Artist Talk Nerea Calvillo in Conversation with Nick Shapiro

New Nature 25. - 28.5.

Tue, 05/26/2020

Online


Montreal

NEW NATURE | Artist Talk

May 26, 2020 at 14h00 EST Online and Livestream.

Nerea Calvillo in Conversation with Nick Shapiro
Followed by a Q&A session.
In English.

Free to the public upon registration.
Please register here.

The event will also be streamed on our Facebook channel.
Follow the conversation here.

This event is part of NEW NATURE - An Immersive Media and Climate Science Exchange between Canada - Germany - Mexico - US

A glimpse into the world of Spanish architect Nerea Calvillo, working at the intersection of architecture, science, technology, and feminist studies. In this candid talk, she converses with longtime friend and sometimes collaborator Nick Shapiro, about the synergies between their respective practices in the realms of air and environmental pollution. Together, they’ll discuss their imaginative approaches to translating empirical data into visceral experiences - via urban political ecology, new infrastructures of planetary mobility and ethics, collaborative practices, digital media, environmental mediations, ephemeral installations, exhibition design, and data visualisations. 


Nerea Calvillo Nerea Calvillo | © Elisa Fernandez Sanchez About Nerea Calvillo 
Nerea Calvillo investigates the material, technological, political and social dimensions of environmental pollution. This has led her to analyse notions of toxicity, digital infrastructures of environmental monitoring, DIY and collaborative forms of production, smart cities, and feminist approaches to sensing the environment, among others. She is the founder of the collaborative visualisation project In the Air and the architecture office C+arquitectos. Her current work, including Yellow Dust, is on toxic politics, pollen and queer urban political ecologies. Nerea is an associate professor at the Centre for Interdisciplinary Methodologies at the University of Warwick. She is working on a book manuscript on Aeropolis.

About Nick Shapiro Nick Shapiro Nick Shapiro | © Akasha Rabut
Nick Shapiro is a multidisciplinary environmental researcher that studies, and designs interventions into, issues of chemical contamination, climate change, and mass incarceration. He has worked tracking the quasi-legal resale of 120,000+ chemically contaminated housing units after Hurricane Katrina, developing air monitoring systems with communities impacted by fracking, and testing fossil-fuel-free means of long-distance air travel. His current projects include: studying the efficacy and microbiome impacts of a low-cost bio-phyto air remediation system; supporting environmental research on toxic living conditions within carceral institutions; finishing a book about toxic homes, climate change, settler-colonialism, and the desire for a radically different future, provisionally entitled Homesick; Wrapping up his participation in the Environmental Data and Governance Initiative (EDGI), which he co-founded in 2016. He is an assistant professor of Biology and Society at UCLA and a member of the Aerocene Community.

 

ABOUT NEW NATURE

NEW NATURE is a series of encounters over the course of 2020 between 25 leading climate scientists, artists, and technologists from Canada, Germany, Mexico, and the United States. Working on the forefront of immersive technologies, the project participants will engage in a series of in-depth collaborations to reflect on climate change and imagine desirable futures.

More info about the project here.


 

Back

Gespräch Nerea Calvillo im Gespräch mit Nick Shapiro

New Nature 25. - 28.5.

Di, 26.05.2020

Online


Montreal

NEW NATURE | Künstler*innengespräch

26. Mai 2020 um 14.00 Uhr EST Online und im Livestream.

Nerea Calvillo im Gespräch mit Nick Shapiro
Anschließend Q&A mit Nerea Cavillo und Nick Shapiro.
Auf Englisch.

Kostenlos, um Anmeldung wird gebeten.
Bitte registrieren Sie sich hier.

Die Veranstaltung wird auch auf unserem Facebook-Kanal gestreamt.
Verfolgen Sie das Gespräch hier.

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil von NEW NATURE - Ein Austausch immersiver Medien und Klimawissenschaften zwischen Deutschland - Kanada - Mexiko - USA

Ein Blick in die Welt der spanischen Architektin Nerea Calvillo, die an der Schnittstelle von Architektur, Wissenschaft, Technologie und feministischen Studien arbeitet. In diesem freimütigen Gespräch unterhält sie sich mit ihrem langjährigen Freund und manchmal auch Mitarbeiter Nick Shapiro über die Synergien zwischen ihren jeweiligen Praktiken im Bereich der Luft- und Umweltverschmutzung. Gemeinsam diskutieren sie ihre fantasievollen Ansätze zur Umsetzung empirischer Daten in viszerale Erfahrungen - über politische Ökologie in Städten, neue Infrastrukturen planetarer Mobilität und Ethik, kollaborative Praktiken, digitale Medien, Umweltvermittlungen, ephemere Installationen, Ausstellungsdesign und Datenvisualisierungen.


Über Nerea Calvillo
Nerea Calvillo erforscht die materiellen, technologischen, politischen und sozialen Dimensionen der Umweltverschmutzung. Dies hat sie u.a. dazu veranlasst, Konzepte der Toxizität, digitale Infrastrukturen der Umweltüberwachung, Heimwerker- und kollaborative Produktionsformen, intelligente Städte und feministische Ansätze zur Erfassung der Umwelt zu analysieren. Sie ist die Gründerin des gemeinschaftlichen Visualisierungsprojekts In the Air und des Architekturbüros C+arquitectos. Ihre aktuellen Arbeiten, darunter Gelber Staub, befassen sich mit giftiger Politik, Pollen und seltsamen politischen Stadtökologien. Nerea ist außerordentliche Professorin am Zentrum für Interdisziplinäre Methodologien an der Universität Warwick. Sie arbeitet an einem Buchmanuskript über Aeropolis.

Über Nick Shapiro
Nick Shapiro ist ein multidisziplinärer Umweltforscher, der Fragen der chemischen Verseuchung, des Klimawandels und der Masseneinkerkerung untersucht und Interventionen dazu entwirft. Er hat den quasi-legalen Wiederverkauf von mehr als 120.000 chemisch verseuchten Wohneinheiten nach dem Hurrikan Katrina verfolgt, Luftüberwachungssysteme für Gemeinden entwickelt, die vom Fracking betroffen sind, und fossile Brennstoffe freie Mittel für Langstreckenflüge getestet. Zu seinen aktuellen Projekten gehören: die Untersuchung der Wirksamkeit und der mikrobiellen Auswirkungen eines kostengünstigen Bio-Phyto-Luftreinigungssystems; die Unterstützung der Umweltforschung über toxische Lebensbedingungen in karzinogenen Einrichtungen; die Fertigstellung eines Buches über toxische Wohnungen, Klimawandel, Siedlerkolonialismus und den Wunsch nach einer radikal anderen Zukunft mit dem vorläufigen Titel Homesick; die Zusammenfassung seiner Beteiligung an der Environmental Data and Governance Initiative (EDGI), die er 2016 mitbegründet hat. Er ist Assistenzprofessor für Biologie und Gesellschaft an der UCLA und Mitglied des Projekts Aerocene.
 

ÜBER NEW NATURE

NEW NATURE ist eine Reihe von Treffen, die im Laufe des Jahres 2020 zwischen 25 führenden Klimatologen, Künstlern und Technologen aus Deutschland, Kanada, Mexiko und den Vereinigten Staaten stattfinden werden. An der Spitze der immersiven Technologien arbeitend, werden die Projektteilnehmer an einer Reihe von vertiefenden Kooperationen teilnehmen, um über den Klimawandel nachzudenken und sich eine wünschenswerte Zukunft vorzustellen.

Weitere Informationen über das Projekt finden Sie hier.

Zurück