eine Einladung, die Systeme des Wissens und des Wissens zu überdenken, die unsere Beziehung zur Natur und zum Land seit langem dominieren. Die Lesungen werden von einer kurzen Filmvorführung begleitet, gefolgt von einem Gespräch mit Ian Mauro und einer ausführlichen Fragerunde mit dem Publikum.


Leanne B. Simpson Leanne B. Simpson | © Nadya Kawandibens Über Leanne Betasamosake Simpson
Leanne Betasamosake Simpson ist eine renommierte Michi Saagiig Nishnaabeg Schriftstellerin und Künstlerin, die weithin als eine der überzeugendsten indigenen Stimmen ihrer Generation anerkannt ist. Leanne ist Autorin von fünf Büchern, darunter This Accident of Being Lost, das mit dem Book of the Year Award der MacEwan University ausgezeichnet und vom Globe and Mail, der National Post und Quill & Quire zum besten Buch des Jahres gekürt wurde. Ihr neuer Roman Noopiming: The Cure for White Ladies wird im Herbst 2020 erscheinen. Leanne ist auch eine Musikerin, die Poesie, Geschichtenerzählen, Songwriting und Performance in Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern kombiniert, um Spoken-Word-Songs und einzigartige Klanglandschaften zu schaffen. Leannes drittes Album, The Theory of Ice, wird 2020 erscheinen. Sie hat an der Universität von Manitoba promoviert und lehrt am Dechinta Centre for Research & Learning in Denendeh. Leanne ist Mitglied der Alderville First Nation.

Über Ian Mauro Ian Mauro Ian Mauro | © Ian Mauro
Ian Mauro ist Umweltwissenschaftler, Geograf, Filmemacher und Exekutivdirektor des Prairie Climate Centre (PCC) an der Universität von Winnipeg. Er hat den Klimaatlas von Kanada sowie eine Trilogie von Spielfilmen über den Klimawandel in Kanada entwickelt, darunter Qapirangajuq: Inuit Knowledge and Climate Change (in Zusammenarbeit mit dem renommierten Inuit-Filmemacher Zacharias Kunuk) und Beyond Climate (produziert und erzählt vom Wissenschaftler und Rundfunksprecher David Suzuki). Mauros Arbeit wurde auf wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen, in Museen, auf Filmfestivals und in Medien und Institutionen wie den Vereinten Nationen, der Smithsonian Institution, National Geographic, dem Royal Ontario Museum, ImagineNative, den Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin, Globe and Mail und This American Life präsentiert.

 

Über NEW NATURE

NEW NATURE ist eine Reihe von Treffen, die im Laufe des Jahres 2020 zwischen 25 führenden Klimatologen, Künstlern und Technologen aus Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den Vereinigten Staaten stattfinden werden. An der Spitze der immersiven Technologien arbeitend, werden die Projektteilnehmer an einer Reihe von vertiefenden Kooperationen teilnehmen, um über den Klimawandel nachzudenken und sich eine wünschenswerte Zukunft vorzustellen.

Weitere Informationen über das Projekt finden Sie hier.



 

Zurück